• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Messed up recovery - please help

molexus

Lurker
Jul 15, 2013
BRAVO PVT4 SHIP S-ON
HBOOT-0.93.0001
MICROP-051d
TOUCH PANEL-SYNW0101
RADIO-5.11.05.27

Hello everybody.

I'm very new to the rooting business so as i was reading up on the FAQs and GUIDEs i was playing around in the bootloader. By mistake i selected the RECOVERY option and was greeted by a black screen, an image of a phone and a red triangle on it.

I left the phone alone like that for hours and nothing changed. I told myself that whatever it was doing, it couldn't take that long, so after i tried to restart the phone using every possible button combination i ended up pulling the battery.

Luckily my phone started normally (i was afraid of the worst).

So i tried to continue with the rooting process however i'm stuck at the first part, where i have to flash the recovery. My PC will not recognize the HTC Drivers so i don't have any hboot drivers to upgrade.

In hboot, even after i connect the usb cable there's no change to the "status" (no idea what to call it) - "HBOOT" never changes to "HBOOT USB".

I am following this guide, which, at step 2 sends me to this one in order to install the hboot drivers.

I also tried to mount sd card on pc (through usb cable) - failed.
Even tried to run HTC Sync - failed. will not recognize any device

As soon as i plug in the phone to the PC the device driver installation fails.

How can i proceed in this case?

Edit: I also tried the adb shell:
C:\>adb shell
error: device not found
--guess it makes sense, since recovery is fuxed ...

Hi molexus, and welcome to AF :)

Actually there's nothing wrong with your recovery - that's what the stock HTC recovery on the Desire looks like. You need to press some combination of buttons to bring up the recovery menu, which won't let you do much anyway with the stock recovery. So no, you don't have any problem with your handset.