1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Market goofiness

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by brotherswing, Jan 15, 2012.

  1. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    So the market has been goofy for months now, I've tried reflashing, flashing as a fresh install, flashing as an update. The problem is many of my installed apps don't show as installed in the market. The only reason I care is updates don't show, I have to manually go through about twenty or so apps, pull up their market page, and see if there is an update. I've been doing this for about six months now. Anybody else have this problem?
     

    Advertisement

  2. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Lots of people on many different phones have reported such issues with the newer versions of the Market.
     
  3. weddle

    weddle Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    368
    34
    63
    Male
    independent subcontractor
    PA
    I don't have to go to every single page, but sometimes I'll have to go to "my apps" and an update or two will be there that I didn't know about
     
  4. G19

    G19 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    648
    102
    93
    Sometimes I look under my apps in market and it shows many of my installed apps as being not installed. If I restart my phone that usually fixes the problem. Are the apps you have problems with on the phone or sd card or both?
     
  5. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Both. This has been a persistent issue across reboots, flashes, battery tricks, and at least two versions of market. Doesn't matter where the app is installed. I was just wondering if anyone else has this problem.
     
  6. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    That's why I've never pestered you about it.
     
  7. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    I go into manage apps then clear data then reopen it if it doesn't work I try again sometimes I reboot as well. Sometimes it takes a couple tries. Sometimes after clearing the data I also open and close market a few times.
     
  8. G19

    G19 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    648
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011

    Sep 17, 2011
    648
    102
    93
    It's odd because other than the minor thing I described earlier I've never had an issue with market
     
  9. ilovefarts

    ilovefarts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    114
    4
    56
    www.cruizing.com
    arizona
    There has been several threads on this issue. I've find what works best is if you go into your app manager and clear cache and all that jazz. After that reopen the market and most of the time the apps show up. If that doesn't work, try searching for an app that you have installed inside your market. sometimes that works for me.

    Anyone know the answer why this happens? Contact the developers of the ROM
     
  10. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    Jerry who commented is the developer
     
  11. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    I know about clearing the cache and data, I just never bothered because I know it's just putting a band-aid on it. I was kinda hoping someone knew what caused it. Oh well, I've lived with it this long. :rolleyes: I can keep living with it.
     
  12. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL

    Just for you. ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  13. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    That's brilliant!
     
  14. ilovefarts

    ilovefarts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    114
    4
    56
    www.cruizing.com
    arizona
    Haha! Anyone watch Simpsons last night? "my favorite game it's angry nerds"

    Too continue with the topic, the way I look at the market issue is that's a minor bothersome. If you are looking for a smooth bug free fix to your issue, maybe flashing a custom ROM isn't for you. I'm sure the developers appreciate the feed back though.

    Who are all the developers who make up the iho backside mod crew?
     
  15. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    That would be JerryScript. I never said I expect smooth, trouble free performance. I was just wondering if someone knew what caused it. This isn't something that will make me change roms or anything.
     
  16. ilovefarts

    ilovefarts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    114
    4
    56
    www.cruizing.com
    arizona
    sorry if I came across rude, I want trying to be. I'm still getting over the packers losing yesterday. Where are my meds?
     
  17. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    The developers of IHO at this time are:
    Blarf aka the originator of IHO
    BobZhome (we pretty much all use his kernel now)
    JerryScript (that's me :))
    LeslieAnn
    mrg666
    tdm
    thekraven
    And of course the entire CM team, and everyone who tests things out for us!

    The best people to throw out some comments/complaints would be the Google team, since the Market is their app. ;)
     
    riggerman1 and brotherswing like this.
  18. ilovefarts

    ilovefarts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    114
    4
    56
    www.cruizing.com
    arizona
    Thanks!
     
  19. benslgdroid

    benslgdroid rockstar
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    2,568
    859
    213
    Male
    production assistant (pa), graphic artist
    Magrathea
    I had read recently, but don't remember where, that Google knows of issues with restored apps and have been working on it.
     
  20. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Restored apps are the only ones affected? I never noticed!
     
  21. Michael323

    Michael323 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    72
    26
    43
    Baltimore, Maryland
    It probably doesn't get used very often, but the Help menu item in the Market allows you to report issues.

    Press Help -> Android Apps -> Help Resources -> Contacting Us -> Market on my phone or tablet

    You can select the type of issue (e. g. Downloading/installing apps). It also asks you to specify your phone model, and a free text field is provided to add additional information.
     
    brotherswing and JerryScript like this.
  22. Michael323

    Michael323 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011

    Jun 24, 2011
    72
    26
    43
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Google provided me with the following response. Some of this is standard stuff, but other instructions are things I haven't tried, but will if I have problems again.

    ================================================

    It's a pleasure to read your note and assist you today. I recommend the following troubleshooting steps to resolve the issue:

    - Uninstall Market updates (Home > Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage applications > All > Market > Uninstall updates)

    This will revert Android Market to the original version that came with your device. Android Market should automatically self-update to the current version within a few days - there's no way to permanently uninstall Market updates. However, you can perform the following steps to ensure the latest version of Android Market is updated properly:

    1. Launch Android Market
    2. Switch to the Home screen
    3. Wait 5-10 minutes for Market to self-update
    4. Re-launch Market

    - Clear the Download Manager cache and data (Home > Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage applications > All > Download manager > Clear cache and Clear data)
    - Clear the Market cache and data (Home > Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage applications > All > Market > Clear cache and Clear data)
    - Reboot your device
    - Sign in and out of Google Talk repeatedly to restore connection to our servers:

    1. Go to your device
     
  23. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Great info. Will earmark your post in case someone else needs this info to fix their update.

    Thanks.
     
    Michael323 likes this.
  24. Leslie Ann

    Leslie Ann Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,427
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    1,427
    893
    213
    I.T. Consultant
    I'm sorry, I may not be the best dev, but I do have a clue about networking and how some of these apps work and that is the biggest bunch of nonsense.

    Sign in and out repeatedly?
    What is this supposed to accomplish? You either get connected to their server or you don't.

    Worse, the Market server is NOT the same server as Talk. The authentication server most likely, but not the apps or the market itself. Even if they somehow are, signing in and out isn't going to suddenly make it work anyway. It's like going to your refrigerator and opening the door 10 times in a row expecting the empty milk jug to suddenly be full.

    What is the definition of insanity? Doing the same thing over and over expecting a different result.




    What this really is doing, is while you were busy signing in and out of another app, odds are they will have corrected the problem with the Market.

    DSL companies are notorious for this.
    "First let's reset your modem", meanwhile their techs are in the server room rebooting the server. Your modem resets and amazingly, everything works again, imagine that! This is the same thing Virgin help does when they say "wait 24 hours" after they "activate the special Android service plan". You older OV owners may remember that one.
     
    a5pe4 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...