1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Low audio volume

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PetterW, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. PetterW

    PetterW Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    When listening to podcasts and music while in traffic (cycling) I cannot raise the volume enough on my S Mini. I tried the service menu (*#*#197328640#*#*) but when pressing [5] Audio nothing happens (the other menu choices seem to work as expected).
    Does this service menu item work for you all? Is there any other way of raising the internal audio volumes (I seem to have read that they are at default 65 out of 95 or 100)?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ingalway

    ingalway Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    10
    2
    16
    Hi - just wondering if you ever solved this? I tried the Service Menu also but for some reason nothing happens at all with the [5] Audio option. If you, or anyone else, has any further information I'd be very grateful as the low media volume is really annoying me.

    Thanks
     
  3. suicidallooney

    suicidallooney Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    128
    34
    63
    London, UK
    I had this as a constant problem in 2.2, it's fixed in 2.3.4
     
  4. Kaiohshin

    Kaiohshin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    hey guys, I was wondering how to boost the volume for my ear phones. when listening to music and youtube. I manage to get to the headset secret menu and changed highest RX value from -3 to 12. that didn't change anything for youtube, can anyone help?
     
  5. Kaiohshin

    Kaiohshin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    no one really?
     
  6. uchihaexean

    uchihaexean Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Could you please mention how did you get access of that menu?? I wanna boost headphone volume..i use froyo n dun wanna root
     
  7. yagya

    yagya Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

  8. Kaiohshin

    Kaiohshin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    flashing is not always the answer. i like my phone for the time being, as it is.

    this is the service menu *#*#197328640#*#*. but I'm not sure what to change
     
  9. yagya

    yagya Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Dou you see 2 EAR CONFIG tab, go inside it select 3 Ringtone Volume And change 6 to 10 to tune the headset... For Movie go to SPK COnfig and do the same.. Note down the default values for you might need them later
     
  10. Kaiohshin

    Kaiohshin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    could you be more specific. I can't seem to find anything of the sort, I'm on Gingerbread if that helps

    Main menu > (5)Audio > (2) Headset? (i assume) > 1 tx value; 2 rx value; 3 ns mode; 4 ec mode; 5 diamond solution; 6 rebuild headset value; 7 mp3/not mp3 mode

    which one?
     
  11. yagya

    yagya Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    try to increase rx value and see (be careful to note the default setting on a safe place as you might need them later)

    [If you don't see any place to increase the value please post the available options]
     
  12. Kaiohshin

    Kaiohshin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    rx : 1 rx codec/ volume : the highest volume is rx volume 5: and i tried setting it from -3 to 5 and to 20 but there is to difference
     
  13. yagya

    yagya Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Is there any rx codec gain option???
     
  14. Kaiohshin

    Kaiohshin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    yes there is
     
  15. yagya

    yagya Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    So, there you press menu key, key input and type in 5fff .

    (Remember to note down the default value coz it might be needed later.)

    Now open your music player and see if the volume is louder than before...
     
  16. Kaiohshin

    Kaiohshin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    well, i did it, but still no diff :(. Tried it with 9fff and still no diff. restarted the phone after each change.
    thanks for your help. any other suggestions?

    btw: the default rx codec gain is 0x7500
     
  17. yagya

    yagya Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    did u try to see the gain by connecting earphones coz the rx codec gain is only when its connected to headset .. also did u put 0x5fff and tried ...
     
  18. Kaiohshin

    Kaiohshin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    I tried a whole lot of things, even tried switching in mp3 headset, nothin seems to work :(.
     
  19. yagya

    yagya Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Sorry! But I don't think I can help you anymore, since I have cm7 and it doesn't supports samsung secrets code i can't even test it on my phone.... For what reason do you want to gain volume boost on headset. Isn't it loud enough in highest volume ??:thinking::eek::(
     
  20. Kaiohshin

    Kaiohshin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    24
    0
    15
    well thank you for your effort. It just isn't loud enough, it would need at least 2-3 stept beyond. As it is, it's fine for listening at home, but not for the busy street. :(
     
  21. yagya

    yagya Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    you are welcome.. if I find any information on future I will let you know for sure...
    All the best!!!
     
  22. suicidallooney

    suicidallooney Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    128
    34
    63
    London, UK
    1. type in keypad *#*#197328640#*#*

    2. Select option 5 Audio

    3. Select option 8 Max8899 AMP

    4. Select option 3 Stereo Headset

    5. Select option 1 Pre am gain

    6. Select option 3, 20db

    7. Exist menu.

    That will increase the volume for headphones but it will also distort the sound at very high volumes

    If changes did not take effect then restart your phone
     
  23. ingalway

    ingalway Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    10
    2
    16
    As PetterW says above pressing option 5 does not work if you are using Froyo -2.2.1. There is no official release of Gingerbread in my country yet and I cannot seem update any other way using a Mac. If anyone else has had success increasing the volume and/or updating via a Mac please let me know.
    Thanks
     
  24. suicidallooney

    suicidallooney Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    128
    34
    63
    London, UK
    Nope, it was me who said it's fixed in 2.3, this menu still works in 2.2 i did it when i had 2.2

    Where are you from?
     
  25. andyr12345

    andyr12345 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011

    Me too, I cant Select option [5] Audio or rather when I do press it nothing happens. In Ireland, have 2.3.4 - seems strange. I need a fix to disable ramp/ascending ringing too on my mini galaxy thats why I was hoping to go into this menu and change the audio settings.
     

Share This Page

Loading...