1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Made it thru root, now what?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by erikwi, Feb 6, 2014.

  1. erikwi

    erikwi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    12
    3
    36
    Government IT specialist
    lost in NC
    Hello all,
    I made it thru rooting my TB with HUGE thanks to trter and the Thunderbolt tool. I'm back on GB now and want to do some bloatware removal, like Slacker and Bitbop, etc. How do I get rid of this junk? I'd also like to go back to ICS or further. ICS had some features I liked such as the ability to delete panes. I had mine down to 3 panes, home with 2 others. OTA is disabled and I don't know how to turn it back on. Will the TB support an OS more recent that ICS or is ICS as far I can go on this old processor?

    I'd also like to be able to use my hotspot without paying an extra 30 bux a month. How can I take off tetherguard or whatever's blocking me from using the hotspot?

    In case you can't tell, I'm a total noob when it comes to rooting. If it weren't for the Tbolt tool, I would have never tried this.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    1) Instead of deleting bloatware, freeze it with Titanium Backup. Then, if its not being available causes a problem, you can just unfreeze it.

    2) How many homepages you have is determined by your launcher. You can install a new launcher without being rooted.

    3) ICS on GB hardware is pushing it a bit. JB? That's really pushing it.

    4) Your carrier blocks tethering at their end if you don't pay for it. There's nothing you do on the phone to change their records (which is what it would take).
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  3. erikwi

    erikwi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    12
    3
    36
    Government IT specialist
    lost in NC
    Tnx for the info. Got Titanium backup installed late last night and used it to freeze the junk I want to get rid of, like Slacker and Let's Golf. I'll give it a couple of days and see what happens before deleting the junk apps. What is a launcher and how to I change it? GB runs so much better on the TB. I was perfectly happy on GB before the forced update to ICS and was initially pleased with ICS, then the problems started. Sluggish response came first, then some of the keys stopped working when I was texting or using email. Then it started calling random numbers in the address book, sometimes during an active call. Most recently it started shutting down. I popped a new batt in it thinking the batt was going bad but that didn't fix it. Wednesday night it locked up and a hard reset didn't solve so I figured what the heck, let's try rooting. Had nothing to lose at that point. I had the Foxfy app before root and I could tether that way but the app doesn't fully work with the TB so the hotspot wouldn't work. The only time I need to use hotspot or tether is travelling or if the cable goes out again. I can just go get the Foxfy app again for backup.
     
  4. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    As long as you've got the revolutionary s off hboot,you're good to go. You can install the ics radios,and simply flash an ics rom to update back to ics.

    Holler if you have questions :)
     
    scary alien likes this.
  5. erikwi

    erikwi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    12
    3
    36
    Government IT specialist
    lost in NC
    I know I have revolutionary s off hboot thanks to the tool so that's covered. Given the probs with ICS, I'm really thinking about staying on GB but finding a launcher that gives me better control. I noticed today though that the LTE radio was switching back and forth between 1X, 3G and 4G. Is it possible to run the ICS or newer radio on GB? The TB was never meant for ICS, old processor needs old OS. It'd be like taking a 10 year old PC and putting Win8 on it. It just ain't going to work right.......
     
  6. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    I would look into AOSP roms,as its not so much the processor limitations but the memory limitations that keep you from running a newer OS. HTC's sense UI makes their software large and memory intensive,and is interwoven to the point its not easily removed. You'll likely find AOSP based roms are faster and smoother.

    I'm unfamiliar with tb current roms,so I'm not sure what devs are still around,and how complete/functional android 4.0+ roms are.

    If you don't mind staying on gb,have a look at cm7 and roms based on it. These roms are small,fast,smooth,and should be 100% functional,and will work well with your desires to run a 3rd party launcher :)
     
  7. erikwi

    erikwi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    12
    3
    36
    Government IT specialist
    lost in NC
    Thanks, I'll check it out. I'm assuming I can google AOSP and find these roms and install instructions?
     
  8. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    AOSP is android open source project,and just refers to roms based on google code,and not using any skin or UI overlay.

    You can find roms in the thunderbolt section of xda: http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-thunderbolt

    Holler if you have further questions :)
     
  9. erikwi

    erikwi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    12
    3
    36
    Government IT specialist
    lost in NC
    Tnx for the help. I found some stuff from santod, the ICS radios and a debloated,deodexed (??) Mecha ICS rom to be exact. I'm giving that some thought. He had a couple more files that I picked up, the VZW backup assistant zip and the VZW hotspot zip. The hotspot I don't think I can use without subscribing to it (earlier post) so it's useless to me. The backup assistant though I find useful with the large amount of contacts I have. Santod says do a full wipe before flashing the rom which I haven't figured out how to do yet. What I'm unsure about is how to install the backup assistant zip after flashing the custom rom. Ideas?
     
  10. Muilisx

    Muilisx Android Expert
    Rank:
     #114
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,134
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    1,134
    184
    143
    Male
    Owner of Dogs On Wheels
    Long Island, NY
    I remember my first successful root. It was on a Samsung Admire. It was a low end Metro android but honestly, that phone was like $100 or less and was very reliable like the LG Motion. It rooted easily, and had great root support. I never rooted the Motion because of all the internal space available to the user, and it ran a 1.5Ghz CPU so it was very good, and quite fast for $99. The Admire and Motion were the best two Metro phones I ever had, but now I have the S3, but I dont use the S3 in my comparison as the S3 isn't considered a low end phone.
     
