1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Marshmallow

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SyrupViper, Feb 19, 2016.

  1. DrakenFX

    DrakenFX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    Ok guys/gals.
    Seems like Marshmallow for T-Mobile variant is rolling out version H63120b, can someone capture the download link? Or get the KDZ so i can help you guys creating a flashable update zip and PROBABLY KEEP ROOT?

    NO PROMISES ABOUT FLASHABLE ZIP WILL KEEP ROOT.

    P.S. i don't own the stylo anymore just wanna help you guys.
     

    Advertisement

  2. kcarden

    kcarden Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013

    Mar 9, 2013
    39
    31
    33
    Male
    Athens GA
    If you have twrp recovery then you always have root...
     
  3. DrakenFX

    DrakenFX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    Marshmallow update doesn't work that way,
    In the LG G4 case if you flash the update and flash SuperSU (root) give you bootloops and can only be fix by KDZ the device other wise your are doom...

    Beside nobody knows if bootloader needs to be unlock using fastboot to gain access to TWRP again. Is the same as the G4 but i don't know if is the same with the stylo
     
    #28 DrakenFX, Mar 7, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2016
    horsecharles likes this.
  4. kcarden

    kcarden Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013

    Mar 9, 2013
    39
    31
    33
    Male
    Athens GA
    We don't have fastboot... And we're OEM unlocked. So root shouldn't be a problem.
     
  5. DrakenFX

    DrakenFX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    like i mention before I USED TO HAVE THE STYLO, i know how the stylo works with LOLLIPOP, Marshmallow update is a whole different story, but ok do as you wish.

    P.S. LG G4 was the same as Stylo just needed to enable OEM UNLOCK under Developer Option but all that change with MM update.
     
    Krlypumaa and horsecharles like this.
  6. kcarden

    kcarden Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013

    Mar 9, 2013
    39
    31
    33
    Male
    Athens GA
    Be that as it may, we lack fastboot(even after we zero the laf partition, which is the case on the g4). So if the stylo is to remain unlockable it would have to have the option in settings or update aboot to include fastboot.

    Edit...There's also lg hidden menus in the g4 which is easily accessible. Which was their workaround.
     
    #31 kcarden, Mar 7, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2016
    horsecharles and mrrom like this.
  7. NullaVisus

    NullaVisus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016

    Mar 3, 2016
    20
    17
    28
    Male
    Metro users should be able to use LG Flash tool to flash T-Mobile KDZ file without issues, I'd rather wait for a TWRP flashable ROM or a root solution first though
     
  8. Marty_Since87

    Marty_Since87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,130
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012

    Apr 13, 2012
    1,130
    401
    203
    Male
    Seller and Distributor
    Bronx, New York
    Don't play with my emotions, lol.
     
    horsecharles, NullaVisus and tube517 like this.
  9. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,314
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,314
    2,390
    693
    Male
    USA

    I hope someone can take over for Katana.
     
    stovo06 and horsecharles like this.
  10. NullaVisus

    NullaVisus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016

    Mar 3, 2016
    20
    17
    28
    Male
    Also, for those that don't know;
    To get an official link to the update file on LGs servers just type the following in URL bar

    http://csmg.lgmobile.com:9002/csmg/b2c/client/auth_model_check2.jsp?esn=[IMEI]

    Replace [IMEI] in url above with your phones IMEI and it should give you a link on screen to latest .kdz file

    I would do it but I'm on Metro so I fear it will reject my IMEI as that url is usually used by LGs OTA updater

    From there it shouldn't be too hard to make TWRP zip file
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  11. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    MM can really, really save this phone... +the resulting dev work of course.
    With full access to SD we could move out all the regular n system apps we wanted.
    Multi-users, resized partitions, faster performance, already we can really boost Dpi... here we go...
     
    Marty_Since87 likes this.
  12. Marty_Since87

    Marty_Since87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,130
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012

    Apr 13, 2012
    1,130
    401
    203
    Male
    Seller and Distributor
    Bronx, New York
    MM and a MM rom would definitely keep me from getting the S7 edge until the Note 6 comes out.
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  13. DanDroid

    DanDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    189
    29
    73
    Male
    QA Analyst
    Ohio
    Tried that, this what was returned:
    This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.
    XML code just has ESN, MSN, Model #
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  14. HallOfPromise

    HallOfPromise Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    213
    48
    43
    Sonoma County, CA
    And to think I tripped and fell when trying to upgrade to v10L. Bricked my phone and fried my SD card. I blame my dieing computer for that. Had to use my girlfriend's computer to bring my phone back to life. Lost all of my saved stuff but at least I saved by phone. Nonetheless, now MM is out after all of that... Well, I think it's safe to say I'll be waiting to upgrade. I also want to wait so I can make sure all of my rooted apps and xposed modules are MM ready.
     
