1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Low Memory

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sksahai, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. sksahai

    sksahai Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    All:
    I have no internal memory left, less than 10 MB.

    According to APP 2 SD, the only apps on my phone are:
    Maps, Google voice, amazon appstore, go launcher ex, market, swift key x, shazam, gmail, talkback, sound back, kick back

    Rough math: 67 MB.

    it says that I have used 170 MB.

    What is using that 100mb?

    I have deleted all text messages, and never use gmail app. just my stock personal email.
    i have deleted the deleted emails.

    I can't even update apps on the SD card as I keep getting the low memory warning.
    I do not want to root the phone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jefboyardee

    jefboyardee Android Expert
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,526
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5,526
    1,785
    423
    A common Optimus complaint. I turn off all automatic updates and notifications in Settings, go to the Market and uninstall Maps updates, clean out the cache with History Eraser, and dump everything I don’t use regularly.
     
  3. Ed Vim

    Ed Vim Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    28
    11
    18
    In the event your phone doesn't even let you install something like 'History Eraser' because of your low mem situation, until you can clear up some memory to do so you can always just go about wiping accumulated cache files manually by going to your 'Settings', select 'Applications', and select 'Manage applications'. There you'll be able to see lists of all the apps on your phone and you can click on each to get to a 'Clear cache' button.
     
  4. Stevie D

    Stevie D Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    53
    10
    38
    Male
    Deputy Campaign Manager for McKenna For Congress
    Orlando Florida
    When in the APP2SD program if you hit Menu, there is a Clear Cache button. Takes care of all the apps cache on your phone at one time.
     
  5. RazzMaTazz

    RazzMaTazz Android Expert
    Rank:
     #144
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,388
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    1,388
    493
    173
    The web browser's cache can be a big hog of memory. You might want to start there.
     
    Dan Davies likes this.
  6. droididol

    droididol Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    35
    2
    36
    My suggestion- visit the all things root section of the forum here, and root it! When I rooted my phone and installed a custom Rom, I had almost 50MB more of memory than I did before. Just make sure to back up everything on your phone, as it will require a complete reset. I can't speak for everyone, but after I rooted my phone and installed a custom Rom, I was really glad I did, and wouldn't even consider going back.
     
  7. Dan Davies

    Dan Davies Member
    Rank:
     #1,476
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    59
    6
    16
    When I went looking for my 1st Android phone, this is the one I got, but I had not realised what a problem memory is! I feel like I am working with a DOS computer again!

    Your suggestion of dumping the browser cache freed up over 23Mb for me! Thanks!

    Dan
     
  8. RazzMaTazz

    RazzMaTazz Android Expert
    Rank:
     #144
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,388
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    1,388
    493
    173
  9. grayem

    grayem Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012

    Feb 18, 2012
    3
    2
    6
    If you are going to root the phone, get link2sd. It moves ANYTHING to SD. It will clean out cache, dalvick cache, whatever that is. I have 4 pages of apps and over a 100MB free.
     
    pjarchrn and saltyfishnuts like this.
  10. jessegilbert

    jessegilbert Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    13
    2
    16
    Requires Rooted Phone according to "Play".
     

Share This Page

Loading...