1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Memory full!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by StevenSeed, May 19, 2014.

  1. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    395
    30
    63
    Male
    Network Analyst
    South Yorkshire, UK
    Every so often my phone resets itself (usually after I've been switching between applications a lot). When I say "reset", I mean the screen goes blank for 20 seconds or so, then I have to put my phone lock code in again (but not the SIM lock code - so it's not fully rebooting just resetting).

    I think the reason is shown in the attached screen shot. The memory gets full, but it seems like it's unable to close any apps down, and all the apps are just constantly restarting (the phone is very slow at this point).

    Is this some kind of memory leak? Any way I can figure out what's doing it?
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I suspect so, going by the free RAM figure in the screenshot. I reckon something isn't relinquishing resources when requested by the OS.

    The only thing I can think of right now is trial-and-error. I'd look at third-party apps first, freezing or uninstalling any likely suspects, and monitoring system performance for a few days.

    If I've time I'll hunt around and see if there are any user-friendly tools to help. A quick search earlier only turned up developer-oriented stuff.
     
  3. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    395
    30
    63
    Male
    Network Analyst
    South Yorkshire, UK
    Really grateful for your reply slug. I'll look too and will post on this thread if I find anything.
     
  4. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    395
    30
    63
    Male
    Network Analyst
    South Yorkshire, UK
    I've just updated to version 10.5.A.0.230. Hopefully that'll fix it.
     
  5. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    395
    30
    63
    Male
    Network Analyst
    South Yorkshire, UK
    Quick update - the new software update has cured the memory leak problem but introduced a ferocious keep-awake bug when you leave location on. Hopefully that'll be fixed soon...
     
  6. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    This is a Google Play Services issue affecting all 4.4.x devices. As soon as Google fix the issue an update should be pushed out via the Play Store.
     
  7. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    395
    30
    63
    Male
    Network Analyst
    South Yorkshire, UK
    Has this been fixed? Been on "high accuracy" location for a day and a half now and not had one instance of Google Play Services waking the phone up.....
     
  8. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Not to my knowledge, and now probably won't be until 4.4.x rolls out.

    I've been using "Device only" for a couple of weeks with excellent results, but over the last two days my battery took a caning i.e. 100% - 25% within 8hrs while mostly idle. It's doing my head in. :banghead:
     
  9. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    395
    30
    63
    Male
    Network Analyst
    South Yorkshire, UK
    I don't understand then - I've been on high accuracy now since Saturday night and not even seen an entry for Google Play Services in my battery usage screen. It's been working too - zaps me straight to a location when I open the relevant app.

    If you need to see any of my settings or anything to see if there's something I've got set that you haven't let me know.
     
  10. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    After a restart it's back to its previous miserly usage, so I think I had either a serious wakelock issue or a runaway process. I've now got a couple of diagnostic tools ready in case it reoccurs, and I'll switch back to "high accuracy" mode while at work tomorrow.
     

Share This Page

Loading...