1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Lousy coverage w/ HTC Eris on Verizon

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmw3025, Mar 30, 2010.

?

Rate your level of satisfaction with coverage on your Eris

  1. 1 = Very satisfied

    25 vote(s)
    61.0%
  2. 2 = So-so

    9 vote(s)
    22.0%
  3. 3= Not too satisfied

    4 vote(s)
    9.8%
  4. 4 = Very dissatisfied

    3 vote(s)
    7.3%
  1. jmw3025

    jmw3025 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    26
    1
    16
    In all respects but one, I love my new HTC Eris. Problem is poor coverage. I can be standing next to someone with a different Verizon phone & he can have 3 bars while I have zero or 1. I've been various places that should have great service (e.g. downtown Oakland or Berkeley) and have no coverage. At home, my wife's "plain Jane" Samsung has better service than my "smart" Eris! Anybody have any tips, suggestions, comments? Or do I just need to get a different phone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. chassum

    chassum Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    215
    20
    58
    software QA automation
    TX
    From what I've read, the 2.1 update gives more bars.
     
    jmw3025 likes this.
  3. tproctor

    tproctor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    179
    29
    43
    R&D Technician
    Pampa, Tx
    Sounds like your phone may be messed up. I'm out in the sticks and have great service.
     
    jmw3025 likes this.
  4. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    I am pretty convinced that the signal meter is faulty. Did you actually get no service, or poor service, or were you just relying on the signal meter?

    Here is my example: I have a summer home in rural NH. With my last phone (a Motorola Q9m), I got a signal there, but calls would break up, and data service was up and down. A friend's house on top of the hill is notorious for having no signal. Well, I was up there last week for the first time since I bought my Eris, and was able to make and receive a phone call from his house with the Eris, and was able to get a consistent (though 1xRTT) data signal at my own place.
     
  5. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    I find the opposite to be true. The signal indicator with the leaked 2.1 is inaccurate. Signal is strong, but bars show less (can be checked in settings menu).

    As for the 1.5 Eris, I had signal trouble as well. It was also the cause of severe battery drain. I never lost functionality, but it would always pull weaker signal than other Verizon phones next to me (LG Env and Blackberry Curve). I haven't experienced this problem with 2.1 yet - just the faulty indicator.
     
    jmw3025 likes this.
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Live battery-pull (just remove it while the phone is on, leave it out for at least one full minute, put it in and power up).

    Factory reset (in the menu.. I've forgotten the path.. perhaps somebody will put it in here) after backing up data you want to re-enter.

    That's all I would try before returning the device.
     
  7. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    First, I would double check to see if you actually have service or not. As doogald said, the meter is a little strange. If you are actually getting service and the zero bars isn't killing your battery then don't worry about it. You could try a good old *228 option 2 and see if that improves anything.

    If all else fails, take the phone back and exchange it for a new one.
     
  8. jmw3025

    jmw3025 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    26
    1
    16
    Thanks! Can you please tell me what a "*228 option 2" is?
     
  9. jeffyo

    jeffyo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008

    Oct 1, 2008
    368
    9
    36
    Pharmaceuticals
    SF Bay Area
    I still see the signal bars lower than the strength of the signal. Weird issue with 2.1 leaks. Hopefully it's fixed in the real OTA.

    +1

    Seriously?

    I've done the *228 several times and nothing makes the signal bar any better. The strength may improve slightly but there's only so many towers around you know.
     
    jmw3025 likes this.
  10. jeffyo

    jeffyo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008

    Oct 1, 2008
    368
    9
    36
    Pharmaceuticals
    SF Bay Area
    If you are running the leak version of 2.1 your phone is fine and don't let the signal bars make you think your phone is not getting good coverage. It is. You can see for yourself when you have 1 to 2 or no bars and see 3G. Download speednet app and test your speed with those signal indicators. I bet you'll see a pretty fast test regardless of what you actually see in the bar indicator.
     
    jmw3025 likes this.
  11. Droid.eris

    Droid.eris Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    164
    3
    36
    The 2.1 gave me 1+ bar when im at home and my step dad with the HTC HERO gets all 4 which is quite weird because both of the cell towers are in my back yard Literally with about 1/4 of a mile apart
     
  12. jmw3025

    jmw3025 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    26
    1
    16
     
  13. jmw3025

    jmw3025 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    26
    1
    16
     
  14. jmw3025

    jmw3025 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    26
    1
    16
    When I see 0 or only 1 bar, I often try to make a call or start up the browser to confirm poor or no service...and always get that confirmation.
    I tried the #228,2 option--no difference here at home, but will see when I head out around town on errands this aft.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  15. jmw3025

    jmw3025 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    26
    1
    16
    Doesn't that bug you? Did you call Verizon about it?
     
  16. jkmasi

    jkmasi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #336
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    372
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    372
    27
    63
    I don't pay too much attention to the number of bars, but I am bummed that my Eris drops calls in marginal service areas where my BB Curve could hold on to the signal. I also have more people complaining that I'm breaking up... it reminds me of my old LG flip phones. The antennae or whatever part of the hardware is involved is just not strong enough.
    FWIW, I ha the same problem with my HTC TP2.

    I may be forced to another carrier and/or other handset. There is a T-Mobile tower across the street from my office where I get extremely poor Verizon service and a new Sprint tower that I can see from the deck of my weekend place in WV where I get zero service. And my calls drop in my drive to and from work. Not so great for the supposed best network.
     
  17. digitaljeannie

    digitaljeannie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    109
    28
    43
    My folks live in WV (northeast). WV is one big Verizon dead zone for the most part. You can get roaming but there is pretty much absolutely no native Verizon service in the whole state. If you're in WV frequently, you're better off with Sprint for CDMA or AT&T for GSM.
     
  18. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    This poll is everywhere
     
  19. jeffyo

    jeffyo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008

    Oct 1, 2008
    368
    9
    36
    Pharmaceuticals
    SF Bay Area
     
  20. jeffyo

    jeffyo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008

    Oct 1, 2008
    368
    9
    36
    Pharmaceuticals
    SF Bay Area
    with 1.5 I saw much better bar strength and possibly better voice. It might be the device driver they're using...I don't really know.
     
  21. carmendiva

    carmendiva Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,556
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    2,556
    118
    163
    Female
    Intern, Model, Acting, Dancer
    New Yor
    i have a pre plus from verizon that reads four to five bars(fluctuates)
    and then the droid eris reads 0-3 bars(fluctuates) when I am home and using extended network box

    when I am not home i.e my school library at PSU....my pre shows about 2-3 bars
    while my eris usually stays at no bars or 1 at the most
    and i've actually missed calls on my eris but not on my pre
     
    jmw3025 likes this.
  22. jeffyo

    jeffyo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008

    Oct 1, 2008
    368
    9
    36
    Pharmaceuticals
    SF Bay Area
    Why you have so many phones? lol I guess it's good to see a comparison though. My guess is it's the software doing the damage to the signal bars and possible the reception.
     
  23. carmendiva

    carmendiva Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,556
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    2,556
    118
    163
    Female
    Intern, Model, Acting, Dancer
    New Yor
    ha I GET ASKED THIS ALOT
    lol i just like having the newest phone possible(if it's cool)
    before both the droid and droid eris

    i had a windows mobile Htc imagio and learned my lesson
    and Android was the new "it thing" at verizon so i went there
    then palm came in Jan and i got it

    i try to stay current haha lol

    but yeah i'm starting to think it's a software thing as well.
    I just did a test with my friends new devour and i'm basically getting the same results in favor of the devour

    Speaking of which...

    God this phone is so ugly and slow(the devour)
     

Share This Page

Loading...