1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Map update draining battery?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Flying_Hellfish, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    Ever since the update a few days ago Google Maps is 2nd on my battery list and it looks like it isn't allowing my phone to sleep. Maps is 14% phone idle is 7% and it drops off from there.

    Anyone else seeing this issue? I thought it might have to do with the weather widgets that I have using geolocation but I turned that off and I'm using the actual zip and it is still happening.
     

    Advertisement

  2. iron_city

    iron_city Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010

    Nov 5, 2010
    89
    35
    23
    I got the same update, but Google Maps isn't even on the page for using the battery.

    If you have Android System Info installed, check the log for any errors (bright red). GM might be trying to access something that's not there, uninstalled, etc.
     
  3. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    amazing I haven't seen system info before. I'm grabbing it now and will start digging.
     
  4. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    Happened again this morning with no errors in any log. It only shows 3s of cpu time but 18% of the battery used since unplugged 2 hours ago.
     
  5. iron_city

    iron_city Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010

    Nov 5, 2010
    89
    35
    23
    Check the market, because Google Maps had another update like a day after the first one. Did you get both?

    EDIT: 18% battery is unusual for maps, IMO
     
  6. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    Yeah, I grabbed both. I confirmed it is maps draining the battery via spare parts. It has a partial wake lock on the phone. It was fine all morning after I FQ maps but now it is open again and causing another wake lock.

    It is unusual, I have never seen this and I monitor my battery almost on a daily basis because I'm OCD about it. When I quit it this morning it dropped down the list and now it is back at the top right under display for battery usage.
     
  7. allambition

    allambition Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

  8. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    I actually uninstalled and reinstalled maps as well as opened latitude and unchecked most of the auto location items there. I never use latitude but I did see a few posts from within the last month spread across the internet that said latitude was causing partial wake locks. I will be testing over the next few days to see if there is any change.
     
  9. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    It's baaaaaaaack. 18% usage since unpluged an hour ago. Also is still causing a partial wake lock. I force quit it again and will be monitoring for maps to drop. I guess it is time to start uninstalling programs to see if I can pinpoint what is doing it.
     
  10. inphoenix

    inphoenix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    152
    29
    63
    in Phoenix. Duh!
    A factory reset may be in order for you. I know it's a bit extreme but it did resolve my similar issue a while back.
     
  11. Flying_Hellfish

    Flying_Hellfish Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    612
    65
    78
    Illinois
    bleh, factory reset. If I'm going to go that far I may as well sbf then re apply ApeX just to get a fully clean install. I will probably do that this weekend if I can find the time and the issue is persistent.

    I pulled off Lookout as that is the only thing I could think that would be re-opening maps on it's own for location information at this point.
     

Share This Page

Loading...