1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Marshmallow Update on T-Mobile network with MetroPCS phone

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Juncojam, Apr 17, 2016.

  1. Juncojam

    Juncojam Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014

    Aug 31, 2014
    29
    3
    26
    Male
    STL
    So I gotten my MetroPCS LG G Stylo switched over on T-Mobile's network. I remembered that T-Mobile Stylos are able to get the Marshmallow 6.0 update. By my Stylo being a MetroPCS phone, can I still get the 6.0 update through T-Mobile?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    1,053
    751
    293
    No you wouldn't get the T-Mobile ota. Your Stylo still thinks it's a Metro brand phone and it's only going to get updates from Metro, if ever. You can manually install the T-Mobile kdz and that way it'll basically be like you bought it from T-Mobile though.
     
  3. Juncojam

    Juncojam Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014

    Aug 31, 2014
    29
    3
    26
    Male
    STL
    Should I get the .kdz from LGs site?
     
  4. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    1,053
    751
    293
    I have no clue where the 6.0 kdz is, I know someone linked to it somewhere but I lost track. Once you find it and get it downloaded I heard you have to use this to flash it though.
    http://www.mylgphones.com/download-lg-up-software

    I HAVE NOT DONE THIS MYSELF SO I DON'T KNOW IF THAT'S ACCURATE. DO ANYTHING AT YOUR OWN RISK.
     
  5. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    I wouldn't flash 6.0 kdz. Its my understanding that you can't flash the 6.0 kdz if you're on 5.1.1.

    Someone tried and got a bootloop if i remember correctly. Theres a thread (either sticky in the regular section or on the first page of the root section) that walks you through the process.

    Id check the thread for complete instructions/files but from what i remember you'll need to unlock your bootloader (backup any files you care about as unlocking the bootloader will wipe the device clean)

    Youll obviously need a pc with fastboot and adb

    I believe the kdz you'll flash is 5.1.1 for the tmo variant and once its flashed (before rooting) youll take the ota and get mm.

    I have a metro stylo and it worked successfully for me. Im not running stock 6.0 tmo rom on my metro
    I have supersu. Twrp. Busybox. Xposed. Etc

    All working great on metro service even though its the tmo rom. The only difference between the roms for metro and tmo is tmo comes with a little more bloat (amazon app and some other ones) and the carrier apps are obviously different. My metro and all that is gone but you can download it from the play store if you really need it.

    Also dont attempt to flash twrp from adb/fastboot. It didnt work for many of us but you can use flashify and it'll work just fine.
     
  6. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Also if you install xposed do look into g4 tweaksbox . gravity box for marshmallow. Great apps for giving a bit of a cyanogenmod feel (in terms of some of the feautures you can customize) to your stock rom
     
  7. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    1,053
    751
    293
    All you have to do is flash the T-Mobile kdz, messing with the bootloader is if you want to root.
     
  8. Juncojam

    Juncojam Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014

    Aug 31, 2014
    29
    3
    26
    Male
    STL
    Okay. Thanks for the help everybody
     
  9. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,032
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,032
    2,060
    693
    Male
    USA
    Check over in XDA.
     
    hgrunwell likes this.
  10. hgrunwell

    hgrunwell Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013

    Mar 4, 2013
    10
    7
    26
    Male
    Technology Specialist
    Michigan
    If you are using a Metro phone with a TMobile rom, you will get the OTA updates from TM with no problem. Or you can flash the TM kdz files, the bootstack error has been fixed.

     
    tube517 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...