1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Market issues after official OTA 2.2?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by trentmh, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. trentmh

    trentmh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    After some hassle and a factory reset, my phone finally booted into 2.2. The first thing I noticed though in regards to the market is that homerun battle is not listed. Anyone else have this issue? Is there a fix?
     

    Advertisement

  2. neggie

    neggie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    127
    22
    38
    im missing a few i paid for
    astro pro -paid version
    documents to go Key
    atilt 3d labryinth
    g4tv
     
  3. Doubledee90

    Doubledee90 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    My market wont work!!!!! It keeps saying there are connection errors, or its super super slow
     
  4. Doubledee90

    Doubledee90 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    I had the leaked 2.2 and used SPF and got 2.1 the installed the official OTA. Not my market will not work at all. I always get "A network error has occurred. Retry, or cancel and return to the previous screen." Does anyone know what I can do to fix this, I want my apps back!
     
  5. liewbob

    liewbob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    56
    3
    16
    Biz Dev Consultant
    Piscataway, NJ
    I had a similar problem and fixed it by running "Fix Permissions" in ROM Manager.
     
  6. cdtdelta

    cdtdelta Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    38
    2
    16
    I've noticed that I'm back to some apps not showing up in the market:

    Skype (the Verizon one)
    LogMeIn Ignition
    Navy Clock II

    I'm thinking of replacing the build.prop with the one that I was using on the leaked version, but I was waiting to see if anyone else was having issues.
     
  7. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    Same here. Docs2go key, NY Times, Astro Pro, a couple sudoku games. Son of a .... Why didn't Verizon resolve this ahead of time. How hard is it to correctly port our version of Android to the market?!
     
  8. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    My Astro Pro is not showing up for me either. Bummer.
     
  9. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    Someone sticky this thread and forward it to Motorola, Google and Verizon immediately!
     
  10. RichSz

    RichSz Not Entitled
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,086
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,086
    1,173
    313
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Between Imladris and Lothl
    I believe I need to root to do that, correct?
     
  11. cdtdelta

    cdtdelta Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    38
    2
    16
    Well I went through tonight and replaced the build.prop from 2.2 with the one that was put out to fix the market issues with the leaked 2.2 build....well what do you know Apps are showing up again!

    I can see all the apps that I was missing before...and in order to fix it (talking to YOU MOTOROLA) I had to ROOT THE PHONE AND REPLACE A FILE YOU PUT THERE.

    Good job, obviously put a lot of testing into this delayed release.....

    So for those of you having Market issues, the one way to fix it is to root your OTA 2.2 phone, search the forums for the build.prop thread, and replace your build.prop file with the market fix one from that topic.

    (this didn't bother me as much until I realized I was missing an actual app I paid for)
     
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Wow crazy you had to go through that.

    Im missing some apps, and unable to find others like HistoryEraser and Fandango upon just doing a search. :rolleyes:
     
  13. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    Doesn't rooting your phone eliminate you from future android OS upgrades? ...not to mention any apparently upgrades in the market for protected files? Or is that just for custom ROMs?
     
  14. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    A thread on Motorola Forums details this further. One user suggests that the Market has caught up but I haven't witnessed this yet. My fingers are crossed....
     
  15. cdtdelta

    cdtdelta Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    38
    2
    16
    I saw that post this morning too. Now I'm wondering if my build.prop file will get updated.

    Of course I don't care at this point, everything is working again....
     
  16. trentmh

    trentmh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    I just checked the market again and I still can't see Homerun Battle 3D NOR Slingplayer Mobile, both paid applications. I'm going to call VZW this afternoon and have a discussion.
     
  17. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Let me know what they say please. Im having issues as well.

    I am unable to get my paid version of Astro File Manager.

    Running a search for the Fandango and History Eraser app proves to be fruitless. Can anyone else see if they can search find and install these apps?

    Also, i did do a factory reset yesterday. Maybe I should try another?

    Thanks guys.
     
  18. HotLZ

    HotLZ Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    25
    1
    16
    Don't bother doing another reset, it won't help. Still missing Slingplayer as well.
     
  19. supbtsup

    supbtsup Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    missing verizon fios mobile remote, first one i noticed but we'll see what else is missing over time. which build.prop did you use. did you use any of the pixel density ones. is there a way to backup my old build.prop. (I am rooted, where is it located)

    Ben
     
  20. nycebo

    nycebo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    520
    45
    68
    New York, NY
    Resolved this afternoon. The missing apps miraculously appear. Alright! One bug down.
     
    Trooper and supbtsup like this.
  21. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    Mine is back too. I had a busy day at work and was not able to post back.

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...