1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root md5 mismatch--??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Chrizzl3, Oct 21, 2011.

  1. Chrizzl3

    Chrizzl3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    339
    39
    43
    i tried to restore a previous rom named "blacksource 8/20" and it says "md5 mismatch cannot verify data contents" or something like that. i know it should be legit...

    is it because i have a (space) inbetween the the name and date? or the "/" symbol?

    cant figure it out! help!

    thx in advance to any thoughts
     

    Advertisement

  2. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    yes, messing with the name of a file can cause an MD5 mismatch.
    you can try taking out the space or getting rid of the name completely and try it again, but not sure if that will work or not.

    from now on, you should use ROM manager to rename your backups. i am pretty sure you can rename it and R.M. will either take it (md5 does not change) or reject the name (name change messes up the MD5)
     
    Chrizzl3 likes this.
  3. Chrizzl3

    Chrizzl3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    339
    39
    43
    weird cuz i did use rom manager--- kind of confused. maybe its just a glitch
     
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Anytime you change the name regardless of what you use to if the MD5 is changed it will not allow you to restore it. I would recommend keeping a list somewhere of when your backup was made, the file name and what it is that way you don't have to worry about changing any file names.
     
    WormDoes and Chrizzl3 like this.
  5. Chrizzl3

    Chrizzl3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    339
    39
    43
    how does it generate the file name? is there a way i can guess what it is and change it back? or am i just done----? why do they even give u the option to change it!?
     
  6. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    I can't express how much I agree with this statement. While it may seem like a pain to some to take 20 seconds and update a text file it will save you possible headaches like this in the future. I have been keeping a text file of my nandroids since my Droid Eris days
     
  7. Chrizzl3

    Chrizzl3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    339
    39
    43
    still makes no sense to me....

    why would they even give you the option to rename if if makes if BUNK!?!?!

    is it just the NEWEST recovery that makes this so?


    because my buddy says he renames all his and it works fine.

    ridiculous! again, why would they even give you the option to rename??!!!!

    -
     
  8. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    :D welcome to the world of WTF that doesn't make sense. Some recoveries are nicer to restoring backups with different names than others. IMO rom manager is more trouble than it is worth. I can't tell you how CWM determines file names, you could try makeing a new one and trying to decipher it to see if you can rename the old one but in all honesty it would be easier to just flash a new rom.
     
    Chrizzl3 likes this.
  9. Chrizzl3

    Chrizzl3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    339
    39
    43
    at this point it is just purely out of spite.... and also my friend said he always renames his.

    if i make a new backup and rename it with NO spaces/characters, will it work?

    what about trying this? b/c i really think its a good (not corrupt) backup and i think its just the name thing--- [How To] Fix md5 mismatch nandroid restore - xda-developers
     
  10. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I never rename my backups because I know it can and will cause issues. You could try the ADB commands to see if that will work for you, I still suggest that instead of renaming them you just keep a document with the names and what they are somewhere else like your CPU.
     
    Chrizzl3 likes this.
  11. Chrizzl3

    Chrizzl3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    339
    39
    43
    Finally figured it out--

    i sent the file of the backup to my buddy, and he said the recovery file was all messed up. folders inside folders inside folders etc. not the right format. it seems to me he just repackaged the recovery file. i recovered thru rom manager (name changed and all, and everything works perfectly)

    right now, with a different backup, i changed the file name from (2011-09-22.04.26.08), a semi-recent backup to "BAMFF". (a bamf ROM i believe. im not sure because i havent been able to rename the recoveries! haha.

    Im interested to see if it recovers just fine.... and it did not! lol wtf....

    it went all the way until the htc screen and froze for a few min--- restoring another backup now.

    i still dont get how this works, i just restored a rom with a name change.

    i think you either have to rename it thru rom manager perfectly from the get go (no spaces, characters etc). my other theory was to change it after, but i havent tried it on a new backup.

    very confusing, sorry if you guys dont care, i know there is alot too this, its gotta be something w/ Rom Manager and how it renames/how android renames it....

    now my phone is back up n running with a restore-- thx for the help guys, someone has got to fix the programming in regards to the name changes.

    i understand what you guys are saying about keeping a text log, but in my eyes, its 2011 and i should be able to rename a file! that shouldnt have anythign to do with md5 (seems to me). no disrespect to the devs at all, but i know im not the only one who has had this problem.

    still havent gotten to the bottom of it!

    thx again tho guys
     
  12. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    The reason it checks the md5 is to verify it isn't going to flash something that could brick the device. Also sometimes when the recovery is updated it will make previous nandroids useless. I personally only keep 1 backup at a time because if I want to change to something else I would rather just flash a new version of a rom instead of an old version. I agree that the rename function shouldn't be available if it causes issues but if it doesn't cause issues for everyone then it sounds like user error not dev problems perhaps better instructions would do or just not using rom manager which is my advise to everyone
     
    Chrizzl3 likes this.
  13. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,282
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,282
    23,583
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Guys,

    I thought I'd weigh-in here real quick re. this.

    The renaming of Nandroid backups to names that include spaces or some special characters will indeed cause the MD5 mismatch error message that the OP reported.

    This is true for both Amon_RA and ClockworkMod custom recoveries.

    The reason for this is that the custom recoveries try to pass the Nandroid backup filename to the md5sum utility and when there are characters that are "unfriendly" to the parsing mechanism (they are different between Amon_RA and ClockworkMod), the md5sum will return a non-zero error, basically because it simply cannot find / open the Nandroid backup directory.

