1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Market Update Stalled?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ezra, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. Ezra

    Ezra Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    11
    11
    18
    Hartford, CT
    I am trying to connect to the android market and it says "Your client is out of date. It will be automatically updated shorty". I hit Ok but it has been about 30minutes now and still the same thing. I tried to reboot the device but still the same problem.

    Is anyone else running into this issue? Is the market trying to download all my apps from the marketplace and put them on my device? I also don't see anything queued in the download manager.

    Edit: Corporate web filtering blocks for the loss =P Tethered to my Droid X and running great =D
     

    Advertisement

  2. Weezel

    Weezel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I am experiencing this same issue right out of the box. I have looked and found suggestions of rebooting (No change) as well as clearing the data and cache for the Market application (No Change). I am setting this up for a client and I doubt they will be too impressed by a brand new tablet that is out of date with one of its major apps and will not get a new version.

    Please let me know if there is anything else I can do.

     
  3. Weezel

    Weezel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I may have found a solution while waiting on the phone to talk to Verizon (Found it just as the tech was getting my info as you would expect.) Use the browser to get to the Android Market website and log in there. Once I did that the update started and was finished pretty quickly and I then had access. Hope this will help and work for others.

     
  4. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,671
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,671
    4,412
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    inform your client the honeycomb OS is brand new and the code to it was released a couple weeks ago. its going to take the devs some time to optimize the apps for this new tablet. if your client wants to be on the bleeding edge they should understand this.
     
  5. Weezel

    Weezel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    First off this wasn't some 3rd party app, this was the Android Market which was having the problem. Expecially for a tablet that is the primary app as it gives access to all the additional abilities of the device. For this client it isn't about being on the bleeding edge, it is about seeing if the new device will make this a good investment opportunity. He is not seeing if this has cool potential bells and whistles, he is seeing if it will annoy early adopters and put off future sales so he can decide if he wants invest millions in the device. Word gets around fast these days and having your primary app have issues is a major issue, imagine if the iPod or Zune had a glitch where it wouldn't allow you to upload music to it would you want to buy that especially if there is no work around? Now what we need is someone to see if the workaround I have posted is functional on more than one device. So if you see any other threads, here or other places, please see if the workaround is universal or only worked on the one device.

    Thank you

     
  6. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,671
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,671
    4,412
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    no need to get hostile :)

    bottom line is this is new tech and entire from scratch OS. its to be expected there will be issues, the unit does not have flash nor is the external sd slot ready. i would not at this stage base any assumptions off the long term use of this tablet.

    thank you :)
     
  7. Kernel32

    Kernel32 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    But understand that it is frustrating to spend hundreds of dollars on a device that doesn't have any apps for it yet. In my humble opinion, people should be aware to not buy devices that don't work. The reality is that we should wait 6 months to a year before we buy a Xoom but then Motorola would be stuck with millions of dollars in inventory they can't sell. The process is broken, developers should be given Android 3 OS months before the device is shipped, not after.
     
  8. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #33
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,671
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,671
    4,412
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    kernel, here here!!! it is frustrating.

    anyway you slice it, us early adpoters are the real world beta testers. we are the ones who go to the geek sites and dev forums and post our experiences, all while the moto devs take notes. im sure moto is fast working on a software update (upgrade?!). they probaly could not get it out in time for motos launch so they could hold the #1 title against the flypad2 announcment.

    i totally understand weezel's frustration as well as his/her clients/partrners/customers.its unfortunate this tablet was released with the issues it has currently. i knew of these issues and braced for them, however i totally understand the community at large wants this machine to work right out of the box... :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...