1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Metro 2.2 Froyo, Rooted, deodex, bloatware removed

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PlayfulGod, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Here ya go folks, Metro PCS's Official 2.2 Froyo update rooted, deodexed, and bloatware removed.

    Added features:

    Rooted
    Darktremor Apps2SD - version 2.75.2 + fix (Needs Class 6 or better SDCard and SDCard needs partition with SD-EXT, swap optional but suggested for the Ascend)
    Davlic moved to sdcard
    Nano added
    Bash added
    Busybox
    Deodexed
    APK's zip-aligned (Better RAM utilization)


    Install in CWM like any other ROM.

    Enjoy!!

    PlayfulMod - Playfuldroidz Wiki


    Note:If you were stock before or downloaded and installed the update from metro you may have to go into cust/metropcs/us dir manually delete app, media, wallpaper, and logo to rid all of the bloatware. If you were on another ROM you should be good.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    Had a feeling that update was coming. Now I'm inspired to root it and kill the bloatware. Maybe tom nite when I get home.
     
  3. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    Good work bro...i'll sticky this!!!
     
  4. THH209

    THH209 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    East bay
    Do u still have to wipe everything
     
  5. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    make a backup and try it ;)
     
  6. THH209

    THH209 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    25
    1
    16
    East bay
    How do I make a back up
     
  7. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'm on CM7 w/CRICKET & plan on staying w/it(AWESOME ROM!),SOOO.....just to perhaps satisfy others curiousity,will this work on a CRICKET phone?
     
  8. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    not at the moment...:thinking:
     
  9. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #613
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
    Ok, I have to say that I am very pleasently suprised on how smoth 2.2.2 is. It is much quicker than I thought it would be and very smooth.
     
  10. Piranha650

    Piranha650 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011

    Mar 2, 2011
    32
    11
    18
    SF Bay Area
    I really love this. Great job on this PlayfulGod. After partitioning my sd card and moving all apps and dalvik to sd using a2sd, its tons faster. This is actually working better for me than cm7, and thats a great rom.
     
  11. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Thanks, I owe alot to isaac tho for pointing me in the right direction tho :)

    apps2sd installed and dalvik is moved to sd by default. ;)



    Oh and I have another one ready to upload with a diff boot sound and bootanimation. Just not sure if I am happy with it yet lol.
     
  12. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,910
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,910
    3,191
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    Just use PGs version and thats already done.
     
  13. Carlos1986

    Carlos1986 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    509
    99
    78
    I deleted metro studio and the Im crap? should I have kept this?
     
  14. mpkonig

    mpkonig Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    9
    1
    6
    what do i do if i already upgraded to the official 2.2? am i stuck just doing everything the long way?
     
  15. mpkonig

    mpkonig Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    9
    1
    6
    Playfulgod--- i see you got your ascend oc'd over 600....how did you do that....can you possibly link the program/kernel u used for that? been trying to find a kernel to oc over 600mhz with no luck really...thanks
     
  16. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #613
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
    He has it OC'd using CM7.
    Look at http://androidforums.com/ascend-all-things-root/320265-ultimate-ascend-customization-guide.html for instructions on installing CM7 and http://androidforums.com/ascend-all...4-gingerbread-current-version-05212011-a.html for information on OC'ing.
     
  17. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Should be fine, I'll prolly remove them myself too lol.

    Not completely, you will have too root it with gingerbreak, install rom manager/CWM, and prolly install a root explorer to del cust/metropcs. I am trying to find out why cust itself wont delete. This all will get you almost to were this rom is, the other tweaks I did in a kitchen on ubuntu.

    I will prolly make 1 or 2 more improvements to this rom b4 calling it done n move on to working on CM7.
     
    Casfaye likes this.
  18. SkylakeGoon

    SkylakeGoon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    In your opinion which ROM is better in regards to performance Metro 2.2 Froyo or CM7?

    Thanks in Advance
     
  19. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    CM6/7 hands down, but this rom once cleaned up & tweaked seems alot smoother and faster than the stock 2.1.
     
  20. Modman

    Modman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    538
    37
    88
    So the path is /cust/metropcs ? I need to use Ginger Break 1.1?

    Can i do an ls then I'll see /boing /myextras /metromail? Then I'll rm directory name -force any I want to get rid of.
     
  21. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    I used gingerbreak 1.2. And yea thats the path to the majority of the bloat. The few others are in system/app.

    Think I may found a way to del /cust on install, bout to test it.
     
  22. istos

    istos Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    36
    0
    15
    Project Manager
    Long Beach, CA
    Hey PG, what CWM should i use. I've been using 2.XXX and I am having issues with data. I get no data. I was on Icarus, wiped everything before installing this.
    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  23. kingskidd268

    kingskidd268 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I got into apn and nothing there. I add and nothing.
     
  24. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    I used 3.0.0.5 that rom manager installs.

    Why are you messing with the APN's for anyhow?
     
  25. kingskidd268

    kingskidd268 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I got no data thats why.

     

Share This Page

Loading...