1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Make some space

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jaybo1973, Aug 27, 2012.

  1. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire
    Hi all

    I used to be a desire user. Loved it. My wife still has a few months left. She is really struggling with internal memory now though. She hardly has any apps now, she clears the caches, clears data from apps but no joy. I can't think of anything else. Something is hogging her memory somewhere. I have read that WiFi data logs start to fill the memory but there is no way to clear it. Any ideas?

    Cheers guys
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,872
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,872
    12,831
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Are any apps using unusual amounts of data? You can get the "manage applications" menu to sort apps by size, or use "quick system info". Remember to include system apps as well - Contacts Storage and social networking apps sometimes use a lot of data.

    You can clear all sorts of stuff with a factory reset, but of course you need to back up essential data and reinstall stuff after that.

    You have a lot more options if you are rooted, but that may not be what you are after.
     
  3. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    868
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    868
    15
    63
    Nottinghamshire

    Dropped them in size order. Facebook, maps, internet were the main culprits. Gained 43mb, not bad. I used to have loads more apps than that though. They are much bigger these days though
     
  4. spile

    spile Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    424
    44
    43
    I solved the lack of space issue on the Desire by
    1) Rooting
    2) Install CM7
    3) Partitioning SDcard
    4) Download S2e

    Now I have 72Mb free instead of 12Mb!
     
    prabs4sure and maryuk like this.
  5. togger161

    togger161 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    432
    60
    53
    Electrical Technician
    Birmingham UK
    You can take it further too. If you are not running an HTC Sense rom you can repartition the Desire's internal memory, reducing what the system needs (because you are not running the bloat ware Sense) and handing it over for apps. Have a read here if you are feeling brave. My wife's is running Mildwild.
    Memory was System 250 Cache 40 Data 147 (stock)
    Now running System 180 Cache 40 Data 217

    You can take things even further if you wish but you need to make sure any rom you chose fits into the System partition. Dev's usually state the requirements for their roms in the first post.
     
  6. Tyseyh

    Tyseyh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,035
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2,035
    296
    163
    Male
    Leeds, UK
    Changing hboot is a bit more advanced, BUT so worth it.
     
  7. togger161

    togger161 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    432
    60
    53
    Electrical Technician
    Birmingham UK
    Agreed. Gives the Desire a new lease of life.
     
  8. prabs4sure

    prabs4sure Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    RO Manager at IOCL
    Kumarghat, Tripura, India
    Recently I have rooted my desire running android 2.3.3 with revolutionary and installed CM7 (stable). Now I can move nearly all the apps to sd card. But a part of the apps still remains in the internal memory. After installing about 15 apps I am having the same low memory issue. Have I done a mistake, or is there a way out. Please Help.
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,872
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,872
    12,831
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Part of the app always remains in internal memory, though running out after 15 sounds wrong to me, unless they are 15 unusually large apps. All app data remains internal too, so if you have a phonebook full of duplicates (can only see by editing contacts) or let social networking apps store or cache 10s of MB that can cause you to run out fast.

    If you partition your card and install an a2sd script you can move your dalvik cache, which will help a lot. Or a custom hboot will give you more space. Either way, read the root memory faq, linked from the Desire All Things Root forum's All Things Root Guide sticky post.

    As this is only available to rooted users, it's best discussed in another thread in the Root forum.
     
    prabs4sure likes this.
  10. prabs4sure

    prabs4sure Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012

    Jan 29, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    RO Manager at IOCL
    Kumarghat, Tripura, India
    Thank you Hadron for the info. I have ordered for a 16gb class 10 sd card on ebay, the present one is class 2 and 8gb. I will go as your suggestion with the new class 10 sd card. Hope that will be better. Thanks once again.

    Will going to recovery and clearing dalvik cache help to some extent?
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,872
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,872
    12,831
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Only if you have stuff in there left over from uninstalled apps (which should not happen if you uninstall using the manage apps menu, play store or Ti Backup). Otherwise it will be recreated when you reboot.

    Clearing app caches will help short term though.
     
    prabs4sure likes this.
  12. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    A short term measure which might help is to use Titanium back up to freeze the market updater app then uninstall market updates. This will remove google play & return you to the original market.

    Also using Titanium you can detach system apps like flashplayer, maps,gmail & you tube from the market then remove updates. System app updates remain on internal data.
     
    prabs4sure likes this.
  13. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,872
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,872
    12,831
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    It's worth noting that "detatch from Market" in Ti doesn't work with the Play Store app (at least it never has for me). I think they've changed the way it works.
     
  14. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    You're quite right Hadron. That's why I went back to the old market.

    I've never tried but does the option to integrate system app updates into system work? That would save some space. Presumably you need to be S-off.
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    19,872
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    19,872
    12,831
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Running dGB I've done it the other way - everything that doesn't have to be in /system has been moved out. Heck, I don't even have a vending.apk in /system/app.

    It should work, but you know my motto about nandroids before trying these things ('cos it's in your sig! :))
     
  16. spile

    spile Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    424
    44
    43
    On my old Desire I have set the following options in S2e:
    Applications - ticked
    Private apps - ticked
    Application Data - ticked
    Dalvik cache - ticked
    Download cache - un ticked

    Settings - Only Mount as Ext4 ticked

    I now have 143Mb of internal storage available out of 148Mb and performance is no different to what I had previously before S2e was installed.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...