• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Many problems after Android 12 update

aramkolesar

Lurker
Dec 14, 2021
Hi all,

Advance warning: I am very new with Android and don't really know what I'm doing.

I recently got a Google Pixel 3 XL and had no issues for a while. I think I must have accidentally allowed the OS to upgrade because the look of my phone lock screen and several other things changed one day. I am currently using Android 12.

At the same time that the update happened, I started encountering lots of issues:
  • Chrome crashes immediately upon opening.
  • Cannot search in the Play Store (endless loading circle)
  • Play Store says I need to log into Google Account. When I tap the icon for my account in the upper left hand corner and hit "Manage Account," I get endless loading circle.
  • Cannot search in YouTube Music (endless loading circle)
  • Cannot add new Calendar reminders (tapping Save does nothing)
  • Cannot clear old Calendar reminders
  • Missing notifications and according to one of my contacts, texts sent but never received
I have run Malwarebytes and it did not find anything. I tried clearing the cache for Play Store but it did not do anything. Some apps run fine.

Please let me know if you need any other information.

it might have been either a bad install of the update or a bad download of the update. it happens from time to time. i would do a factory reset and that should fix your issue. keep in mind that data will be erased so backup accordingly.

That makes sense. How might I go about backing up my photos, etc.? Instructions I found online said that I might need to download an app to make my phone transfer data to my Linux desktop. Because the Play Store is not working, I can't do that. Any way I can revert to an earlier OS version? Or can I just wait until the next update comes out?

Upvote 0