  11. erikwi

    erikwi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    12
    3
    36
    Government IT specialist
    lost in NC
    I was overjoyed when the root was successful to say the least. I think I jumped into the deep end of the pool though as a lot of this lingo is over my head. I'm getting a crash course in Linux OS commands by playing with this phone. My contract's up in a couple of months and I was going to get a new phone since I've had so many probs with this one. Now that it's rooted and working great, I think I'll save my cash for something else.
     
  12. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    a full wipe just consists of:
    -wipe data/factory reset
    -wipe cache
    -wipe dalvik cache

    using the phones recovery menu options. you might want to consider upgrading your current recovery to ext 4,wich is a very nice touchscreen recovery. i always use it when its available for whatever device im working with: [TOUCHCOVERY] ORIGINAL | 4EXT Recovery Touch v1.0.0.5 RC5 - xda-developers

    ral has a 4 ext how to,wich should answer alot of questions: http://androidforums.com/desire-hd-all-things-root/631481-4ext-recovery-how.html

    on your backup assistant zip,i assume its just flashed in recovery,like the rom. i would prolly flash the rom,boot the phone,let things settle,then go back to recovery and flash that zip(this time only wipe cache and dalvik)

    id also encourage to convert your backup asst contacts to google contacts,and from that point forward make sure to always make sure to create new contacts as google contacts. it will make changeing roms,and changing phones, considerably easier :)

    i dont remember the exact process at the moment,but basicaly you can turn your backup ast contacts into a .cvs file that you can then import to gmail. some googling should bring up the info if youre interested in that :)
     
  13. erikwi

    erikwi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    12
    3
    36
    Government IT specialist
    lost in NC
    Sweet! I'm going to be experimenting with the TB this weekend. Tnx for the help!
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  14. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    youre welcome. holler if you have any questions :)
     
  15. erikwi

    erikwi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    12
    3
    36
    Government IT specialist
    lost in NC
    I am good to go now. I got Santod's NuSense Reborn ROM and pushed it Saturday night. I had to use Titanium Backup to debloat it a bit but other than that it is a really nice, very well done rom. It's got all the ICS stuff I got used to and none of the lag I had before root. It's got features in it I haven't even figured out yet too! Good thing too as the money I had set aside to get a new phone went to a new laptop. My 7 year old Dell is dying a slow death and WinXP is dead in April anyway.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  16. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    Awsome! Glad you've had good results with your root and rom experiences :cool:
     
  17. erikwi

    erikwi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    12
    3
    36
    Government IT specialist
    lost in NC
    Everything has been pretty smooth until Monday of this week. I made a call Monday morning while en route to work. Two hours later, the battery was flat and it wouldn't even power on at all. I charged in the car and it was fine the rest of the day. I suspected a bad replacement battery so I put the original back in. No repeat so I put the replacement back in and so far it's working fine. I don't know what killed the battery that fast but something sure pulled it down faster than I've ever seen before.

    Today my LTE radio started turning itself on and off while I was trying to web browse. I finally gave up on browsing as it wouldn't stay up long enough to pull a page down. It was doing this before root from time to time though. I'm starting to wonder if maybe it's time for an GS4? Or the upcoming GS5?
     
  18. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    I'd say maybe time for an HTC one or its upcoming sequal,but my opinion is pretty biased ;)

    Hard to say what may have been going on with your battery. Might have had an app misbehaving. As far as your LTE radio,I never had issue with vzw 3g,I'd think you could still browse with that.

    One thing I've found to help with wierd,flaky data is to:
    -make a backup
    -install stock recovery
    -chose "factory reset" in hboot
    -reinstall recovery of choice
    -restore backup

    The stock recovery seems to be able to "clean" areas of the phone a custom recovery cannot. Seems to help with a lot of different instabilities and is well worth trying,IMO :)
     
    BRAINZ2013 likes this.
  19. erikwi

    erikwi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    12
    3
    36
    Government IT specialist
    lost in NC
    Tnx I'll give it a shot. It's been fine since my last post so maybe it was something with the tower I was on. I streamed music for 2 hours today with iHeart app and it didn't miss a beat. As far as an app sucking the battery down, I don't know what it could have been. I've killed background data so maybe it won't happen again.

    Hmm, just thought of something. Where can I find a stock recovery? I've got Revolutionary and CWM now. I've got the 4ext app too.
     
  20. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    Best place to find a stock recovery is in an ruu. There is a thread here that contains radios,recoveries and hboots that contains stock recoveries up to gingerbread.

    Vzw could well have been having some tower issues that day. Glad things are working for you :)
     
  21. erikwi

    erikwi Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014

    Jan 11, 2014
    12
    3
    36
    Government IT specialist
    lost in NC
    Well, it's been 10 days now and I haven't had anything else go wrong, with the phone anyway. When the ice storm hit last week I had some trouble making calls but that was the fact that the power was out to 400,000 people in central NC, towers probably included. Or the cell networks were overloaded because land lines were down.

    Let's see if it malfunctions again with 8 days to go on the contract now. My next phone will have insurance on it, that much I know!
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  22. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413

Share This Page

Loading...