1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Low Memory :'(

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by androidtp, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    Ever since I rooted my phone my internal memory has been low. Before the root I had around 85mb with about 40 apps. Rooted with the same amount of apps but have only 60mb left.

    Tried everything..cachemate, deleting apps, etc. Any ideas anyone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    so you have 60mb left instead of 85, what difference does that make? Is your phone slower? Is it lagging more?
     
  3. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    Well I kno when it gets around 40-49mb the phone really starts messing up. My phone doesn't get that low, but it has dipped down to 51mb due to multitasking.

    It would be nice to have those mbs back without the worry of hitting that critical stage. Still have some lag, especially when a notification comes thru.
     
  4. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    Well I kno when it gets around 40-49mb the phone really starts messing up. My phone doesn't get that low, but it has dipped down to 51mb due to multitasking.

    It would be nice to have those mbs back without the worry of hitting that critical stage. Still have some lag, especially when a notification comes thru.
     
  5. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    hmm...I think the "danger point" is 20mb, something like that.

    Not sure why you've only got 60...did you put a ROM on? I imagine any ROM you put on will take up some memory.

    I'm running Gumbo 2.1, and I've got 113mb free. Not a lot of apps added after loading the ROM.
     
  6. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    If I'm not mistaken, I'm running gumbo .31 but I could be wrong. I have fresh 1.1, gumbo and setcpu
     
  7. androidtp

    androidtp Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    701
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    701
    64
    78
    Houston, Texas
    How many apps do u have btw?
     
  8. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    47 show up in the launcher.

    It might depend on how many widgets you're using as well...I've got the bookmarks one, email, small weather, small digital clock, mobile network toggle, wifi toggle, and setcpu widget...that's it. I'm only using 4 out of the 7 screens at the moment, as I haven't really found anything I want to put on the other 3 lol
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...