1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Merge with google option missing in contacts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmarcelia, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. jmarcelia

    jmarcelia Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013

    Jan 3, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    I have a note 1 and just replaced with note 2. The note 1 has merge with google under contacts/menu/merge with google

    Note 2 contacts/menu/ goes from import/export to accounts and has no option for merge with google

    Anyone experiencing the same??

    At&t US is carrier
     

    Advertisement

  2. lcneed

    lcneed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    601
    99
    78
    SoCal
    Settings -> Google Account -> your google account name -> Sync Contacts

    Is that what you are looking for?
     
  3. jmarcelia

    jmarcelia Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013

    Jan 3, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    no, i tried that already.

    I am trying to get the merge button back so I can sync -right now all of the contacts are list as phone contacts

    capture_03.png
     
  4. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    I have a TELUS Note 2 (Canadian carrier) and that option is present on my Note 2. Even has an option to merge with Samsung account. Looks like AT&T took out that option if you don't see it.
     
  5. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #44
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,845
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,845
    1,916
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Hi

    Yes, the option is there on my International note 2 as well.
     
  6. lcneed

    lcneed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    601
    99
    78
    SoCal
    But if you check the Sync Contacts box under your google account, it will sync your google contacts with your phone. Isn't that what you want?
     
  7. jmarcelia

    jmarcelia Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013

    Jan 3, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    the phone contact won't sync with google. That's the issue. when you check sync contacts under accounts it just syncs the exisitng google with google. It doesn't sync/merge the phone contact into google.

    here is the screenshot of my options on the Note2

    Screenshot_Note2.png
     
  8. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    What the OP is trying to do (from my understanding) is syncing local phone contacts into Google. Basically if it was my situation, I use Hotmail exchange server for my contacts. Let's say I decide I want to sync with Google later on; I would use the 'Merge with Google' to get my Hotmail contacts onto Google. If I don't have this feature it can be a pain if I have ALOT of contacts that I want to put on Google.

    Unfortunately from the screenshot provided, the carrier removed that feature.
     
  9. lcneed

    lcneed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    601
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    601
    99
    78
    SoCal
    Ah I see what you mean. I don't have local contacts. I only use google contacts even on my old iPhone.
     
  10. mikarakolev

    mikarakolev Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 25, 2013

    May 25, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I have the same problem. I used to be able to do that now that option disapeared
     
  11. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    Blame the carrier for that one. :mad:

    The only workaround is to see if there is a third party app that can do it. Not sure though, as I still have that option on my Note 2. I don't understand why a carrier would do something stupid like that considering it's running Google's Android! :rolleyes:
     
  12. Shurple

    Shurple Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    356
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    356
    14
    58
    Female
    Graphic Designer
    NJ
    i came here looking for the same answer....how ******ed. Here's my situation:

    My google had TRIPLICATES of the names listed.. but not all of the names were triplicated... a handful were not.

    The contacts on my phone are set to view my email name @gmail.com, but I have 20 contacts that are on my phone, set up @gmail.com, but are NOT in my gmail contacts.

    I'm at a loss here. I don't know how to fix it. I manually cleaned up the triplicates... but I can't get my phone to "upload to google."

    edit.... in settings/accounts/google, i fixed the issue
     

Share This Page

Loading...