1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support LS720ZV6 Update : Do I Want It? (Virgin Mobile)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by larrytxeast, Jan 7, 2014.

  1. larrytxeast

    larrytxeast Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011

    Nov 3, 2011
    95
    18
    18
    I have the LG F3 on Virgin Mobile. It has begun nagging me for the noted update. Do I want it? If not how do I get it to LEAVE ME ALONE for all-time?

    As far as I'm concerned the phone works great now and I'm content to not rock the boat.
     

    Advertisement

  2. learning2

    learning2 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    It worked for me just fine. I am not rooted (yet).

    It seemed to boot-loop for folks who are rooted, though.

    The noticeable changes were new versions of Google Play Services and Google Drive. The rest of it seems to be internal stuff -- so far everything still works fine, though.
     
  3. hiwatt

    hiwatt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    323
    48
    43
    N Side of Chicago
    I had no problem with the update itself. However, my zeam launcher went off acting funny. It took me a while to correct that, which was a pain. Otherwise, I gained back some memory via the cache.
     
  4. elgecko

    elgecko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    339
    98
    53
    PA, USA
  5. Murf1

    Murf1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #190
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    606
    94
    88
    Male
    IT
    Indiana
    I'm on Virgin Mobile, my phone is rooted, but I have not modified anything system wise - have not changed or deleted any files.

    Will this update clobber/lock up my phone?

    Will it break my root?

    thanks
     
  6. Bwillin

    Bwillin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014

    Jan 9, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    My wife downloaded the update last night on her LG F3 Virgin Mobil (not rooted). Now she gets an annoying message every two minutes -- ""Unfortunately, com.lge.email has stopped." The default email program doesn't work now. Her gmail app works fine but we can't seem to get rid of this message. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  7. Murf1

    Murf1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #190
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    606
    94
    88
    Male
    IT
    Indiana
    The update seemed to work fine on my rooted, but un-modded VM phone. It was a little scary before the after-update reboot for a brief second before it showed an android on his back with a red triangle with a "!" on it on his chest. Don't know what that was all about, but everything so far appears to be fine.

    I noticed on other posts it says it's version is suppose to be LS720ZV6, but mine says LS720ZV5.

    So does that mean my update failed?

    I tried the "Update Firmware" setting after the update and it said I was current. I did not try the "Update LG Software" though and I can't from where I'm at, at the moment.
     
  8. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #165
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    504
    227
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    At least your phone didn't soft brick. As you are not showing LS720ZV6, the update failed, but again you did not soft brick so that is always good.
     
    Murf1 likes this.
  9. Murf1

    Murf1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #190
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    606
    94
    88
    Male
    IT
    Indiana
    Yes, it came back up and everything appears normal. Even though I'm rooted (so I could use Link2SD) I have not deleted or changed any stock files/bloat.

    You reckon because I didn't mess with anything is why it didn't soft brick?
     
  10. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #165
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    504
    227
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    From the forums probably just luck of the draw. Some users seem to soft brick and some don't. Have not noticed any specific pattern.

    Me I soft brick which was not a good feeling but thanks to others in the forums I am up and running.
     
  11. swalt722

    swalt722 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014

    Jan 10, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    I too have a VM F3 that's rooted w/ motochopper but not flashed. Tried the update to no avail. Luckily did not soft brick. My understanding of the update is one factor is it eliminates the chance to root with motochopper. Can anyone verify?
     
  12. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #165
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    504
    227
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    Your comment is correct.

    Info in following link may help to reroot if needed.

    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=6373482
     
  13. thephfactor

    thephfactor Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013

    Oct 26, 2013
    3
    0
    25
    Is there a way to update the rooted phone without the risk of soft-bricking?
     
  14. 00grimy

    00grimy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014

    Jan 18, 2014
    15
    1
    16
    Just bought this phone yesterday, a bit concerned this update already wants to use 10% of my total system space for something that I don't see a need for. Phone is brand new with zero issues. Seems like I should stay away from this update. Can you turn off the nagging update notices if you're not rooted?
     
  15. swalt722

    swalt722 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014

    Jan 10, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    I don't know of a way to turn it off since its a system notification. If you dismiss it often enough it will stop prompting at least for a few days. Eventually you may just need to accept the download.
     
  16. jamstewonline

    jamstewonline Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #261
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013

    Jul 28, 2013
    178
    40
    63
    Male
    Texas
    I am rooted with mottochopper. Very little bloat removed and nothing modified in system. Tried update three times but always failed and never bricked ( GOOD ) Just added cwm recovery will try update again when prompted ( not in a hurry ) Would like to have update installed just in case i need it later for any future updates that may come.
     
  17. AshyKing

    AshyKing Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013

    Jun 28, 2013
    36
    2
    16
    I bricked my phone and restored it with the LG flash tool then updated, now I can't root my phone/ not recognizing root any solutions?
     
  18. elgecko

    elgecko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    339
    98
    53
    PA, USA
    Post #4
     
    hiwatt likes this.
  19. dogboy322

    dogboy322 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    May 8, 2013

    May 8, 2013
    26
    2
    16
    Male
    Tulsa, OK
    Good Lord, good Lord! Thank you for this thread. VM Optimus F3 w moto root, Link2SD, over a gig of internal free, plenty of SD, all that I need, and for what I paid this phone is a powerhouse. (Not to mention the best battery life ever.)
    I am not messing with it.
     
  20. 00grimy

    00grimy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014

    Jan 18, 2014
    15
    1
    16
    If you clicked the link the first line is "Root required obviously. "

    Ditto, mine is 4 days old, got it from amazon $80 shipped new. I believe they price match back up to 7 days if anyone else is still looking to buy.
     
  21. elgecko

    elgecko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    339
    98
    53
    PA, USA
    Yes. Sorry.
    I forget that not everybody roots....
     
  22. elgecko

    elgecko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    339
    98
    53
    PA, USA
    I did something to my phone that it did not like. Burning the battery fast.
    Decided to restore a previous CWM Nandroid backup to correct the problem.
    My phone has lost root and is 100% stock now. Serious thinking of installing the update, thinking it may be safer without the root... although thinking in the back of my mind what if it's the recovery that causes the boot loops people are experiencing....
    May have to wait till I get home to give it a try since it's snowing and I may need a phone on the drive home from work....
     
  23. elgecko

    elgecko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    339
    98
    53
    PA, USA
    Decided to give it a try....
    If you have CWM recovery, you'll get a boot loop....
     
    Murf1 likes this.
  24. mbstone

    mbstone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    I can re-attempt an update by stopping Google Framework Services but the same thing happens. I'd like to get past this point, and fully install V6. How? Any reason why this would be inadvisable?
     
  25. Murf1

    Murf1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #190
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    606
    94
    88
    Male
    IT
    Indiana
    Well, I'm rooted (haven't altered any system files) and it breaks the root. (Can be rooted again by a different method.)
    Also, some people get a boot-loop or soft brick when the update fails and you have to jump thru hoops to get your phone working again. I don't want to go thru all that, so I'm staying un-updated.

    Now if VM puts out the 4.4 KitKat update - then I'll do what is needed to update it.

    Meanwhile I use the "Disable Service" app to stop the nagging update message.
     

Share This Page

Loading...