    Amon_RA passes the name of the Nandroid backup directory via an sh shell to the nandroid-mobile.sh script. If the name contains characters that are meaningful to the shell (i.e., spaces, ampersands, asterisks, etc.--i.e., metacharacters), then the filename that the nandroid-mobile.sh script receives will be truncated or modified. Then, when the md5sum command is invoked with the bad filename, you'll get an error.

    The same is basically true with ClockworkMod, except that the directory name that gets passed is used directly in the md5sum invocation (via a _system call):

    Code (Text):
    1.     ui_print("Checking MD5 sums...\n");
    2.     sprintf(tmp, "cd %s && md5sum -c nandroid.md5", backup_path);
    3.     if (0 != __system(tmp))
    4.         return print_and_error("MD5 mismatch!\n");
    If the directory name doesn't resolve properly (a space character will, of course, terminate the name), then you'll get the above error.

    So, here's the "tl;dr": just use simple alpha (a-z, A-Z), numeric (0-9), dashes and underscores for your Nandroid backups. You can use whatever utility you want to do the renaming, just keep it clean and simple.

    Cheers!
     
    Yeahha and scotty85 like this.
  14. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    lol i keep my nandroid list on my ipod :eek:

    every so often i email the notes to myself so i have them on the PC as well. i personally have never renamed nandroids,either.

    thanks for stopping in mister scary :D
     
    scary alien likes this.
  15. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,282
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,282
    23,583
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    LOL, no problem, Scotty! :)

    Sorry, I haven't pinged you in a while...work's been crazy busy and haven't had much time for my own evil experiments ;).

    Saw your other thread with the *** LOCKED *** bootloader image--sounds like you've got your own fun going on again ;) :).

    Cheers and let me know if you need anything!
     
    scotty85 and Chrizzl3 like this.
  16. Chrizzl3

    Chrizzl3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    339
    39
    43
    thanks man i appreciate it-- i knew it had to work somehow, just gotta be careful-- personally i think they should not allow you to do anything to the name if its not "friendly".

    a string of numbers is not very useful for me if im going to have a few backups so i like to rename. thanks again. i will retry a name change tonight when I make a backup of my sense ROM soab1.03 for NFL mobile-- and when i recover next sunday hopefully it works!

    thanks again!
     
    scotty85 and scary alien like this.
  17. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    pm sent mister scary :)

    crizzl3 let us know how the new names work out :)
     
    Chrizzl3 likes this.
  18. Chrizzl3

    Chrizzl3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    339
    39
    43
    i for sure will---

    when i initially rooted i was a huge noob and scared to flash many things, but now i am addicted and constantly mess with everything.

    i know the renaming has to work somehow!

    ill report back-

    PS- i sent a copy of my "corrupt" Rom backup to my buddy and he renamed it for me and rearranged the files (that i somehow messed up.)

    i have since restored that rom (that had the name change) and it worked fine.

    going to try it from a fresh rom/backup to give it a true test---
     
    scary alien likes this.
  19. Chrizzl3

    Chrizzl3 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    339
    39
    43
    Hello all--- in case anyone was still wondering about renaming with RomManager--

    i successfully restored Bamf SOAB 1.03 named "SOAB1.03" in Rom Manger. i installed it THRU CWM, but i think i coud have restored it thru rom manager also.

    In this method i backed up the ROM THRU Rom Manger and renamed it using no symbols, just " _ - . " (underscore, hyphen, period).

    so it seems if you name it correctly before you backup it works.

    the only thing i havent gotten tried/gotten to work is--

    letting Rom Manager save the file name as xx.xxxx.xx.xx.xxx or whatever it is, BUT then trying to rename it AFTER its been backed up, and restore at a later time.

    i tried this once before, eventually successfully, but not very easily.

    in case anyone wants to rename backups so they can go back and forth easily, try this method!

    --chrizz
     
    scotty85 and scary alien like this.
  20. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    this is really weird...i have been re-naming my backups for 2 years (since my OG droid) and usually dont run into any problems....happened once

    when i do rename, i usually just put the ROM name and version in front of the date/time with no spaces and it is all good.

    i have 3 on my SD card right now.
    SOAB1.32011-10-21.11.32.42
    cm72011-10-31.12.45.81
    and 2011-11-04.19.19.18liquid3

    all restore just fine for me. all renamed through Astro file manager.
     
    Chrizzl3 likes this.
  21. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,282
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,282
    23,583
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Yeah, those all look like good, acceptable directory names to me :) (i.e., wouldn't confuse a Nandroid restore).

    Don't forget you always need to have a good, full charge on your phone for a Nandroid backup (the lower limit threshold is usually something like 30%)--some phones and/or recoveries won't charge your phone (or very fast) while in recovery.

    Cheers!
     
    Chrizzl3 and Yeahha like this.
  22. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    The TB will charge in CWM and TWRP. Not sure if it is slower than running the OS or if any other recovery will allow charging
     
    Chrizzl3 and scary alien like this.
  23. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,282
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,282
    23,583
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Thanks! Good info to have filed-away (I had heard that ClockworkMod was made to try to enable charging). I believe that this behavior is contingent on what kernel is included in the custom recovery.

    Amon_RA for the HTC Droid Eris does as well--erisuser1 did some tests re. this, but appropriately warned that the charging rate will certainly be exceeded by the operations trying to be performed in custom recovery (i.e., if you are just sitting there, it might trickle-charge pretty slowly, but that's certainly not an ideal mode to operate in for long).

    Cheers!
     

Share This Page

Loading...