1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

making an incredible app

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by firozu, Feb 9, 2011.

1. firozu

firozu Lurker

Ok so im a computer engineer in my senior year of college and for my senior design class i will be making an android app that connects to a cars obdII port.

So far there are a few out there that do a very good job at reading quite a few things from the cars ecu, however i have yet to see one that can actually mimic a programmer and change teh ecu map.

In other words id like to be able to change the timing of the car via the ecu and a few other things :)

I have been look near and far to try and figure out how to go about doing this any help will be greatly appreciated. If you could point me in a good direction to go in. Ive found enough info to be able to read data and do a few other things but not to be able to change anything

thanks alot in advance! :)

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. firozu

firozu Lurker

any ideas?

3. SirSupra

SirSupra Lurker

I know u haven't posted anything yet. But I do have an idea because I am in need also. U want to tune a motor look into doing like a mapecu program and also figure on the mapecu hardwhere. It comes with an in car computer the piggybacks to the ecu to only change a few things. If u can mimic the mapecu and the programs it run's I sware u will make ur money hand over fist. Ull need some suddelcanges and u can't use the name map ecu but if u provide both the program and a detail list of parts to get then ull have a high priced item. I'm looking for the program bc I want a touch screen in my car not a lap top. The touch screen in the dash = sexy.. lol so android is the way to go since only one windows based touch screen tab is on the market that I know of. Well mesage me back thanks and ill like to know what uve already ben able to do to. It may be helpful.

4. mjs2011

mjs2011 Member