1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Market Apps missing - aka - how to save/restore your apps to the HTC EVO 3D

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MobileES, Jun 22, 2011.

  1. MobileES

    MobileES Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    56
    7
    26
    Female
    In the Studio
    Going from the EVO 4G to the 3D, I noticed I am missing some apps that I downloaded before. Do you have to download them again or will they take a few hours to show up? I know I had a Cardio app that had about 2 months of data saved.......didn't want to lose that.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jcunwired

    jcunwired Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    82
    40
    23
    Semanticweb
    Virginia
    You should be missing all of them. Only stock Google/Sprint/HTC apps should be there, everything else needs to be reinstalled (unless backed up).

    My recommendation - once you get the phone set up as before, sign up on Appbrain website and manage your apps through it. Priceless at times like this.
     
    marctronixx and MobileES like this.
  3. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    Yup you have to redownload and install. I saved time by going to Android Market on my computer via browser, logging in and then clicking on my library. From there you can select the App and then Select the Device and install and it pushes the app to your phone and installs for you. It is fast, I would go into Store Account settings and name your device HTC EVO 3D.
     
  4. bobby2478

    bobby2478 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    294
    82
    53
    Male
    MN
    My assumption would be that since you're moving to a new device, you'll need to re-download and re-install all your apps. Any data you want from your 4G would need to be backed up and copied over to your new device also.
     
    marctronixx and MobileES like this.
  5. MobileES

    MobileES Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    56
    7
    26
    Female
    In the Studio
    Thanks everyone for the help. I still have the EVO 4G active (wifi) so I will check out app-brain or another app that will backup/save info/restore apps. I don't remember if I had to do this going from the Hero to the Evo......
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Also go to http://market.android.com

    If everything on your phone was just normal, it has a record of your previous installs - you can simply re-send them to your new phone (it goes by phone number).

    (This is basically a re-hash of sikclown's advice if the AppBrain.com thing doesn't work out for you.)
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  7. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    One thing I noticed with the official market...There are some apps that are installed on my phone, that indicate they aren't installed on my phone.

    I still back up all my apps with Appbrain because of this.
     
    marctronixx and EarlyMon like this.
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yep - once it got your list borked it never really got better - didn't happen to everyone - just you and me, drex! :)

    no, others too, i kid, i kid
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  9. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Hahaha...Glad I'm not the only one, EarlyMon. Then again, maybe it's because we got the early versions of the EVO 4G? I dunno. Never bothered to even trouble shoot because Appbrain still worked just fine (although, the Execute Changes button doesn't seem to actually connect and install the updates like it seems to on the Epic and Optimus S that I have on my secondary lines).
     
  10. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Originally, this Market bug borked it for everyone. Then, it seemed the fixes came in waves. I think it hit the earlier phones hardest. My wife got her Shift after the Market was online and she's having none of these issues.
     
  11. ArtGuy

    ArtGuy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    118
    14
    38
    Tomorrow I pickup my new 3D and am trading up from my old EVO 4G. I get email, calendar, etc. via our Exchange Server, so that should not be a problem in terms of re syncing all of that. All of my music and pictures are on the SD card, so again, no problem there. But... How'z about all my apps? Is there any way to transfer those, or will I have to re-download them all? And I do have to re download, is there a way to at least save a listing of the apps that I currently have without having to hand-write each one down?

    Thanks,
    Brad
     
  12. jcunwired

    jcunwired Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    82
    40
    23
    Semanticweb
    Virginia
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    You can get an account at AppBrain.com to ensure you have your apps registered there for quick restore (assuming the Market doesn't have all of your apps listed, an early bug) - or you might try to just back up your apps with Astro File Manager (they'll go to an astro backup folder on your sd card) and restore from there. Or both.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  14. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    marctronixx likes this.
  15. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    I wish we had a soft root to use Titanium Backup :(
     
    marctronixx and EarlyMon like this.
  16. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Ja wohl.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  17. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
     #74
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    BTW,

    For apps that you have on your old phone that are no longer listed on the Android Market, you can just get the .apk from the original phone and stick it on the SD card of your new phone. Then, if you enabled the ability to install 3rd party apps, you can install the apk from the SD card.

    @drexappeal: i forget if it was you I was talking to, but I found out my weather app that's no longer on the market is called "Weather Forecast." I had to copy it from my Evo. I think it's the same app you (or someone else) were talking about. I use the 4x1 widget with clock on left and weather on right.
     
    drexappeal and marctronixx like this.
  18. treven21

    treven21 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    214
    46
    43
    Do you know the folder the apk's are saved? So I can snag them and move to the EVO 3D?

     
  19. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    APKs you download/install should be in /data/app

    System/Preloaded APKs are in /system/app
     
    marctronixx and treven21 like this.
  20. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
     #74
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    /system/app

    /data/app
     
    marctronixx and treven21 like this.
  21. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Yup! That's the same one I have! I think the developer still had it on the market, but it's a "paid" app and super expensive now.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  22. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,420
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    By the way - using Astro, menu, tools -> backup manager ... simply lists all, system and downloaded. Select at will, backup from there.
     
    marctronixx, ArtGuy and drexappeal like this.
  23. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    2,314
    329
    163
    Resource Consumer
    San Diego
    Wow... I find this to be second nature at this point. Almost forgot not everybody flashes ROMs all that often from this forum.

    Yea, appbrain is a good way to back up everything easily, granted it's in the market is the only requirement. If you have something that's no longer in the market, you'll need to use something like app monster to save the (.apk) file.




    Also, all the stuff you paid for will be remembered in your list due to them being tied to your gmail account.
     
    marctronixx and EarlyMon like this.
  24. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Thanks, EarlyMon. So Astro will allow me to backup all the apk's that are on the phone storage? I had Astro when I first got my EVO, but switched to another file manager.
     
  25. ArtGuy

    ArtGuy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

    Jun 11, 2010
    118
    14
    38
    Just downloaded it and ran the backup. I'll tell you tomorrow if it was successful or not. But all looks to be well.:)

    Thanks for the tip!

    -Brad
     
    marctronixx and EarlyMon like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...