1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Media scanning taking forever!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jimmykimchi, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. Jimmykimchi

    Jimmykimchi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    96
    0
    15
    Motive Energy IT Assistant
    California
    I have a 16gb sd card for my samsung vibrant, after i unplug my phone from my computer, i swear to god it takes like 10-20 minutes for it to finish . Does this happen to anyone else? is there a fix for this ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    3,591
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,591
    363
    173
    California
    Less than 30 seconds for me. What all do u have on your sd card? Also what class?
     
  3. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    I heard someone else complain it takes 9 mins to scan their 16gb card. That sucks, maybe a faster speed rating sd card would help? I dunno.
     
  4. Graylander

    Graylander Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    I have a 32gb class 2 card, and yes, it takes about 9 minutes for me...I don't like it, but I'm adjusting to it.
    I use btunes and it lets me listen to music while it's still scanning. I only use it for music so it's tolerable.
     
  5. Vibrant

    Vibrant Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    When I start up my Vibrant it takes about 4 minutes to scan media. I was told by a T-Mobile employee that the larger sd card you have the longer it takes for the scan to be completed. I have a 16gb.
     
  6. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    would a faster rated sd card speed things up?
     
  7. duc916

    duc916 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    150
    16
    38
    Nor Cal
    My 16GB card takes about 10 sec to scan. Its about half full (just movies, no music). I formatted it with the phone. Did you guys format using the phone? It should be FAT32.
     
  8. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    whats the speed rating of your card?
     
  9. maverick777

    maverick777 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    113
    33
    43
    I think the quantity of files matters quite a bit. Mine takes at least 5-10 minutes to complete on a 16gb class 2. I have 1600+ songs, 600+ ebooks, and 20 or so videos.

    Not to mention a few hundred wallpapers and icons.
     
  10. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    687
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    687
    31
    68
    Las Vegas, NV
    Takes 2-3 minutes for mine which is a 16GB class 4 and has 4.5G of music on it. Start up is pretty fast. Scans for maybe 20 seconds at the most.
     
  11. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,613
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,613
    165
    143
    how much is a 32gb class 10, I can't find one anywhere online. I'm sure it will cost more, but I figure I'm only buying this once, so might as well get a faster one. I hate waiting, even if it is only for write speeds.
     
  12. elgibby

    elgibby Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    70
    4
    16
    The 32gb microSDs are pretty new, it'll take some time for the faster cards to filter out and for the prices to come down. Supposedly Micro Center has its own branded 32 but I couldn't find one. Ended up with a 16gb Class 2, which has worked out OK; I've got 2gb free. Most of it is music plus Avatar and a bunch of photos.

    Scan time on startup is annoying but really pretty quick, less that 2 mins (although I haven't timed it; I will next time).
     
  13. elgibby

    elgibby Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    70
    4
    16
    Yep, my card is a 16gb microSDHC, Class 2.
    Total time from pushing the power button to end of media scan was 3:33.
     
  14. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    3,591
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,591
    363
    173
    California
    Mine is probably fast cause all I have is about 30 pictures, a few wallpapers, about 6 downloaded skins and a ringtone.
     
  15. Jimmykimchi

    Jimmykimchi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    96
    0
    15
    Motive Energy IT Assistant
    California
    Mine's a 16 gig, HC . i have about like 9gigs of music and another 2-3 gigs of pictures. takes sometimes 10-30 minutes to scan ): It's soo long!
     
  16. wildblue

    wildblue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    199
    16
    38
    What class is it? I'll guess a 2.
     
  17. BossDj

    BossDj Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    48
    2
    16
    Colorado
    rooted users, you can disable the media scanning with Startup Manager
     
  18. Jimmykimchi

    Jimmykimchi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    96
    0
    15
    Motive Energy IT Assistant
    California
    How do you find the class ??
     
  19. wildblue

    wildblue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    199
    16
    38
  20. Jimmykimchi

    Jimmykimchi Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    96
    0
    15
    Motive Energy IT Assistant
    California
    Mine's a class 4 x)
     
  21. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    471
    43
    43
    IT, Student
    Texas
    Whats the fastest class the phone supports?
     
  22. jree

    jree Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    495
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Dec 11, 2009
    495
    43
    63
    keepin up with the jones'
    at your house when your not there
    I don't count boot up I count as soon as the screen loads and the first media scanner starts. But even from boot up it doesn't take 3 minutes and I have atleast 4 full movies, a poop load of pictures, a couple of full albums, and some hd movies I shot from the phone.
     
  23. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    Epic user here. I am having the same issue with mine, and when I started a new thread, it showed me this thread...so here I am..

    I'm still using my factory 16g Class 2 card. I don't have any movies, and I have about 30-50 songs. But I do have several hundred pics. I just looked and i have 11.50gb available still. But this media scanning taking eons is new.

    Wow, wait, actually, as I typed this, I unmounted my SD from the phone settings, then removed the card to verify it was the 16g. When I put it back in, media scanning began, but it was done in just a few seconds. Maybe that's a fix???
     
  24. OBXJoe

    OBXJoe Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I tried unmounting my SD card and putting it back in. That was 45 mins ago. I just got the phone and I did add a lot of pictures but this is getting to be ridiculous.
     
  25. saminbama

    saminbama Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    The author of this thread, I believe, is looking for advice. I don't believe he or she is wanting to compare SD scan time. Mine takes 20-30 minutes to scan. This is a new phenomenon.

    The author and I would like to know how to remedy it. Does anyone have any advice? Thank you!
     
    Cokonuthead likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...