1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Making my own ringtones...

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by chaosphere33, May 7, 2010.

  1. chaosphere33

    chaosphere33 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    Video/Audio Engineer
    Massachusetts
    I going to want to make my own ringtones soon, and I am wondering what everyone recommends is the BEST or better way for me to get my music onto my phone and storing it. For example... is it better to put music on my phone with the music app, clip and cut my ring tone in that app and store my tones that way.. or is it better to clip up a song on my computer using something like Audacity and then send it to my phone via Bluetooth or USB Tethered? and if I did do it that way, where would I store it on the phone, folder, some in depth storage preference? I am a new Smart phone user, so I am looking for the best way to store my ring tones on the phone without making it bogged down and the best way to make my tone and transferring it to my phone.

    Any suggestions useful!! :)

    Thank You!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Chroma

    Chroma Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    369
    25
    43
    Here's what I do.

    I edit my clip using Audacity, and export it as an mp3. ( I use the computer because I'm very picky about my ringtones, since there's the possibility other people will hear it. )

    If your going to do it this way, you'll need to do the following: (or very similar)

    -Mount your sdcard through your phone or a card reader.
    -Make a folder called anything, I call mine "Ringtones" for easy reference.
    -Drag your new tones into this folder and unmount the card.
    -Navigate to the new tone, (On your phone, I do this using Astro File Manager.)
    -Tap on it and it'll open in the "Music" app.
    -Then in Music>Options, there should be the option to set as ringtone.

    I prefer to make my ringtone folder on the top level of the sdcard away from any subfolders, again, I'm just picky.
     
  3. chaosphere33

    chaosphere33 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    Video/Audio Engineer
    Massachusetts
    I am bit confused. When I tried this, and mounted my phone to my Apple, two drives appear on the desktop and im not sure where exactly to drag the music file on those drives, and where it will end up on the phone. I tried a few different options and seemed to get lost somewhere. So far your directions were pretty helpful! :p
     
  4. Chroma

    Chroma Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    369
    25
    43
    What phone are you using? I wonder if one is internal memory and one is your sdcard. Check the sizes of both volumes, the one that matches your sdcard size is, obviously, your sdcard.

    Turn off your phone, before pulling out your card when you check the size label thats printed on the card.

    4 or 8GB are pretty much the standard size cards that ship with phones.

    To verify, your plugging in your phone to the mac with the usb cable, then pulling down the notification bar and mounting the phone to your computer?

    The other option is to turn off the phone and remove the card and put the card into a card reader if you have one. If your like me you'll have a ziplock bag just full of sdcards and accessories:p

    **edit** I see you have the incredible, and I looked and some people are having problems with win 7 and the included sync program. (?) The safest/fastest thing to do is to use a card reader, i guess, and bypass the phone.
     
  5. chaosphere33

    chaosphere33 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    8
    0
    25
    Video/Audio Engineer
    Massachusetts
    O really? Whats win 7? and there is a syncing issue and pulling and putting things on and off the phone when mounted? Hmm..jeeze, well I am going to try your solutions and some of my own and when I get it, I will inform you.

    Thank You once again! Oh btw... I am the same with ziplocks and storing items, except I do it with all my audio and video gear ( I am an audio/video engineer, haha).
     
  6. Chroma

    Chroma Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    369
    25
    43
    win 7=Windows 7

    Let us know if you get this to work, or have any problems
     
  7. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Yes, use audacity. You can also use effects to make it LOUDER.
     

Share This Page

Loading...