1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Mac OS compatible?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by beastman, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. beastman

    beastman Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I've got the SGS and love it and have recommended it a friend but I've realised he uses a Mac and I have read somewhere that Mac's don't work with it, specifically the Samsung software. I just use mine with the PC connected as an eternal drive and don't bother with the Kies - can the same be done with the Mac?
     

    Advertisement

  2. swb

    swb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    Yes :)

    I also like using Missing Sync.
     
  3. scottie2345

    scottie2345 Newbie
    Rank:
     #1,596
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    works a treat for me, pc doesnt but thats a different story:)
     
  4. -Ollie-

    -Ollie- Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    188
    21
    58
    I read somewhere that you put the USB in "debugging mode", then you can mount the drive when using a Mac.
     
  5. Sleuth

    Sleuth Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    26
    1
    16
    London
    That's right. You need to put it in USB debugging mode before your Mac will recognise it when you mount it. It's not a perfect solution, but it works well enough. iPhoto will then see it and you will be able to copy your tunes over either manually or by using a third party media manager like DoubleTwist.

    Your friend will, of course, be unable to run Samsung's Keiss software on his Mac. Alas. Since the firmware upgrade to fix the GPS issue will apparently only be delivered via Keiss, I'm going to have install it either on my work PC or under my Mac's Parallels virtual Windows box. Haven't decided yet.

    Bit of a pain.
     
  6. garyliving

    garyliving Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010

    Nov 19, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Sleuth..i saw your post so i thought to ask u:
    i am trying to get some help connecting my mac to my new galaxy. i tried everything in all the threads (debugging selecting mass storage etc..)but still no go. what am i missing. i could not even get it to mount on my old XP PC.
    :thinking:
    i don't have an extra data card in the phone..just the sim card...but shouldn't it mount all the same?
     

Share This Page

Loading...