1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Mega now has CM11!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bnb25, Dec 13, 2013.

  1. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Thread Starter

    Thanks to Silesh.Nair over at xda we now have CM11 on the Mega.

    Big Credit to:

    Willie Ye
    aka Grarak for starting work on porting CM for the Mega and Arne Coucheron aka arco for this help!!

    Also stiggy2012 without him we wouldn't have gotten this booted up!!


    This is his work not mine, I take no credit for it. All thanks goes to them. I'm just linking to his thread on XDA.

    This does work on Metro pcs Mega (SGH-M819N) I am currently using it as I'm writing this.

    He has also confirmed it is working on [GT-I9200/I9205]

    go over to his thread for all the info, make sure you read everything!!

    [ROM][GT-I9200/I9205][Unofficial] CyanogenMod11 : [4.4.2] - xda-developers
     


    sileshn likes this.
  2. sileshn

    sileshn Newbie

    Hi Guys,

    Credit also goes to Grarak and Arco for us having an almost fully functional rom in such small time.

    Njoy.
     
  3. sileshn

    sileshn Newbie

    Hey, is your data working? Someone on xda was mentioning that his data ain't working.
     
  4. sileshn

    sileshn Newbie

    No mega users here, I guess
     
  5. iphoneslayer

    iphoneslayer Newbie

    Mega user here man! Tried to flash it and got (error 7) install aborted
     
  6. sileshn

    sileshn Newbie

    Read the procedure. You need to flash the latest recovery.
     
  7. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Thread Starter

    what sileshn said. in that thread that I linked, it has two recoveries you can choose from that support CM11. you need to install one of them through odin first.
     
  8. iphoneslayer

    iphoneslayer Newbie

    after I got it going I'm not really impressed. No offence to the guy that ported it and it has nothing to do with you more about CM its self. I just don't like it, kinda funky (coming from the last time i used CM was 7) I have to say i don't even like KITKAT either. It kinda feels like an "iphone" experience, I don't know how to explain it its all normal android stuff but....something feels off, less control over your home screen (swiping left goes to google now? WTF is that?) other little things here and there rub me the wrong way. I love this phone btw tho, I have large hands and hated my old phone looking like a post-it note in my hand.
     
  9. sileshn

    sileshn Newbie

    None taken. Everyone's got their own likes and dislikes.
     
  10. CyberChulo

    CyberChulo Member

    I flashed it today with TWRP and CWR and don't get data on both methods. But the recovery for TWRP that he listed was 2.6.3.0. I believe 2.6.3.1 will flash with data. However I cannot find it for our MetroPCS Mega.
     
  11. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Thread Starter

    there isn't a specific one for metro's version fo the Mega. Here's how you get data working. go into settings/more, mobile networks. First check your Access Point Nmae. it should show MetroPCS LTE.

    If not go to Network Operators. let it do its search. after its done click Choose automatically at the bottom of the screen you see a pop up that says Registered on Network. You should have data afer that.
     
  12. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Thread Starter

    I don't care for KitKats launcher either, it's very limited. Not Android like at all. The new guy that took over android is messing it up. He's the same moron that's screwed with YouTube.
     
  13. clubanger96

    clubanger96 Well-Known Member

    Its always failing when i try to flash it. Im using the cwm that you post in the mega root guide. I dont know if im using the wrong cm11 cause there was 3 in the folder. please help!!
     
  14. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Thread Starter

    you have to use his recovery, TWR seems to work better than CWM https://my.pcloud.com/#page=publink&code=JJp&folder=2137553

    use this cm11: cm-11-20131213
     
    clubanger96 likes this.
  15. clubanger96

    clubanger96 Well-Known Member

    is that the only one we can use cause yes thanks i got it working but i used the cm-11-20131222 and it flashed fine
     
  16. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Thread Starter

    is it working for you with out issues? if its working than cool.
     
  17. clubanger96

    clubanger96 Well-Known Member

    for some reason my LTE will not come back. I have done everything you said in the comments I even added another metro APN but nothing. I also used the rom that you told me to use but nothin. any ideas?
     
  18. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Thread Starter

    I had issues with with that version also, he just put a new update up. try it, it seems to be working for me. also try putting it in airplane mode for about 60 seconds.
     
  19. clubanger96

    clubanger96 Well-Known Member

    It seems for me that Tmobile APN only works for me for some reason metro won't but I only reach H not LTE and it only lasts for about 10 minutes and I have to do the process again. Any reason why? I have the same phone model number. Im also on the latest cm11 but its also happend to me on the past builds.
     
  20. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Thread Starter

    maybe the towers in your area aren't that strong. Once in a while it will drop off for me but usually comes back.

    I think part of the problem is. Those ROM's are put together for the International version. It's close to ours but not exact.

    It sucks that we don't have any dev willing to work on out metro version. Right now they all got a boner for the nexus 5.

    you can try the other ROM's Silesh.Nair has put out. Mokee seems to work pretty good for me. Though he says bluetooth doesn't work on it right now.
     
  21. clubanger96

    clubanger96 Well-Known Member

    whats better mokee or cm11?
     
  22. bnb25

    bnb25 Android Expert
    Thread Starter

    I personal like Mokee better. a bit more features and it seems to run smoother.
     
    2face likes this.
  23. billybro1999

    billybro1999 Lurker

    anyone have a working link to the cm-11-20131213 file? I cant find it anywhere all the links have updated and don't have any files that old, and from what I'm seeing it's the only version that will work on the metro mega, I've tried other so called confirmed roms and none will install, they always fail
     
  24. Bard

    Bard Android Expert


    Check XDA's Galaxy Mega Original Android forum for more ROMS.

    Galaxy Mega Original Android Development - xda-developers


    If you have trouble installing others ROMs, it seems like your CWM is outdated or you are installing other ROMS.

    So far I've installed CM, Paranoid, Venir, AOKP and etc.. They all installed and worked fine except few minor bugs.


    For various ROM reviews and screen shots check the original thread or my blog :) Right now I am using PA ROM for my Mega.
     
  25. Bard

    Bard Android Expert

    Not sure if it's fixed or not but latest CM that I tried had Youtube video error.

    The ROM I am using right now is Paranoid Android. It runs cool and I haven't found any bugs so far.
     

Samsung Galaxy Mega Forum

The Samsung Galaxy Mega release date was May 2013. Features and Specs include a 5.8" inch screen, 8MP camera, 1.5GB RAM, processor, and 2600mAh battery.

May 2013
Release Date
0
Reviews
Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...