1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Loving my first custom ROM ! - but few annoying problems..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Njd4, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. Njd4

    Njd4 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    95
    14
    18
    Kent South East England
    Hi !

    I Finally took the plunge and installed my first custom ROM after first sorting out the problems with getting my custom recovery ROM to stick (Thanks Slug/Xyro!)

    :)

    I thought i'd try VillainROM first at it sounded like the most stable ROM and I'm very happy with it !

    It seems very fast in comparison to the stock ROM and I've overlclocked it with Set CPU but I have a few problems with the ROM which I've looked on here and the VillainROM bugs forum for but which I can't find an answer to and which is spoiling an otherwise much improved user experience..

    It's a weird intermittent fault with the Wifi whereby the phone seems to hang when I try to turn on wifi via the built in "HTC Wi-Fi" widget found in the settings..

    This hang then prevents me from being able to turn the wifi either on or off via the widget or the settings menu and in fact the wifi "on" notification icon appears in the notification bar even when when settings clearly show that it is off..

    (Please See first photo)

    This then subsequently causes a secondary problem whereby the time on my widget clock is correct but the time in the notification bar is wrong..

    (please see second photo)

    The wifi hang seems to make the notification bar time freeze.

    A reboot sorts both problems but if I don't reboot, the time in the notification bar ends up being hours wrong... And I don't really want to have to keep rebooting to sort either problem..

    Does anyone know of a fix for either of these problems?

    I Have my mobile set to automatically get the time from the network and I backed up my APN settings using APN backup so I assume they are all fine and 3g & H mobile internet all work fine as does the sending and receiving of texts.

    Thanks again in advance for your continued support!

    :)

    HTC Hero GSM
    Firmware Version: villainROM9.0.0
    Baseband Version: 63.18.55.06PU_6.35.15.14
    Kernel Version: 2.6.29-ninpo-freqtwk@titan-dirty-b7a296faninpo@titan #39
    Build Number: VillainROM 12.0.0
    Software number: 3.32.405.1
    Browser Version: Webkit 3.1

    On Orange UK.
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,003
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    It's good to hear you're (for the most part) enjoying the experience. Now let's try to iron out these final wrinkles.... :)

    Yup... don't switch wifi off. :D
    Seriously, leave it enabled but ensure the sleep policy is set to "when screen off". I think you'll be pleasantly surprised how little it affects battery life, and if the symptoms disappear it confirms where the issues lie.

    I've been using the same radio ROM (baseband) as you for months now without any issues, also on Orange, so I doubt that is the culprit. Similarly, I used that kernel for a while with several ROMs and encountered no problems with wifi or 3G.

    You say you've overclocked the CPU.... what have you set the min/max freqs at on the 'Main' tab, and are you using any other profiles?
     
  3. Njd4

    Njd4 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    95
    14
    18
    Kent South East England
    I confess that I didn't look too much into setCPU before activating it, (unlike my months of googling about custom ROMS)

    ;)

    so it's highly probable that I've screwed something up by putting in some embarrassingly stupid settings in that app!

    Here they are:-

    Max: 652800
    Min: 352000
    Scaling: ondemand

    Set on boot: off

    (Good job as I accidentally bumped it up to max first time and it crashed and reboot on me!)

    ;)

    Profile of:-

    Temp>41.3 degress C (352 MAX, 122 MIN)

    Screen off (245 MAX, 176 MIN)

    Am I doing something silly here?

    :eek:

    (Oh I also have advanced task killer free installed and I read that VillainROM didn't need one but I just like to have one in case any Apps hang so I can kick them - I've excluded all all the usual apps and have security level set to high although I guess perhaps it could be killing some essential background task?!)

    I also did a full wipe of everything when I before I installed the ROM ! data/dalvik etc but haven't yet partitioned my sd card for apps2sd !

    Thanks again!
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,003
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Those look okay.

    Not that you're likely to trigger it, but I'd raise the min to at least 176MHz. Few handsets can cope with a minimum so low.

    That's also okay, provided it 'wakes up' reliably (some have problems <245MHz) and background apps run smoothly e.g. music players. Any skipping, microstutters etc, bump it up a notch to 352MHz.

    I don't think that will affect wifi

    Sounds like a model flash. :) Partitioning is painless thanks to the custom recoveries; copy the contents of your sdcard to the PC beforehand, reboot into recovery, partition as desired (a 512MB ext-2 with the remainder FAT32 is usually ample), enable MS-USB, copy sdcard contents back from PC to the mounted removable drive, wipe /cache and /dalvik-cache, then reboot and wait...... it can take several minutes to move apps if you have many installed.

    Try running with wifi enabled as I suggested for a few days and see how it behaves. If the wifi problem doesn't reoccur then the finger points at the HTC widget, at which point you could try different widgets if you still feel the need to disable the wifi manually.
     
    Njd4 likes this.
  5. Njd4

    Njd4 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    95
    14
    18
    Kent South East England
    Many thanks..

    I've made those alterations..

    I only have the following options for wi-fi sleep policy though:-

    After 15 mins
    Never when plugged in
    Never

    No option to sleep when screen off...

    Maybe in my next ROM eh !?

    ;)
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,003
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    That's a CyanogenMod addition.... my apologies. Try "Never when plugged in" - that works well on my Desire Z. :eek:
     
  7. Njd4

    Njd4 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    95
    14
    18
    Kent South East England
    ... just as an update to this..

    My problem with the time notification and issues with the wifi widget were in fact being caused by setCPU and are now both cured after un installing it (trying a few others which were pants :) then re installing setCPU!

    Many thanks again slug!

    I'll try the apps2sd thing Monday night!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...