• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Love my Droid 2!!!

GeorgeinLA

Aug 24, 2010
I've had my Droid 2 for less than a week, and I have to say that it already goes down as my favorite piece of high-tech gadgetry ever! OK, I never bought an I-Phone, so I can't compare it directly to that. But I did look into that, and I was not impressed. I've been an Apple computer user for years, and I think they're operating system is definitely superior to all others, but I've never liked I-Tunes -- it's too opaque when it comes to understanding what's going on, and I don't like all of the DRM and other limitations that Apple seems intent on building into it. So, as soon as I understood that the I-Phone would be all about I-Tunes, that was it for me. I also require a physical keyboard.

I've been using a Blackberry for the past two years (contract), and I can't say enough bad things about it. Everything was more difficult that it needed to be on that phone -- email/calendar syncing, software/hardward malfunctions, etc. Gawd, I'm so glad to rid of that piece of junk!

But my Droid 2 has not only met, but exceeded all of my expectations. As a smartphone, it's just great. The keyboard is the best that I've used on a phone. The email/calendar sync including with MS Exchange has gone off without hitch. The screen is beautiful. And the whole Market/Apps concept just works perfectly for me. I think of what I want, find it, install it and moments later, my phone has new capabilities!!! Were it so easy on my desktop and laptop! If I don't like one app, I just uninstall it and get another.