1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Manually Update to 1.5, No Root Required

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by phandroid, May 19, 2009.

  1. phandroid

    phandroid Admin News Bot
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,396
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008

    Apr 12, 2008
    10,396
    382
    663
    Thanks to a tip off from one of our Android Forums posters, Superatim, U.S. users can download and install the already released UK version of Android OS 1.5 (cupcake). You will be giving up some of the U.S. features of 1.5, but will gain them back once the U.S. version of 1.5 is [...]

    More...
     

    Advertisement

  2. killer3160

    killer3160 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008

    Oct 25, 2008
    90
    1
    16
    is it easy to reflash to v1.1 for when us 1.5 comes out if so can u tell me how i would do it
     
  3. killer3160

    killer3160 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008

    Oct 25, 2008
    90
    1
    16
    oh k so i can just go from uk 1.5 to us 1.5? or will i need to take some extra steps?
    also is there any way i would be able to go back to rc33 cause my fave is not working with the uk 1.5 >.<
     
  4. theevilone

    theevilone Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008

    Aug 30, 2008
    34
    3
    16
    Everything working. Thank You. The Market is working on G1, just downloaded an app.
     
  5. killer3160

    killer3160 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008

    Oct 25, 2008
    90
    1
    16
    u might want to double check that cause uk t-mobile doesn't have MyFaves
     
  6. theevilone

    theevilone Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008

    Aug 30, 2008
    34
    3
    16
    Everything that I use works, I have no friends so never use myfavs and contacts. LOL
     
  7. strabes

    strabes Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    All features seem to be working for me. I haven't come across anything that isn't working, but I don't use myfaves. I've installed several apps and widgets from the market. The youtube app is seeing my account just fine.
     
  8. jimczyz

    jimczyz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008

    Oct 14, 2008
    129
    4
    36
    Just installed and everything is working just great!
     
  9. ram100987

    ram100987 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008

    Sep 26, 2008
    82
    2
    16
    I'm assuming it will not automatically update from UK1.5 to US1.5 when it becomes available and I will have to update it manually with the zip file. But once I update and am running US 1.5 will the next update the comes out down the road should it update automatically or will I have to manually update from then on if I make a manual update?
     
  10. jimczyz

    jimczyz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008

    Oct 14, 2008
    129
    4
    36
    Once you manually update back to 1.5 US, you should get it automatically afterwards.
     
  11. stevenroose

    stevenroose Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 21, 2009

    May 21, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    when I now update this way, will I receive following updates regularly?

    thanks
     
  12. strabes

    strabes Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Probably after this week you should hard reset and let the phone manually update to the US version of 1.5. Note: I really have no idea what I'm talking about; this is just what I'm planning to do at the end of next week.
     

Share This Page

Loading...