1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support LTE/CDMA carrier unlock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by miallali, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. miallali

    miallali Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    18
    2
    16
    Dallas, TX
    Hi!

    I am looking for some expert comments on this topic. I have a Samsung Galaxy Nexus for Verizon and I am wondering if anyone can provide comments on LTE/CDMA portability. In short, can you take this LTE/CDMA phone and make it fully work on a similar carrier.

    I know that the CDMA part is fairly easy, but I dont know anybody working on LTE right now. Since LTE carries the same principle as GSM, is a SIM unlock possible? Assuming you can find a carrier that offer similar phones (LG Revolution vs LG Esteem) but maybe on a different LTE frequency. For example VRZ to MetroPCS, who offers LTE and CDMA too.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ZeroOne

    ZeroOne Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I know the sim card is different then like att you can't take the sim out and use with other 4 g phones.its on your Verizon line for information like data use etc.
     
  3. ZeroOne

    ZeroOne Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    If its a Verizon Gnexus probably cannot use another carrier sim?? Google is our friend ;)
     
  4. milan03

    milan03 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    327
    46
    43
    New York City
    Verizon LTE phones are locked to 700Mhz Band 13 and the hardware itself only has the needed LTE antenna, filters, power amps, duplexers tuned in to Band 13 exclusively.
    There is no way in the world that you could "Unlock" something that physically doesn't exist inside a phone.
     
    Crashumbc and miallali like this.
  5. ElmoHarris

    ElmoHarris Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Telling everybody what to do
    Canada
    Do you mean that Verizon's version of the Samsung Galaxy Nexus can not be used on any other carrier system?

    I live in the US for 6 months of the year and in Canada for 6 months of the year. I now have a 2 year contract with Verizon and two Samsung Nexus phones (wife has one). Verizon allows me to suspend service for 90 day periods. I want to be able to go to Canada to another carrier and swap out SIM cards to use the phone with a Canadian number while I am in Canada. In the fall, I want to be able to replace the Canadian SIM card with my Verizon SIM card while I am in the US.

    Is there something wrong with this picture?
     
  6. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
    Unless the other carrier is using the exact same frequency as the Verizon GN....then no.

    According to the FCC test documentation for both VZW and Sprint's versions
    Verizon's GN runs on CDMA 850 and 1900 (LINK)
    and on LTE 750 (LINK).

    Sprint's GN also runs on CDMA 850 and 1900 (LINK), however Sprint's LTE operates on the 1900 band (LINK)

    I suppose you could get a GN to run in CDMA mode on either network, technically speaking.... but LTE is a no-go for sure.
     
  7. ElmoHarris

    ElmoHarris Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Telling everybody what to do
    Canada
    ---

    Thank you, Tim. Next time I'll be more careful in my dealings with Verizon.
     
  8. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    You could always get a Nationwide plus Canada plan from Verizon or just switch to it for part of the year.

    Plans - Verizon Wireless
     
  9. kyler13

    kyler13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,638
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    1,638
    284
    163
    Annapolis, MD
    Don't expect things to get better with LTE...

    In addition to all that, is Clear still looking to convert their WiMax 2400MHz band to LTE?
     
  10. milan03

    milan03 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    327
    46
    43
    New York City
    Clearwire is looking to deploy LTE on 2600Mhz, but it's gonna be TDD-LTE
     
  11. ElmoHarris

    ElmoHarris Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Telling everybody what to do
    Canada
    Thanks. I used the Nationwide plus Canada plan last year. The problem is that there is no corresponding data plan that makes any sense at all. The best they've got right now is $25 for 100mb. I can blow through a 100mb in a day and I'm not even breathing hard. That's $750 for 3gb per month. Get real.
     
  12. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    $25 for 100 MB?? That's terrible!

    I can blow through that in 40 seconds or so over 4G!
     
  13. LCW

    LCW Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    101
    7
    36
    OP - your best bet might just be to get an unlocked GSM Nexus, and use that when you go to Canada. You'd have your choice of Rogers, Telus and Bell SIMs, not to mention some prepaid options (PetroCanada, 7-11).

    VZW wants you LOCKED in. Always has, always will. They want their customers to roam worldwide on THEIR plans. It's BS. VZW does not sell "world" phones, as much as they claim.

    As tough a pill as it might be to swallow, maybe you ditch VZW altogether, get an unlocked GSM Nexus and go with AT&T or T-Mobile in the US, Rogers/Telus/Bell in Canada. Then you'd truly be all set on either side of the border with plenty of options.
     
  14. albertjoseph

    albertjoseph Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013

    Jan 29, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Engineer
    Kerala,India
    Hi all,

    I am having a Samsung Nexus SCHi515 with Verizon network( It has a sim slot)
    I have taken the phone to India. I thought it could be unlocked and used in some CDMA network( Reliance) here since one of my friend have unlocked LG droid 3,(non-sim model),verizon network. But I have heard from some people that phone with sim slot cannot be unlocked and only the non sim model can be unlocked and registered with the Reliance CDMA network in India.
    Is it not possible to unlock the model with sim slot?
    Kindly help me out.
     
  15. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Most likely not, as the Nexus gets network information from the SIM (like a GSM phone would), so Reliance would have to have a SIM for the Nexus. Since CDMA phones don't normally use SIMs, that may prove quite difficult.
     
  16. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,941
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,941
    13,153
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I would suggest calling your carrier here in the US and the carrier in India.

    Might as well go straight to the source :)
     
  17. GirlFriday

    GirlFriday Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012

    Mar 20, 2012
    97
    13
    18
    Female
    Publicist, Personal Assistant and All around Girl
    CDMA phones don't use SIMs and no it's not possible to use a Verizon phone on any other carrier or any other carrier's phones on Verizon. Here in the US it is now illegal to unlock a phone without carrier consent.
     
  18. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Not entirely true on some CDMA phones though. LTE CDMA phones do use SIM cards (I think the LTE standard requires them), and the dual mode CDMA/GSM phones do as well (for obvious reasons).
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...