1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Root [Merit] ZTE Merit

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Chud1, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. Chud1

    Chud1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012

    Jun 27, 2012
    35
    5
    16
    I used jcase's adb instructions to successfully gain ROOT access to the zte merit straighttalk cell phone. (Much PROPS to JCase!)

    Question: I wanted to know instructions/or how to get clockworkmod installed onto the rooted merit. (Or is there a better way to make a backup of the phone.) I know the app is downloadable at the market but it costs and not sure if it will even work. And would it reset the rom back to stock by installing it?
    (I'm sure I could find an .apk file floating around somewhere of it.)
    ;)
    Any answers are much appreciated!

    -Chud-
     

    Advertisement

  2. Motorhead1991

    Motorhead1991 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    831
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    831
    134
    113
    Student, Clearfield Job Corps, Diesel program
    Pasco, WA
    Clockworkmod recovery

    :D I need a tester anyways... If it doesn't work, then that link will lead to anthony062991's method.
     
    SquidlyMcNerd likes this.
  3. Chud1

    Chud1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012

    Jun 27, 2012
    35
    5
    16
    Is there any ROM for this phone floating around anywhere? Like CM7 or CM9 not sure if they will work for this phone or not. I have it on the HTC aria. But need a slimmed down ROM for the ZTE Merit!
    Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    -Chud-
     
  4. Chud1

    Chud1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012

    Jun 27, 2012
    35
    5
    16
    I will try it but............
    How do you enter factory recovery with this phone? On my HTC Aria you just hold down the power button and the volume down at the same time and it goes into factory recovery.
    :(
    Any help on this is much appreciated!

    -Chud-
     
  5. Motorhead1991

    Motorhead1991 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    831
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    831
    134
    113
    Student, Clearfield Job Corps, Diesel program
    Pasco, WA
    menu+vol up+power gets you into recovery mode. As for ROMS, I'm in the process of porting CM9 ICS to the Z990 (AT&T version). When you get Clockwork working, create a backup, then if you want, give my ROM a try, or the one.### series.
     
  6. Chud1

    Chud1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012

    Jun 27, 2012
    35
    5
    16
    Ok that got me into system recovery menu but I don't see
    Select "apply update from sdcard".

    There are only 3 options in my menu.
    :( How would I install that zip of clockwork if there is no option?

    -Chud-
     
  7. Chud1

    Chud1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012

    Jun 27, 2012
    35
    5
    16
    Give my ROM a try or the one.### series??

    Where are these located at?

    Sorry another newbie question!

    -Chud-
     
  8. Motorhead1991

    Motorhead1991 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    831
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    831
    134
    113
    Student, Clearfield Job Corps, Diesel program
    Pasco, WA
  9. Chud1

    Chud1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012

    Jun 27, 2012
    35
    5
    16
    Right on!!!!!!

    Thanks a Million!!!!

    Is there any way to back up contacts before doing a factory wipe/reset?

    -Chud-
     
  10. Motorhead1991

    Motorhead1991 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    831
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    831
    134
    113
    Student, Clearfield Job Corps, Diesel program
    Pasco, WA
    Go into contacts and click Import/Export and save then either to your SIMcard or your SD card.
     
  11. stayboogy

    stayboogy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    867
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012

    Jun 15, 2012
    867
    285
    113

    yeah, back them up to your sim card, or to your SD card.

    press menu button when in contacts and choose import/export and export them to where you want
     
  12. Motorhead1991

    Motorhead1991 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    831
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    831
    134
    113
    Student, Clearfield Job Corps, Diesel program
    Pasco, WA
    Go into contacts and click Import/Export and save then either to your SIMcard or your SD card.
     
  13. Chud1

    Chud1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012

    Jun 27, 2012
    35
    5
    16
    Right on guys! Thanks!!!!

