1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Metro PCS Stylo Questions And Concerns

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ScarletRooter, Apr 13, 2016.

  1. ScarletRooter

    ScarletRooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015

    Mar 14, 2015
    169
    76
    73
    Male
    Alright so I went ahead and purchased a Metro Stylo off of ebay for a decent price. A little worn.

    Device Drivers ARE installed

    Anywho I have a few questions and concerns regarding the device
    Here's what I was able to do

    -Root the device using the LG One Click Root
    -Install TWRP Recovery Using Rashr (Only booted when I enabled OEM Unlock)


    What I WASN'T able to do


    -Reboot into fastboot
    -Could not boot to recovery partition by using volume down and power (It just booted normally)
    "adb reboot fastboot" and "adb reboot bootloader" and "adb reboot-bootloader" did not do anything but reboot the device normally.


    One of my first thoughts was that it might be the charger, however I used the same usb charger that came with my boost stylo

    Bootloader IS locked

    Could anyone shed some light as to why I cannot boot up into fastboot? And recovery for that matter? The Recovery is kinda importan, especially if I cannot boot up into the recovery if I'm stuck in a bootloop

    I'm beginning to think this device is rigged
     

    Advertisement

    #1 ScarletRooter, Apr 13, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2016
  2. ghet2rockuu

    ghet2rockuu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    528
    116
    103
  3. ScarletRooter

    ScarletRooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015

    Mar 14, 2015
    169
    76
    73
    Male
  4. lilrich1789

    lilrich1789 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    153
    34
    43
    Did you oem unlock?
     
  5. ScarletRooter

    ScarletRooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015

    Mar 14, 2015
    169
    76
    73
    Male
    I enabled OEM unlocking in dev options, but I cannot use the OEM unlock command since I do not have fastboot
     
  6. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Im not sure why you are having problems. I was able to do everything. The one limitation i know is you cant flash twrp from fastboot. You have to use rashr or flashify etc.

    Fastboot definitely works. You could possibly be missing the correct drivers. I pounded my table after 3 hrs of installing drivers that didnt work. Hang with it. I indeed got it to work but i installed ba ridiculous amount of different drivers and not sure which did the trick or id simply pass the file onto you.

    Do you have adb and fastboot in the same folder? When you type adb devices is yours recognized? What happens when you type fastboot?
     
  7. ghet2rockuu

    ghet2rockuu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    528
    116
    103
    see now i dont wanna opffend u but if u read the link i posted u have to oem ulock through adb ! no go be a good boy an read !!!! hate when people trying top help n they think u just as dumb as they are lol
    5.Now type the following command in your terminal or command line. Type "adb reboot bootloader". This will reboot your device to fastboot mode. Once in fastboot mode use the "fastboot devices" to make sure your device is recognized by fastboot. You should see something like "dffacad9 fastboot". If you are in Linux and get a error message you may have to use "sudo fastboot devices" for fastboot to work. (If you are using Windows and are having trouble with fastboot recognizing your device you need to install the device drivers using. If it still does not work install the drivers again with your device connected to your computer in fastboot mode.)

    6. To fully unlock your bootloader you have to use the command "fastboot oem unlock". You have to do this or this root method will not work. But be warned that if you do use this command it will factory reset your device. Plus you will get a line of text saying the bootloader is unlocked on the splash screen when you boot your device.
     
  8. ghet2rockuu

    ghet2rockuu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    528
    116
    103
    you doing something wrong
     
  9. ScarletRooter

    ScarletRooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015

    Mar 14, 2015
    169
    76
    73
    Male

    I'm not dumb at all! I tried that! I'm not new to this stuff, I know my way around adb quite well. adb reboot bootloader doesn't do anything but reboot normally. I double checked for typos... it won't work. I also find the inability to boot to recovery using the hardware keys quite annoying too, because there's really no point in making backups if I cannot restore. The only way I can get to recovery is if I use adb reboot recovery. However that's from a functioning device. If I'm stuck in a boot loop the only option I have to get out of it is Download mode. Volume down + Power doesn't work for some reason; it just boots normally, not even a prompt for a factory reset! I think this phone is rigged to be honest or something happened to some partition.
     
    #9 ScarletRooter, Apr 14, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2016
  10. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    Download mode is holding only volume up ( from a powered off state) and plugging the device in while still holding volume up
     
  11. antonioblee1

    antonioblee1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013

    Jan 6, 2013
    442
    170
    78
    Male
    Any version below 6.0 you cannot access fastboot . you can only enable in development options. Try looking at forum to upgrade to 6.0 on metro than do the fastboot commands.

    You must not be doing factory reset buttons right .pull your battery put back in phone. hold power and volume down. when LG logo appears that says life's good let go of power and hold down again. If you can't get it your most likely holding buttons down late. If you are already rooted you can just download reboot to recovery by downloading reboot recovery in play store.
     
  12. ScarletRooter

    ScarletRooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015

    Mar 14, 2015
    169
    76
    73
    Male
    Oh my gosh you're a life saver! I didn't know you had to let go and press it again! The recovery is solved,but could you point me to the thread for the 6.0 update? I've seen ROM forums but maybe I'm just having trouble finding it! Thanks again
     
  13. ScarletRooter

    ScarletRooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015

    Mar 14, 2015
    169
    76
    73
    Male
    I know what DL mode is, but thanks anyways! :p
     
  14. ghet2rockuu

    ghet2rockuu Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    528
    116
    103
    hahahahahaha
     
  15. Blu8

    Blu8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    293
    Posts:
    1,053
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015

    Apr 2, 2015
    1,053
    751
    293
    HAHA
     
  16. CYCONUMNUM

    CYCONUMNUM Android Expert
    Rank:
     #126
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011

    Nov 27, 2011
    810
    407
    133
    Male
    my occupation is a peaceful one
    in a van down by the river
    i always forget to make sure Windows installed the drivers correctly by checking the device manager to see if there is a conflict....
    useually that's the issue i run into..i constantly try different builds of windows...
    so i loose track of drivers....
    it was also the main reason according to what i've read ..that allot of people could not get fastboot to work right...
    i stressed for hours trying to root a tablet that ended up just going slower after root...
    but, i learned this one thing that got me through the last time i rooted my stylo
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...