1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Mac Rooting Guide

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chasehale10, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. chasehale10

    chasehale10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    51
    8
    16

    Advertisement

  2. RootDaDuck

    RootDaDuck Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    37
    12
    18
    Install bootcamp and put windows on it :)
     
  3. chasehale10

    chasehale10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    51
    8
    16
    Guys this is not a spam thread.
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    +1.
    Keep replies on-topic and constructive, please.
     
  5. 150_cav

    150_cav Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    390
    33
    43
    Verizon repair tech
    +1 for without bootcamp or parallels



    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  6. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    381
    119
    88
    NoVA
  7. 150_cav

    150_cav Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    390
    33
    43
    Verizon repair tech
    well someone read the instructions lol, thanks man



    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  8. chasehale10

    chasehale10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    51
    8
    16
    Very True, but a mac is set up different some people might have a hard time finding what folder this all is. In terminal we dont type in for example drive C, there is a little more to it.
     
  9. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    381
    119
    88
    NoVA
    Right, that's why I also posted that link to an ADB helper script for Mac/Linux.
     
  10. chasehale10

    chasehale10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    51
    8
    16
    yes i had read that, its just jumbled up when you open it and not very clearly written.
     
  11. chasehale10

    chasehale10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    51
    8
    16
  12. aptmx

    aptmx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    91
    9
    16
    If anyone can help with a step by step guide for doing this on a Mac, it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
     
    sauce and chasehale10 like this.
  13. chasehale10

    chasehale10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    51
    8
    16
    thanks aptmx trying to get this out there to see who else if anyone has rooted the incredible with the mac.
     
  14. aptmx

    aptmx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    91
    9
    16
    So just to confirm, no one has been able to root the Incredible via Terminal on a Mac?
     
  15. chasehale10

    chasehale10 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    51
    8
    16
    Thats the way it seems
     
  16. wompy

    wompy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    10
    1
    36
    It can be rooted through the terminal, thats how I did it. If you don't know all the *nix commands and aren't comfortable with the CL, just follow the link mrjinglesusa posted. its a script that does it for you.
     
  17. jpvonhemel

    jpvonhemel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    17
    1
    36
    I used this script. You just need to know how to export a path variable to where your /sdk/tools folder is located. Adding directories to the Mac OS X PATH variable | keito.me shows how to do this. Otherwise it is just a matter of running the script with ./adb_recovery_helper.sh

    Not very hard and did finally help me to root with a Verizon Sandisk 2GB card.

    If you get in, just follow the directions very carefully. When it says to press any button when the file verification shows, press any button on your droid, not your mac. This interrupts the validation and allows unrevoked for incredible to insert.

    Really, the hardest part is getting the damn phone into adb recovery. I am sure in a few days, the exploit will be better understood and scripts will time it better, ie, iphone jailbraking.
     
  18. aptmx

    aptmx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    91
    9
    16

    I was able to fix the path via terminal to where it says device not found when I run ADB shell. But I still, no matter how many times I pull the battery can't get the terminal script past Waiting for ADB...

    Any ideas?
     
  19. jpvonhemel

    jpvonhemel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    17
    1
    36
    I used a Sandisk 2GB card that Verizon provided with the phone. Just leaving it in did not work. What eventually worked for me a couple of times was ejecting SD, rebooting and then quickly inserting it in and out. I think it took 15-20 times but then it worked a couple of times after that. I tried again yesterday and could not get it to work again. You may want to consider trying the PNY 2GB card available at walmart. People have posted better than average luck with this one. HTH
     
  20. jpvonhemel

    jpvonhemel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    17
    1
    36
    Also, before running the script, make sure adb works and does not show command not found. I had to export the path to the command twice for some reason. You do not want to have the script running with adb not available. Would have been nice if the script would have confirmed it was running for us.
     
  21. FloridaOranges

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Yeah that would really help me out. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...