1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root md5 mismatch

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by androidninja, Oct 10, 2011.

  1. androidninja

    androidninja Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    84
    8
    36
    Male
    Chef
    Virginia
    I was wondering what this meant as when i make a nandroid back up and try to restore it says this and wont let me restore my most recent nandroid. Just wondering if im doing something wrong and how to fix it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    its either because youve changed the name or the card is starting to fail and corrupting the backups
     
  3. androidninja

    androidninja Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    84
    8
    36
    Male
    Chef
    Virginia
    What do you mean changed the name??
     
  4. Paul8944

    Paul8944 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    129
    29
    43
    Quantity Surveyor
    Southampton
    Renamed the file...it causes issues with the md5 check and therefore stops it loading
     
  5. Tyseyh

    Tyseyh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,035
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2,035
    296
    163
    Male
    Leeds, UK
    if you have renamed it with a space, take the space out and try again.
     
  6. androidninja

    androidninja Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    84
    8
    36
    Male
    Chef
    Virginia
    Im not trying to be a pain guys but i never renamed anything. I have literally no idea how to rename a file. The backups are labeled by dates like 10-9-2011 and so on. I just make backups with my current rom and factory reset/wipe cache and install a different rom. Then when im tired or dont like a certain rom i got back to ntelos stock rom 2.2 and it says md5 mismatch.
     
  7. Tyseyh

    Tyseyh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,035
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2,035
    296
    163
    Male
    Leeds, UK
    oh right, i get ya.
    reason we mentioned the renaming is because that is the main reason for MD5 errors.

    Here is what SUroot told me to do to remove the current MD5 and make a new one. ( I haven't tried this, but SUroot tried it, said it works, and lets face it, he is a smart man :p )

    Download and open Terminal Emulator from the Market.

    "Type:
    cd /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup/backupname

    And press enter (where backupname is what you renamed the backup to) this takes you to that directory

    Type:
    rm nandroid.md5

    And press enter. This removes the current unworking Md5 file

    Type:
    md5sum *img > nandroid.md5

    And press enter. This generates new Md5

    Easy""


    if this helps, please go to this link here and thank SUroot. ( Post 13 )
    This one here.
     
    SUroot and androidninja like this.
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It's likely that the backups have corrupted since creation which is what Md5 is designed to detect. That will create new Md5s but that doesn't mean it will restore properly so do so at your own risk
     
  9. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    i did also say it could be a corrupt sdcard. the files are becoming corrupted
     
  10. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,372
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,372
    15,651
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    If he's not already deleted the nandroid.md5 file he could try checking which file is mismatched. Use something like Android File Verifier to check the md5s of the images in the nandroid folder and compare with the codes in nandroid.md5.

    Won't help if system.img is mismatched, but if it's just something like recovery.img (what is the purpose of that?) you could use the advanced restore option to selectively restore system, data etc. If data.img is bad you could try restoring the ROM (system.img) without restoring data (wipe first!), then restore apps and data from Ti etc like you would for a new ROM install.

    Might work, but take a nandroid first in case! Then verify it (using AFV) and back it up to a computer if it's possible the card us playing up (in fact back all your nandroids up). Only start messing with stuff like the above when you are sure you have a way back if it fails.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...