1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Metro PCS Zmax Pro Software Update Z981v1.0.0B12?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ben7337, Nov 27, 2016.

  1. che_edgar

    che_edgar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015

    Apr 29, 2015
    169
    93
    63
    Male
    Might sound dumb but is fast charging still enabled?
     

    Advertisement

  2. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    Looks like network issues and some of the screen flickering instances got patched...

    Memory usage could still use some work though... Anyway, we need to move on to something with more ram.
     
  3. 5318008

    5318008 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011

    I'm good where I'm at, thanks though
     
  4. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    I totally have stressed out this phone & the Stylo. They grind to a halt.
    And I doubt an incremental 3 & 64gb upgrade would suffice.
    Time to pay the Piper.

    I just read some mvno is carrying a Sony lowish end model 6"/3gb/16gb
    Wish Metro would hook up with Sony.
     
  5. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    By that, are you saying the update fixed your phone connection too? I lost track of people here who were experiencing the same connectivity issue.

    I hope this really patches it cuz I'll get a new Stylo 2 from my daughter for it. Or, considering the ridiculous amount of money people are getting for blacklisted Zmax pros on eBay, could just put it towards a Moto X I've got my eye on ;)
     
  6. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    Yes, fixed... But only 24 hours have transpired - and we've tolled the bells too early before.
    This being said, I've periodically kept experimenting ever since - and LTE has always re-failed very soon after each time... So this looks extremely promising...
    I've successfully watched movies, live sports...surfed with tons of tabs, uploaded to G Drive, updated tons of Play Store apps...

    I'm ready to move on to more Ram though.

    If you're not, then Zmax is looking somewhat promising - some Nougat entries were noticed by tube517 + Kingroot now reaches 91%...
     
    yknujssab likes this.
  7. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    I'm about to request Unlock...
     
    yknujssab likes this.
  8. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    Che Boludo! Just kidding partner. That's actually a very good question!
    I just tried multiple Quick Chargers & cables @ the phone turned off...not getting the original Quick Charge header.

    EDIT - negative results as well @59% + turned On... two different measuring apps.
     
    #33 horsecharles, Nov 29, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2016
  9. che_edgar

    che_edgar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015

    Apr 29, 2015
    169
    93
    63
    Male
    Lol, so no quick charging?
     
  10. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    We actually HAD quick charging? I thought I read that somewhere before... I tried the same WL charger that I use for my Nexus 5 and it doesn't do anything. Not that I really care, the wireless mat I have takes two hours+ to charge my Nexus from empty, while plugging it in directly does it in less than 45 min. Kinda silly if my phone drains faster than wireless pad can recharge.
     
  11. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
    quick charging still works you have to have a QC wall plug it will fastcharge untill it gets to 45% then it will charge normal... same with original charger will give U a 35% fastcharging then normail.
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  12. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    We have QC 1.0
    So my battery charged % was a bit too high... So kinda useless unless one is @ past 35...but only expressing to 45...
    Thank you Krlypumaa!
    Gimme removable battery - I'd rather carry it + cradle.
     
    Krlypumaa likes this.
  13. textca

    textca Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016

    Sep 15, 2016
    5
    1
    16
    anyone lose predictive text with the update?I did along with someone else who got the phone months back when we updated yesterday .I tried all the settings then went to a metropcs store and no luck so far and seems like its the update.
     
  14. ben7337

    ben7337 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #232
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    208
    26
    53
    Male
    Looks like they still haven't fixed the signal reporting issue though, I still can't map on cellmapper or sensorly with this phone because whenever I'm on the network on carrier aggregation, it doesn't log any data points with sensorly for LTE, only wifi, and it reports -1 dbm on cellmapper which says no service and no data points either. Lame.
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  15. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,344
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,344
    2,441
    693
    Male
    USA
    Yeah, some people in the facebook Zmax pro page have had the same issue.

    I don't use the stock/google keyboard so I haven't had this issue.
     
  16. KuroLionheart

    KuroLionheart Newbie
    Rank:
     #368
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012

    Apr 1, 2012
    27
    29
    33
    Male
    Student
    New York
    I'm gonna hold out and not update in case there's any problems or if root happens to come first. I don't have any problems so I'd rather not make rooting more difficult if someone figures out a way. ZTE seems slow with the updates, if something I use gets broken then I'm going to have to deal with not having it and that frustrates me more than anything.
     
  17. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    Interesting.
    I get no more LTE signal drops - they've been replaced by occasional long hangs.
    AND 4G still shows overall very high latency.
     
    Krlypumaa and yknujssab like this.
  18. Elix9000

    Elix9000 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015

    Aug 3, 2015
    135
    70
    63
    Male
    Philadelphia
    Maybe it's your living area, and also 4g(better known as hspa and hspap) always has high latency. I experience no more LTE issues
     
    horsecharles, Krlypumaa and yknujssab like this.
  19. textca

    textca Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016

    Sep 15, 2016
    5
    1
    16
    Tube,Thanks for the heads up .
     
    tube517 likes this.
  20. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    All I want to know is what happened to the nougat update?
     
  21. ZMAX4EVER

    ZMAX4EVER Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016

    Aug 2, 2016
    198
    131
    88
    Male
    I didn't lose predictive text. The phone seems to be running a lot more snappy.
     
    che_edgar likes this.
  22. yknujssab

    yknujssab Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #189
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    327
    61
    63
    Male
    BakersHELL, CA
    No connection issues for me anymore (24 hours anyways). Still thinking about getting another phone though, just don't want to lose my grandfathered plan.
     
  23. che_edgar

    che_edgar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015

    Apr 29, 2015
    169
    93
    63
    Male
    Haven't charged my phone since 8am and tight now it's 8:47 with still 30%. That's a bigger improvement.
     
    Krlypumaa likes this.
  24. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
    I have confirmed that no radio.data was touched beside apn.list....
    We need to remember that our 2G/3G/4G runs HSDPA+ (41) on tmo antennas and we only use mpcs LTE transmitter. Now speed wise you can always do an editvon ur APN changing the apn protocol to IPv4 and roming protocol to IPv4/IPv6 so your radio stay in Band4 (higher freq.) not band12 (lower freq)
    And. Remember that since begin of the yr everyone its been throttle after 28gb od data usage.
     

    Attached Files:

    horsecharles likes this.
  25. MigDaMusicMan

    MigDaMusicMan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015

    Jul 15, 2015
    56
    26
    33
    Male
    Las Vegas NV
    Is anyone else having lag problems during and after charging? Before the update my phone would slow down during charging which kinda makes sense, I just assumed the CPU was throttled to avoid overheating, but now I take my phone off the charger whether it be from a short charge up during the day or charging over night and it remains very VERY laggy, the UI is so slow it's an eye sore. A reboot fixes it but it's very annoying
     

ZTE Zmax Pro

ZTE Zmax Pro
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...