1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General LTE/3G toggle widget

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Apache, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. Apache

    Apache Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    106
    2
    36
    Sugar Land, TX
    Any recommendation for a good LTE/3G toggle widget for the T-mobile Nexus 5?

    The LTE absolutely kills the battery

    Thank you
     

    Advertisement

  2. renegad3

    renegad3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    May 9, 2013

    May 9, 2013
    115
    42
    83
    power toggles ?
     
  3. Apache

    Apache Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    106
    2
    36
    Sugar Land, TX
    Just tried it, none of those buttons toggles b/w LTE and 3G though as far as I am seeing - ?
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,921
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,921
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    It would probably be better (certainly so for battery life) if you just found a toggle to switch data on and off as needed.

    I personally didnt see any significant battery drain with LTE, but it could be local network conditions.
     
  5. Apache

    Apache Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    106
    2
    36
    Sugar Land, TX
    It's a good point, in my region, there is a big drain with LTE, yet only minimal speed reduction when compared to 3G (which is much easier on the battery).

    So ideally I don't want to turn the data off, but rather keep it on 3G most of the time, but be able to switch back and forth b/w that and LTE with one button, if possible - ?
     
  6. SAL8116

    SAL8116 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    509
    91
    108
    Central Florida
    On my phone you can select to stay on 3g.

    Go to settings; Under wireless & networks go to More; then go to Mobile Networks; go to Preferred Network Type; it is there you can select LTE, 3g or 2g.

    Does that help?
     
  7. Apache

    Apache Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    106
    2
    36
    Sugar Land, TX
    Yes that is how I do it, but ideally a one click widget for the Homescreen that would allow me to toggle back and forth b/w LTE and 3G is what I am looking for - ?
     
  8. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    648
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    Don't have any recommendations since I don't use any, but searching on "Toggle LTE 3g" in the play store brings up a lot of them.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...