1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Making a second backup

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Roush, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. Roush

    Roush Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    30
    2
    16
    Just rooted, and loving it! I'm using Liquid Thunderbread 2.6, and now I'm trying to fix my GPS. I found a fix involving flashing a sense UI, locking down the GPS, then going back to Liquid Thunderbread. My only question is, if I make a new backup, with my first one still be there? How do you choose between them in Revolutionary?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    Your backups are timestamped for the name. So if you make a backup now and another tomorrow they will be named slightly different.

    I can tell you how to choose between them when restoring in recovery, if you make a backup of LTB, flash a sense rom, get a GPS lock, and want to restore LTB you would choose the most recent timestamp on the backup.

    I am not aware of using Revolutionary for anything other than rooting.
     
  3. brizey

    brizey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    591
    120
    93
    IIRC, Revolutionary flashes TWRP.
     
  4. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I'm pretty sure I remember seeing it flashes a custom CWM
     
  5. Roush

    Roush Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    30
    2
    16
    If anyone cares, I successfully made a second backup, then I followed these directions

    how to fix GPS not turning on CM7

    After flashing [7.03.11][ROM] BAMF Sense 3.0 GB RC4, using the gps in Navigation application, and restoring my 2.6 Liquid, my gps works perfectly fine now. I get a weird launcher crash after I start the phone, but when I force close it re opens and everything is fine.
     
  6. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    913
    Posts:
    10,474
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,474
    4,694
    913
    ...
    FG
    Glad it worked for you. I suggest on your next flash you wipe /system that may fix the launcher crash you are getting, more than likely there are some parts of your old /system that are causing some issues and that should fix it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...