1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Market doesn't work

Discussion in 'Other Androids' started by Crodps, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. Crodps

    Crodps Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Hi everyone!
    My first post here.
    I have looked all over but I haven't found a solution for this.
    My android device came without the Market application installed.
    So, naturally I went and searched for an installation file.
    I found one, installed it no problem.
    But when I try to run it, it shows a white screen with the word "Loading" in the middle for about half a second and then it disappears.
    I could guess that this might be because this app is not compatible with my device....
    Hence, is there a way to properly install/reinstall the market?
    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. thatperson

    thatperson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011

    Jan 4, 2011
    102
    12
    38
    Corry, Pa
    We need to know what device you are using to help you more with your problem. Are you using a phone or tablet? What version of Android do you have?
     
  3. Crodps

    Crodps Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Hi!
    My unit is an Android TV set top box, which is really like a tablet for your tv.
    It runs android v2.2, kernel 2.6.32.9.
    Please let me know if you need more info.
    Thanks in advance!
     
  4. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,226
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,226
    11,660
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
  5. Crodps

    Crodps Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Hi!
    Thanks for your reply.
    Yes, this STB came from China, although it isn't the one from that video.
    This seems to be a more refined version with a 1Ghz processor; WiFi; Bluetooth; etc.
    So how do I know if this unit has been Google "certified"?
    is there a way that I can try to certify this unit myself?
    Thanks again!
     
  6. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,053
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Moving this to the Google TV forum as that seems to be the most similar (unless you want the thread in the "Other Androids" forum, although it is quite dead over there)
     
  7. Crodps

    Crodps Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Hmm..
    Perhaps moving it diminishes my chances of getting an answer?
    Specially since this seems to be an "Android" issue and not "Google TV" (which is not what I have...) :thinking:
     
  8. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,053
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Please read my previous post and let me know if you would like this thread to be moved to the Other Androids forum.
     
  9. Droika

    Droika Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hi all,
    I just saw the post above, can you pleas elaborate on "Devices have to be approved and certified to a certain specification by Google 'With Google' for them to have the Market" where can I find more information on that

    Thanks!
     
  10. dogsb

    dogsb Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011

    May 5, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    An 'approved' Android device has an in-built id number issued I assume by google. The first thing you have to do to get market working is setup (if you don't already have one) a gmail account - this associates the device id with your gmail account and market works. e.g. I have a HTC desire and never had a problem.
    I recently bought a chinese 'flytouch clone' this is a non 'approved' device and hence market does not work (they have installed a clone market but, this only lists apps etc that are not approved for google market). To get around this problem you need to follow this : Fix Market For Slates - Wiki I have followed the instructions but, unfortunately my 'clone' will not allow me to connect to it via wifi, lan or USB as the debug enable option does not exist. Check you can connect to the device as per the article before attempting to copy or generate an ID - hope this helps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...