1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Make Opera Default broswer

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by kamorant, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. kamorant

    kamorant Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    6
    4
    6
    Hi Gang,

    First post here. As per subject I would like to make Opera Mobile V 11.5.3 my default browser instead of the stock Android browser.

    I have already done some research and found two suggestions, but neither worked.

    1/ Go to the Manage Applications->All->Browser and click clear defaults. On both Opera and Browser, the defaults is greyed out.

    2/ Open a link, say in an email, and when it asked for what to open with, click opera. I don't get that choice, just "browser" and "copy link" and "share link".

    The hardware is a Lenovo Ideapad A1, running 2.3.4. I am also using the Go Launcher Ex (which btw turns the A1 into something pretty decent)

    I'm up for trying any suggestions!

    TIA
     

    Advertisement

  2. jefboyardee

    jefboyardee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,524
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5,524
    1,788
    423
  3. kamorant

    kamorant Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    6
    4
    6
    This application won't let me change the default setting for the Browser unless I buy the full version.

    Funny, I also tried installing the Dolphin browser, same problem. Dolphin also have a "Make Dolphin default" button, but when I click it, it brings up the stock browser!! LOL. And of course the setting doesn't stick.

    Any other help?

    Thanks
     
  4. kamorant

    kamorant Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    6
    4
    6
    bumpity bump
     
  5. mjha

    mjha Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I too am a new Lenovo A1 owner, want to do the same - change default browser. Any new suggestions would be gratefully received.


     
  6. kamorant

    kamorant Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    6
    4
    6
    My solution was rather heavy handed, I went ahead and rooted the A1 tablet. Then I just used a "Root uninstaller" from the market to remove that Android pesky browser.

    Now all HTML requests go to Opera!

    There must be a better way!

    Cheers
     
  7. ricnar456

    ricnar456 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    59
    6
    16
    in all android devices when you install a new browser, and you click in a link, appear the option for choose the browser and make default if you want, if this action don't work, maybe the lenovo firmware is mutilated, but this is the right form to change in all android devices.

    ricnar
     
  8. mjha

    mjha Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Thank you for your swift reply. I did as you suggested and it worked perfectly.

     

Share This Page

Loading...