1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General METRO PCS LG G STYLO Users: Update To Marshmallow

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jack Mickey, Mar 20, 2016.

  1. Jack Mickey

    Jack Mickey Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013

    How to Update to Marshmallow for Metro PCS LG G Stylo Users

    This is my first tutorial so please bear with me.

    I also hold no responsibility if your phone blows up, electrocutes you, or reaches sentience and tries to rule the world. In other words, DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

    I would like to give a warm thank you to:
    @TMacgnolia
    @DrakenFX
    quangnhut123 @ xdadevelopers
    @Blu8
    and a very special thank you to @RonnieMatson for his patience and assistance in helping me acheive updating my own phone to MM. If anyone was forgotten, please let me know!

    Requirements:

    LG G STYLO on Stock, No Root
    To return to stock from root use this: http://androidforums.com/threads/rom-lg-g-stylo-h631-ms631-v10j-stock-restore.949196/

    LG Flash Tool 2014 and LG Drivers http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2797190

    Tmobile H63110i_00.kdz found here:http://androidforums.com/threads/re...s-kdz-for-t-mobile-metro-fido-for-now.927867/
    NOTE!!! Do Not use the Metro .kdz!!!

    PC with internet connection

    And (obviously) a usb data transfer cable

    Now that we have everything we need, let's move on!

    ON PC END

    1: Extract the LG Flash Tool 2014.zip to your PC desktop.
    2: Move the 10i.kdz to the LG Flash Tool 2014 Folder. ( The .kdz must be in the same folder as the LG Flash Tool 2014 .exe!!!)
    3: Install the LG Drivers to your PC

    ON PHONE END

    1: Enable Developer Options (Settings, About Phone, Tap Build Number 5 times)
    2: In Developer options, make sure USB Debugging and OEM Unlock are checked
    3: Power off phone for 10 seconds
    4: Put phone in Download Mode ( When phone is powered off, hold volume up and plug in usb data tranfer cable from PC to phone

    ON PC END

    1: Run LG Flash Tool 2014 as administrator
    2: Select Type: CDMA, PhoneMode: DIAG, Reset time: 33000, Select KDZ file: H63110i_00.kdz
    3: Hit CSE Flash
    4: Hit Start
    5: A Select Country and Language window will pop up
    6: Select Different under Country and English under Language
    7: Hit OK and the flashing process will start

    NOTE!!! you will receive an error about not being able to connect to the server on your PC. THIS IS NORMAL!!! Ignore this error and wait for your phone to finish flashing. If all is going well, COM and a Number should appear on your phone during the flashing process. DO NOT UNPLUG YOUR PHONE FROM PC UNTIL FLASH IS COMPLETED!!! Once your phone is finished flashing, it will restart. You will now be on H63110i.

    ON PHONE END

    1: Go to Settings, Backup and Reset, Factory Reset THIS WILL DELETE ALL YOUR DATA FROM INTERNAL STORAGE SO BACKUP TO SD IF IMPORTANT!
    2: Your phone will restart twice. Once finished, Set up your phone as a new device.
    3: Enable Developer Options, and make sure OEM Unlock and USB Debugging are checked.
    4: Go to Settings, Date & Time, and uncheck Auto-date & time.
    5: Manually set your phones time to 11:30 PM
    6: Connect phone to Wifi
    7: Go to Settings, About Phone, Update Center System updates.
    8: Your phone should now download approx. a 60MB update and restart. Let the update finish and your phone will restart.
    9: you are now on H63110j
    10: Repeat steps 6-8 2 more times. you will receive approx a 147MB update to H63110l and a final approx 767MB update to H63120b which is Marshmallow!

    Enjoy the fruits and flavour of your labour!!!

    FINAL NOTE: If anything in this tutorial was redundant, incomprehensible, or unnecessary please inform me and I will do my best to correct it.
     

    Advertisement

    #1 Jack Mickey, Mar 20, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2016
  2. RonnieMatson

    RonnieMatson Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 27, 2015

    May 27, 2015
    52
    20
    18
    Pretty straight forward if you ask me.
     
    new2this85, zimlokks and Jack Mickey like this.
  3. Jack Mickey

    Jack Mickey Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013

    Thank you kindly good sir! I hope its able to help some people.
     
    RonnieMatson likes this.
  4. RonnieMatson

    RonnieMatson Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 27, 2015

    May 27, 2015
    52
    20
    18
    Let's hope for the best
     
    Jack Mickey likes this.
  5. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    It must work. I dont see anyone here posting which usually means their selfish selves have successfully flashed and upgraded to MM and feel no need to say thanks or let us know how their experience went.

    On behalf of all those selfish ppl id like to say thank you for all the work in the wee hours of the morning
     
  6. ChuChuy

    ChuChuy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015

    Jul 24, 2015
    4
    3
    16
    Male
    is there any way of doing this without a pc
     
    Gr8guyinSF and Revenant Ghost like this.
  7. Jack Mickey

    Jack Mickey Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013

    I do apologize but none that i know, other than returning to stock by flashing @DrakenFX rom above through TWRP, and waiting until Metro updates its users. There may be another way in the future, but as og now none that I know of.
     