    :)

    -Chud-
     
  14. Noname4aday

    Noname4aday Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012

    Jul 6, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    If I am to the jcase root for purposes of running much off sd, what are the GUI like on some of these other rom's? I don't really mind the rom my phone came with other than the crap I don't need and freeing up the CPU. I already got clockwork and and sdmover app. What else will I need before going ahead with the root? Thanks abunch
     
  15. Clout

    Clout Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012

    Jul 15, 2012
    8
    0
    5
  16. Chud1

    Chud1 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012

    Jun 27, 2012
    35
    5
    16
    1.)Copy CM7 zip file onto the root of your SD Card.

    2.)Hold down the menu button (far button on the left), volume up, and then hold in the power button. Hold in until the factory recovery menu comes up and release.

    3.)Then goto install update from sd card.

    4.)Select CM7 and let her eat!
    :)

    Reboot phone and enjoy!

    -Chud-
     
  17. Clout

    Clout Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012

    Jul 15, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    yep lol, i tried that button boot didnt work so i put the recovery.img on and button booted and it worked !! so had 2 cm7.zip files and a way in. i folowed instal vids on cm7 both xip files said they were bad and now its bricked lol i can still buton boot though, although there is no os to boot to for restart. i posted in the compleste guide post as well my be a fix there just need a nood to see it will work
     
  18. Motorhead1991

    Motorhead1991 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    831
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    831
    134
    113
    Student, Clearfield Job Corps, Diesel program
    Pasco, WA
    Flash an aftermarket ROM to be able to reboot your phone. No one's ported CM7 to the Avail yet.
     
    Clout likes this.
  19. Clout

    Clout Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012

    Jul 15, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Well I bought the sd card read/write popped in the sd card, put the stock .zip on the card, reinserted the card in phone and button booted

    I got a phone!! But with some weird stuff I never seen before apps and update for att and the phone now reads it
     
  20. Clout

    Clout Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012

    Jul 15, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    And this all started because I didn’t follow directions,, 1 step I missed was nandroid back up in button boot up

    Also, was at Walmart this morning and the end isle promotion in electronics was packed with z900G merit phones for straight talk, have a feeling alot more posts are going up
     
  21. SquidlyMcNerd

    SquidlyMcNerd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012

    Jul 9, 2012
    84
    66
    33
    Male
    Louisville, KY
    Don't know about anybody else but I had to order my Merit off the Straight Talk website.

    It would be cool to just be able to walk into Walmart in the event of a bricking crisis.....heh heh.
     
  22. Motorhead1991

    Motorhead1991 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    831
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    831
    134
    113
    Student, Clearfield Job Corps, Diesel program
    Pasco, WA
    There's very little you can do to really cripple the device. As long as you have a backup and can access recovery mode, it's savable.
     
  23. Clout

    Clout Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012

    Jul 15, 2012
    8
    0
    5
    Ok so phone is up and working, but cant leave it alone lol,
    Question it’s a merit and it runs gingerbread 2.3.5, so can it be updated to gingerbread 2.3.6 or 2.3.7 or further, or will the merits’ hardware not be able to handle it
     
  24. meatman45

    meatman45 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012

    Jul 24, 2012
    3
    0
    25
    regarding the above posts, could someone explain to a dummy ( me, lol ) what ya'all mean about root access and ROM for the phone ? The walmart that I work in got a display of the AZT's. I bought one and the only gripe I have is the rapid battery discharge even with all items such as display, bluetooth, wi fi, GPS, etc turned off. In regards to the one post above about backup, I have my contacts backed up by Lockout app. Also I play gang wars. If I get another phone can I transfer my stats, etc to the new phone, or am i resigned to just start over ?? koool site here, indeed ! Laters.
     
  25. neutrontech

    neutrontech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    80
    8
    16
    I bought mine at Walmart. I've looked at a few of the walmarts around me and only ONE of them carries the Merrit, and it's the only Android Straight Talk phone that one carries. The other Walmarts near me carry different ones, but no Merrit.

    However, I think I will be buying the GSM android phone they offer so I can run on Verizon's network. That one I have not found in stores yet.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...