1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General metro mm kdz is up

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AP2FTW, May 19, 2016.

  1. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    i found the link to this on xda http://www.mylgphones.com/metropcs-...receiving-android-6-0-marshmallow-update.html

    i havent had any luck getting the ota again since i went back to stock so i'm ecstatic that someone posted this...before i try it i have a few questions hopefully someone can answer

    it says you have to use lg up? can i not just use the lg flash tool?

    also, i swear i read someplace that if you use the kdz, you will be stuck with an unlockable bootloader...anyone know if that is the case or is it still unlockable depite using the kdz?

    thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,065
    2,086
    693
    Male
    USA
    I saw this too.

    Anybody heard of this tool?
     
  3. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,065
    2,086
    693
    Male
    USA

    If you flash a kdz, you go back to stock and it will be unrooted.

    The bootloader can be unlocked and you can gain root.

    I just haven't heard of LG UP or this link that was posted in XDA
     
  4. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    #4 AP2FTW, May 19, 2016
    Last edited: May 19, 2016
  5. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    yeah thats what i thought, i was just afraid maybe they changed something with mm that would allow the kdz to permanently lock the bootloader...i have been reading so many threads on this the past few days, i probably just got confused and read something wrong...in any event i have no idea what thread i thought i read that in, so i'd never be able to find it again if i wanted to
     
    stovo06 likes this.
  6. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    stovo06 likes this.
  7. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,065
    2,086
    693
    Male
    USA
    Yeah, it (kingroot) can be done with the T-mobile MM rom.....I think some people have already rooted but this root section is kind of unorganized and people are posting everywhere so I can't keep up. I thought I saw someone on the Metro Marshmallow ROM already rooted but I don't know how if they used kingroot or did through adb method.
     
  8. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    yeah im positive i have seen people say they used kingroot both on metro mm and tmo...which makes me wonder all the more why they would put that note there...
     
  9. jahunt78

    jahunt78 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    236
    22
    38
    motorcycle mechanic, computer hobiest
    central florida
    I've used kingroot to roof.
     
  10. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #116
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    733
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    733
    225
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    This is safe, as long as you use this app to remove all traces of KingRoot once root is confirmed:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=darkslide.com.supersumepro

    I've used KingRoot on several devices, then applied Super-Sume Pro. This is necessary if you want to run stock after rooting. If you can use custom recovery, and a custom ROM, that erases all traces of KingRoot from your device. Yes, I do know the dangers of leaving KingRoot on. Aside from it being possibly malware, it also eats up space for other apps it tries to push on your phone. SS Pro costs $4, but it's worth it if you use several devices to easily root, and want to retain a stock setup.
     
    tube517 likes this.
  11. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,065
    2,086
    693
    Male
    USA

    Thanks. This app looks helpful. I'm new to the whole kingroot process. I'm "old school" and spoiled when it comes to rooting. Most phones I have purchased had a lot of custom roms/devs and root was found pretty quickly without kingroot or similar apps. These phones are getting more sophisticated so it is not as easy anymore.
     
  12. lilrich1789

    lilrich1789 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    153
    34
    43
    tried using the old flash tool method and it was a no go.
     
  13. lilrich1789

    lilrich1789 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    153
    34
    43
    lg up worked perfectly it hung at 99% for a few mins but give it time it will restart. im now runnin 6.0 stock metro
     
    tube517 likes this.
  14. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    when you say the old flash tool, do you mean lg flash tool 2014? thats good to hear that lg up worked though thanks for reporting back
     
  15. lilrich1789

    lilrich1789 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    153
    34
    43
    Not sure which flash tool I've only used one. But it wouldnt start updating it just stayed at 0%.... Lg up works flawlessly
     
  16. ghet2rockuu

    ghet2rockuu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    528
    116
    103
    i used kingroot to root metro 6.0 so theres no issue with kingroot also my bootloader is unlocked , u need to unlock the bootloader first before rooting with kingroot people seem not to read or follow intructions correctly
     
    tube517 likes this.
  17. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    i didnt bother trying the lg flash tool 2014, just went straight to lg up and it worked like a charm

    now i just have to try to root this sucker
     
    tube517 likes this.
  18. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,065
    2,086
    693
    Male
    USA
    Aint that the truth.

    You used the same method as the T-Mobile MM root method, correct?
     
  19. n1nj4Lo

    n1nj4Lo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    397
    111
    78
    Male
    Kennesaw
    Just installed all my app's and setting's kept, how to boot into recovery and download mode to install fastboot on the pc and then TWRP on it, it said earlier ADB installed.

    What next?
     
  20. n1nj4Lo

    n1nj4Lo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    397
    111
    78
    Male
    Kennesaw
    Back to LGUP and the KDZ again, I did kingroot and tried SuperSUMe Pro but it was hanging enabled developer options again unticked and ticked OEM Unlock Boot and got the secure boot error screen after SuperSUMe was stalling and figured I'd try a harmless reboot.
     
  21. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    Sounds like you didn't unlock the bootloader via fastboot
     
  22. n1nj4Lo

    n1nj4Lo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    397
    111
    78
    Male
    Kennesaw
    #22 n1nj4Lo, May 19, 2016
    Last edited: May 19, 2016
  23. Freeze Time

    Freeze Time Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    60
    3
    16
    Thanks for the link. Forgive my ignorance but will this manual install erase anything?
     
  24. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    it will erase everything except your external sd card
     
  25. Freeze Time

    Freeze Time Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    60
    3
    16
    I think I will wait and see if the OTA update gets sorted out then.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...