1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root M110 Just more crap?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by computergeek24, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. computergeek24

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    32
    0
    15
    Did anything happen worth updating or is it just more crap? Hopefully (but not likely) they created a security hole by accident.
     

    Advertisement

  2. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    All of the same crap plus some new crap. My phone *seems* to have less stutter and is not as laggy, but I've only had it installed for a couple of hours. Who knows? It's damn sure not rootable.

    It includes the Emergency Alert app (PLAN) that the government is wanting smartphones to have. I'm quite sure FEMA doesn't want phone users to be able to remove that.
     
  3. gpsjunkie

    gpsjunkie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    25
    241
    48
    What's the "factory reset added" that's mentioned in the pdf?
     
  4. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    I don't know, factory reset is where its always been
     
  5. tsp_2177

    tsp_2177 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    65
    5
    16
    So far so good with me. Still have my fingers crossed for root but we'll see. Is rather have a smooth running phone than waiting for a slim possibility of root.
     
  6. paxchristos

    paxchristos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    455
    113
    68
    Can somebody run these commands & post the resulting text file
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. adb shell
    3. cd /system/bin/
    4. ls -l > /sdcard/bin-files.txt
    5.  
     
  7. elderlypunk

    elderlypunk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    98
    6
    16
    Male
    Here you go...

    http://db.tt/5jvh4Vfa
     
  8. lgulseth

    lgulseth Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    I also ran the ls and have a slightly different list.... To satisfy the powers that be, my 2nd post will contain the link....


    Luther
    Casio Commando C771M100 :(
     
  9. lgulseth

    lgulseth Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    As promised, here's the link:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/75794764/bin-files.txt

    Luther
    Casio Commando C771M100 :(
     
  10. elderlypunk

    elderlypunk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    98
    6
    16
    Male
    So, does anyone have any thoughts? I know precisely nothing about what was in the update, but my phone seems to be much more responsive!
     
  11. paxchristos

    paxchristos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    455
    113
    68
    Thanks, got both the txt files, need to look 'em over now :D
     
  12. elderlypunk

    elderlypunk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    98
    6
    16
    Male
    Thanks, man. I was actually curious what people thought of the update just the way it is. Even if it's unrootable, the performance is way better than m100, unless I'm just nuts (which is always a possibility!)
     
  13. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    I'm seeing no where near the stutter and lag, and force closes, and reboots than I had with M100. You may be elderly, and you may be a punk, but you're not nuts - at least where this is concerned. Battery life is no better or worse which has always been a problem for me. My contract is up for renewal in July and I have my eye on the Motorola with the big battery. We will see.

    There is one issue with this build though... I use PTT and after I use it the next incoming phone call will always be on speaker phone. Irritating.
     
  14. elderlypunk

    elderlypunk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011

    Dec 12, 2011
    98
    6
    16
    Male
    Ugh. Drag... fortunately no one I know uses PTT, so it's a non issue here. That sounds like it would get even more aggravating the more it happened.
     
  15. tsp_2177

    tsp_2177 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    65
    5
    16
    Performance and battery life have been great for me. Working on 1 day and 8 hours of battery life and 38% battery left. With just a 5 minute charge on my car charger while I was making a phone call today.
     
  16. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    I live and.work in areas with less than stellar coverage so my phone spends some time searching for evdo service. When I disable data I get performance like you are describing, but then I have no email and the PTT doesnt work. Of.course if I change to that phone I won't have PTT either so its a quandary
     
  17. aceofheartless

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012

    Apr 29, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    CmpE Student
    Atlanta
    Hello everybody! First post :)
    Anyway, I think I may have found out what "factory reset added" is all about, as I was going to try resetting my Commando today to maybe fix the phone app force closing. I uncovered the Verizon wireless page about factory resetting the phone, and I found a second method that involves holding a combination of buttons as the phone is shutting down. I'd post a link, but I can't yet :p
    It was the first result when I googled "casio commando hard reset"
     
  18. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
  19. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    You will get the hard reset screen from powerup as well. There is a brief period (about two seconds) of red LED when powering up from off and if you perform the button presses then you will get the reset screen as well. Maybe somebody who knows what they are doing could find a use for this. Of course there is still the minor issue of not being able to root...
     
  20. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    Would this be done from the stock recovery? Interesting. So the unrootable update has a way to get to recovery from boot, in a way.
     
  21. Spike G

    Spike G Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    has anyone with m100 tried

    Code (Text):
    1. adb reboot recovery
    Maybe they were that dumb....
     
  22. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    Nope, they're not. You get the little android guy and a triangle with an exclaimation mark and that's all.
     
  23. Spike G

    Spike G Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    hmm, i dont have access to m110 at the moment, but if i upgrade maybe i could study a logcat of the boot on this new reset feature...
     
  24. lgulseth

    lgulseth Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Can I provide the log for you? What steps do I go through to get the log for you?

    Luther
    Casio Commando C771M100 :(
     
  25. computergeek24

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    32
    0
    15
    i have m110 if anyone needs any logs or any help
     

Share This Page

Loading...