1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Metro PCS has 3G now!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by vanity29, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. Liscab

    Liscab Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    30
    1
    36
    Miami Fl.
    here at home there are 3 metro phones, my ascend 2.2 is the only one on the 3g, the other 2 phones a LG and a Samsung with the 2.3 are still on the 1X.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ShinySide

    ShinySide Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,502
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,502
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    The Android version (2.2) has nothing to do with the service. Call *228 and upgrade your preferred roaming list and it will put you on 3026 prl and if you have 3g tower near you, receive 3g
     
    Liscab likes this.
  3. Liscab

    Liscab Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    30
    1
    36
    Miami Fl.
    *228 has never worked on the ones i have tried i also read in here that it usually rolls back to 2019, I wouldnt dare to try it on my phone to find out :thinking::D

    perhaps on a low 1x signal area the phone could update to 2026 by itself but i am just guessing
     
  4. Liscab

    Liscab Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    30
    1
    36
    Miami Fl.
    OK i did the *228 on the Samsung , went to a low signal area and the phone updated to the 3026 and the 3G is now on :D
     
    Scur likes this.
  5. thefowlerfam

    thefowlerfam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    116
    7
    36
    Male
    self employed
    Holiday, FL
    Hi everyone I'm new to the forum and 1st just want to say thank for the great info on this forum. I live in Holiday, FL & have the Samsung Indulge. Im in a 4G area & really never had a problem with the 4G. Lately though its been back & forth between 1x, 3G, & 4G. Today its been on 3G all day. Its good that Metro is getting a 3G network, but its a pain when you have a 4G phone & no 4G. Hopefully its because they are working on the network. Anyways looks like the Tampa Bay area's 3G is up. Holiday is just north of Tarpo Springs so the rest of the area would have 3G I would think. Holiday is small compared to Tampa or Clearwater. Once again thanks for the great forum....Jeremy
     
  6. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    Yeah, the Ascend forum here is utterly awesome, it'll always be home to me. :)
     
  7. kadillak

    kadillak Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hi I'm new to this site n it seems to have helpful info. I have a Samsung admire n it shows 3g in the status bar but it still seems slow. I did a speed test n the numbers don't seem like 3g numbers. Can anybody help me out? Is metro 3g Service fast? :thinking:
     
  8. mike28

    mike28 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    4,065
    1,058
    513
    Male
    Tampa
    metro 3g is just to stabilized the network is not to increase speeds although a lot of people have reported an increase in speeds i used to have an lg Optimus which pick up 3g and what I noticed was that it helped when I was streaming music but I tell you 4g lte is the way to go
     
  9. kadillak

    kadillak Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Ok thanks I'm a look into the 4g I'm in Miami, FL so they should hopefully have it in my area
     
  10. lriv

    lriv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    160
    42
    43
    Hempville, USA
    PRL is now at 3027.
     
  11. gamomoftwo

    gamomoftwo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011

    Aug 29, 2011
    87
    3
    16
    Female
    Paraprofessional Teacher
    Atlanta, GA
    The same thing is happening to me outside of Atlanta, there are places around here in the suburbs that have 3G and then not then 3g, and it can be a few hundred feet inbetween. That can be more annoying. I don't have money to upgrade the phone to LTE, but once they bring down the prices on those phones, I will upgrade and then have fun rooting those phones!!
     
  12. BigAndroid

    BigAndroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012

    Feb 15, 2012
    19
    0
    15
    College Student
    Florida
    Metro has had 3G for a while now. They have been working more on their 4G that's why you're just now getting it
     
  13. Syndicate5

    Syndicate5 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Just got 3g today in Brevard.
     
  14. Liscab

    Liscab Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    30
    1
    36
    Miami Fl.
    congratulations Syndicates :)
     
  15. lriv

    lriv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    160
    42
    43
    Hempville, USA
    PRL is now at 3029
     
  16. Johnny Crapple

    Johnny Crapple Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    1,017
    254
    183
    Texas
    Actually it is at 3030

    Sent from my typewriter.
     
    lriv likes this.
  17. marknev

    marknev Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013

    Aug 2, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    will the tmobile hd2 pick up metro pcs 3 or 4g service?
     
  18. juniorqquiroz

    juniorqquiroz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013

    Nov 2, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I have an htc evo 3d flashed to metro but have crappy signal, I get 1x everywhere I go. anyone know what prl to use in so California??
     

Share This Page

Loading...