  15. NullaVisus

    NullaVisus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016

    Mar 3, 2016
    20
    17
    28
    Male
    It's supposed to say that on top, the kdz file link should be between one of the xml tags. Supposedly the link isn't there for others though so something changed
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  16. DrakenFX

    DrakenFX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015

    for some reason LG isn't posting the KDZ anymore, don't know why but the only way to get the KDZ link is by Capturing the Update and get the kdz link from there.
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  17. n1nj4Lo

    n1nj4Lo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #150
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    397
    111
    88
    Male
    But what makes you think we'd get use external storage as internal, when LG striped it out of the Boost and VM versions that along with Doze. It's going to be striped out of ours too, I'd bet money on it.
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  18. NullaVisus

    NullaVisus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016

    Mar 3, 2016
    20
    17
    28
    Male
    I have a theory that maybe if us Metro users flash a T-Mobile 10j KDZ file we can spoof our phones/LGs update/LG Bridge server to give us Marshmallow. Unless the software goes purely by IMEI to identify our devices, I'll flash as soon as I have a chance..
    How exactly does one capture the kdz from OTA though? I imagine LG OTA software stores the KDZ file in cache somewhere on the Androids filesystem before the update process begins. But the question is where?
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  19. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    I almost added something likewise... allows holding off to see what will be released later on...

    Assuming a heroic Dev will take care of that... Otherwise it's no go.

     
  20. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    What broke... new V10 or Stylo?
    I want the former but not at that price... and something over 6"
     
  21. NullaVisus

    NullaVisus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016

    Mar 3, 2016
    20
    17
    28
    Male
    Update: I flashed the T-Mobile 10j ROM, everything works fine, it found a 150MB update, installing now but not sure if its MM, but at least we're all sure TMO ROMs work fine on Metro Stylos :)

    Update: The first 150MB Update was NOT Marshmallow, HOWEVER, right after I finish installing the first update, I got a message saying MM was ready to download from LG updater!

    So if you're an impatient MetroPCS guy like me who wants MM, just flash the TMO 10j kdz and update from there:)

    Update: I have the Marshmallow Update.zip file from LG, its not a KDZ file though and its about 760 MB, opening the zip file and it resembles a custom recovery flashable zip, I'll upload it to mega and put link in next post...
     
    #46 NullaVisus, Mar 9, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2016
    horsecharles likes this.
  22. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    TY sir!
    No locked bootloader from the interim smaller one?
     
    NullaVisus likes this.
  23. NullaVisus

    NullaVisus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016

    Mar 3, 2016
    20
    17
    28
    Male
    Here's the update.zip, I hope its of use to everyone
    https://mega.nz/#!Ukg12aJC!i7B3LZaz0sNwSVT8WNK7Mpi-fdXFvcTQp3QEIASkkgw

    I got an error trying to update after rooting it though, and after my phone rebooted I was still on 5.1 and it said there was no updates for me, this tells me that either the bootloader is locked and it ran into an error trying to update my rooted device, or that it just doesn't like updating for root users, I had to root to retrieve zip file.
    OEM Unlock works and TWRP successfully flashed on 150MB update:)
     
    #48 NullaVisus, Mar 9, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2016
    Blu8 and horsecharles like this.
  24. HallOfPromise

    HallOfPromise Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    213
    48
    43
    Sonoma County, CA
    I blame my laptop as it was constantly losing connection while it was plugged in to LG Bridge Tool. It must have corrupted my boot image or something, and my custom recovery was gone as well.

    So if your phone has any connection problems (constantly losing connection and re-connecting) via USB, do not do major updates or flashes from your computer! Hack, don't even connect for media transfers! I also blame this on my SD card hitting the bricks. I guess it was losing connection while it was writing to the sd card.
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  25. TMacgnolia

    TMacgnolia Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015

    Aug 10, 2015
    155
    140
    78
    Male
    Ok guys I installed the update on my device. Good news is the new 6.0 seems to have some improvements with speed and fluidness as well as all the Marshmallow goodness of Android 6.0. Bad news is Kingroot will not root it, I have tried three times with the latest version of Kingroot and it fails every time. I was scared of this too but I wanted to try and get a system dump and a boot.img dump for development purposes so I installed the update. So if you want root you will have to stay on 5.1.1 for now.
     
    Blu8, horsecharles and HallOfPromise like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...