1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Many Apps SUPER Slow after ICS Install; Help!?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by beenr271, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. beenr271

    beenr271 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    83
    4
    16
    I installed ICS on my Thunderbolt yesterday. As soon as the install finished, I did a hard reboot as I always do after firmware updates, and every so often I do a hard reboot as well.

    Once I started using my phone, I noticed that many apps are super slow now. When I click my Messages (Txts), FaceBook, and some other apps, it will go to a BLACK screen for approximately 8 seconds before opening up the app. 8 seconds doesn't seem like a long time, but I'm used to clicking the icon and the app immediately opening. 8 seconds looking at a black screen is not desirable. :(

    Note that I haven't added any new apps.. everything is the same as when I had the last firmware, so it's not like anything changed. It was running super fast prior to the ICS install yesterday. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Anyone else have this issue and able to fix??

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Bhelios

    Bhelios Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    173
    31
    43
    Uncanny Valley
    Just a hard reboot? When HTC's Rezound jumped up to ICS, a factory reset was needed. Lots of people had tons of problems after updating to ICS -- and the problems were all eradicated by doing a full factory reset.
     
  3. beenr271

    beenr271 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    83
    4
    16
    Will I lose everything?!? Please tell me more about the factory reset. I don't want to lose all of my apps.. :(
     
  4. Mayhem

    Mayhem Android Expert
    Rank:
     #191
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    888
    152
    123
    Male
    Senior Engineer - Software Quality Assurance
    Austin, Texas area
    A factory reset will take your phone back to how it was when you initially opened the package (with the exception of having ICS of course). You'll have to re-install all of the applications you had installed before.
     
  5. beenr271

    beenr271 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    83
    4
    16
    Thanks. I just noticed my HuluPlus app will no longer play videos either. :(
     
  6. droidsmurf

    droidsmurf Member
    Rank:
     #1,539
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    41
    6
    16
    SE USA
    My Plume and APW Facebook widgets are working really slow. Had another interesting problem when trying to call home using a contacts shortcut folder. Press my home contact, nothing, thought maybe it didn't catch it, pressed again, nothing. Pressed HARDER (yeah, I know LOL), hit another contact number. Got frustrated and open the phone app and selected my home number from the recently called list. Finally went through. About 30secs into talking with my wife, my phone put the current call on hold and called my home again. Disconnected both. Called wife back and hung up. Started down the road and got to a light, decided to check my voicemail. As soon as I hit the voicemail number, my phone called home again, then called the other number I hit, then called home again, then voicemail. My TB almost became a spot on the road. Hard reset and hopefully things will calm down.
     
    mmatessa likes this.
  7. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #242
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    872
    205
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    For those experiencing sluggishness since the update, a factory reset should help. Also, if you will be patient and give it a day to "settle in" it will get snappy again. I have a Bionic and that was the case with my ICS update (my daughter has a TB, that's why I'm in here.) I eventually did a Factory Reset, but that was because I just wanted to start over, but after a day things were very smooth and snappy. I updated my daughter's phone yesterday and she thinks its already smoother and snappier, but I could still see some sluggishness on the phone.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  8. beenr271

    beenr271 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    83
    4
    16
    HuluPlus fixed my issue on their end. All of issues were fixed without the dreaded factory reset. Contact Hulu Support and they can fix HuluPlus streaming.

    I also cleared all my browser cache and my txt messages and that helped too.
     
  9. beenr271

    beenr271 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    83
    4
    16
    Mine did the same thing. I still have issues with the direct dial icons on occasion. Frustrating. But not frustrating enough go do a factory reset!
     
  10. Metroid Prime

    Metroid Prime Oil Can!!! Oil Can!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    9,110
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    9,110
    2,921
    443
    Male
    Learning web development
    Texas
    Factory reset helps right after an OTA update. Did it on my device yesterday.
     
  11. Funderbolt

    Funderbolt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    221
    13
    38
    Male
    engineer
    Va
    And you lose all your apps and all your data, and have to start completely over?
     
  12. mmatessa

    mmatessa Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013

    Oct 2, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I did a cache wipe then a factory reset on my HTC Thunderbolt. Neither helped and I'm still having the minute-long dialing lag described above.
     
  13. Whatstreet

    Whatstreet Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    251
    38
    43
    Male
    Engineer
    Fremont, CA
    I had the dialing lag after the OS update. I did a factory reset and reloaded all my apps from the app store. Nothing was kept from backup files. This fixed my lag issue and though the phone isn't as snappy as the day I got it, it is usable now while right after the update it wasn't.

    It is inconvenient to do a factory reset because I lost all my files and had to repeat all my customization but at least the phone is usable now.
     
  14. droidsmurf

    droidsmurf Member
    Rank:
     #1,539
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    41
    6
    16
    SE USA
    Sorry to hear. I ended up moving on to the Galaxy S4 when my 2 yr upgrade cycle ended. Never did figure out how to resolve this issue on my TB.
     
  15. markdoc

    markdoc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #184
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    560
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    560
    154
    133
    Male
    Retired Dentist
    New York City, NY, USA
    Unfortunately, IMHO, you can't. For some unknown reason, some phones were hit harder than others. I did a factory reset on my Tbolt also. It improved a little for a few days then got slower & slower again. After speaking to HTC & Verizon support, there is no fix.(except maybe to root) The Tbolt's hardware cannot handle the version of ICS that was sent out. Sorry.
    PS: I switched to an HTC Droid DNA and I'm happy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...