  8. Twiztid111097

    Twiztid111097 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016

    Mar 16, 2016
    7
    4
    16
    Male
    I had done this method about a week ago and tested it out b4 i upgraded my better halfs day b4 yesterday trust me it works if it were not for @DrakenFX i wouldn't have tried it ty vm
     

    Attached Files:

  9. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,963
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,963
    1,994
    693
    Male
    USA
    Question, for the instructions, my phone is rooted on lollipop, stock ROM.

    Using Draken's method, that is the 10J lollipop stock. So, we flash to unroot and then we downgrade to 10I ?
     
  10. Twiztid111097

    Twiztid111097 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016

    Mar 16, 2016
    7
    4
    16
    Male
    @tube517 I flashed the 10j T-Mobile kdz and then it updated to the 6.0 that night when u flash the kdz file it pulls root
     
    tube517 likes this.
  11. Revenant Ghost

    Revenant Ghost Android Expert
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,118
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012

    Jun 30, 2012
    2,118
    1,164
    333
    Hell
    If a dev would be so kind enough to make a stock rooted Marshmallow ROM *cough*GameTheory*cough*: that would be great.
     
  12. Revenant Ghost

    Revenant Ghost Android Expert
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,118
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012

    Jun 30, 2012
    2,118
    1,164
    333
    Hell
  13. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,963
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,963
    1,994
    693
    Male
    USA
    stovo06 likes this.
  14. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    I did this method and it did indeed work flawlessly. Im using the metro variant on 6.0 MM.

    I have some complaints but not about the process or anything related to the good work everyone has done to get us here.

    My complaints are tmo/software related. Some things are wonky when using the tmo Rom on metro.

    1. Video calling works great on my wife's metro stylo running 6.0 but for some reason when i attempt to use the feature either i get a "Video calling not available" or it acts like its going to work then the video force closes without error message.

    Ok


    Apn settings are untouched for metro which is nice. Overall its fairly the same os. Tmo rams their third party apps down your throat. Amazon is installed as a system app .

    But that's about it.

    I noticed that the knock code has different rules on tmo firmware than metro. On metro you could tap a knock code that contains anywhere from 3 to 8 taps on at least 2 different quarters of the screen.

    For tmo you must tap on at least three quarters of the screen and you must take at least a 4 or 6 (i forget now) taps for the knock code. Small difference but i do find it interesting.


    More info as i figure it out
     
  15. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Oh and now you can pin apps on your recent apps menu. Its located where the dual window button would be next to the x on each app in the recent apps menu (third button on the bottom right of your screen)

    By pinning an app to your screen it stays on your recent apps screen even after you click clear all.

    I suppose that's a nice feature to ensure you dont close a necessary app when clearing out other apps currently not in use
     
    Joe Morrison likes this.
  16. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Also in 6.0 quickmemo becomes capture+ and There's a couple additional Small features the metro version doesn't have
     
  17. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Ringtone id is a thing on this Rom. ( sets ringtones for specific contacts)

    Memory is a new option in the settings menu.

    Now on tap works decently well.
     
  18. RonnieMatson

    RonnieMatson Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 27, 2015

    May 27, 2015
    52
    20
    18
    You need to flash draken's ROM, correct.
     
  19. markiejee

    markiejee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015

    Oct 28, 2015
    3
    2
    6
    Coming from GT's Katana, this guide's KDZ method was the only one that worked for my older Metro variant - thanks OP!! ( I know it must have been time consuming just trying different approaches with different roms ) Draken's method with packaged zips was still having issues for Metro variants when last I tried.

    With the slew of vulnerabilities abound for Lollipop, I couldn't hold out anymore. Katana however, was very stable and served me well (thx GT)!!!

    After downgrading to Tmo 10i and OTAs through a few other Tmo branded versions, you end up with MM and all of Tmo's bloat. Then hop over to TMac's thread to root and reinstall TWRP. Fully armed, I then used TitaniumBackup to make quick work of debloating and killing a few Tmo processes that were rapidly draining the battery and firing SuperUser requests every other minute. So far, all the usual iffy suspects work well (PDANet, XposedvARM8, LogCats etc....) Thanks again to this community for always being so helpful and willing to share your findings!

    respect!
     
    Jack Mickey and tube517 like this.
  20. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,963
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,963
    1,994
    693
    Male
    USA
    Which method is that? If you are talking about going straight to MM, no it doesn't work (TWRP method).

    If you are talking about his (Draken) method to go back to 10j stock lollipop, I haven't seen anyone else report that.
     
  21. markiejee

    markiejee Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015

    Oct 28, 2015
    3
    2
    6
    Yes, I was talking going straight to MM using his zips for a TWRP flash....If he had a Stylo, I trust it would be working by now ;)
     
  22. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    I have the metro variant. I flashed a stock 10i (tmo variant) and upgraded my way to marshmallow.

    How can I root/install twrp for this device running tmo's version of Mm?

    Anyone know?
     
  23. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Oooh and xposed? I feel confident that there will be no more ota's coming so might as well right?
     
  24. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    1,053
    751
    293
    Go ahead, root TWRP and Xposed
     
  25. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78

    Yes I know but what's the method for the metro variant running tmo's marshmallow?

    I'm only aware of a possible root guide for the marshmallow version on tmo software but not a twrp recovery of xposed.

    Have a link to guide or maybe know how to do it?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...