1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Market keep telling me of update when I uninstall the app.

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Bryan84, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. Bryan84

    Bryan84 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    77
    1
    36
    Student
    Singapore
    Recently there was an updated version of Android Terminal Emulator by Jack Palevich, the free one from Market. But I was unable to install it as it always prompt me "Insufficient Memory". I've more than 100MB free internal memory (using App2sd) and over 5GB free on my SDcard. But it just refuse to let me install. So I tried downloading the apk too and install it using a root manager, but the installation also failed.

    So I decided to give up on the app and remove the app. But yet Market still prompts me for an update (and my phone refuse to let me install it). I done a search on "jack" using my root manager to delete all files related with the app and even clear up all apps cache... but still Market prompts me!

    What should I do to either:

    1. Get this app to install successfully
    or
    2. Remove this app "cleanly"
    or
    3. Stop Market from showing me an "Update" for this app when it's already not in my phone?

    Phone: Moto Milestone
    Firmware: 2.1-update1

    Thanks a lot for your help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    Android holds copy of the installation package in cache, even if you uninstall it (its little bit weird), probably therefore it finds updates for this application (even if its not installed). You can delete the Market cache (Settings/Applications/Manage applications/Market and "Clear cache"), the cache should be also cleaned during phone restart. After clearing the cache, updates for this "not installed" application shouldn't be checked anymore and it will be possible to install it again.
     
  3. Bryan84

    Bryan84 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    77
    1
    36
    Student
    Singapore
    Yeah that's what I did, clearing cache but it's still there. :(
     
  4. kejlyCZ

    kejlyCZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    561
    121
    93
    Male
    occupied
    Planet Earth
    No idea, maybe restart will help?
     
  5. Bryan84

    Bryan84 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    77
    1
    36
    Student
    Singapore
    Okay they upgraded to another 1.0.9 and I was able to install it. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...