1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Metro Sim card question

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by OcalaFlGuy, Aug 7, 2016.

  1. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,974
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    I think I know the answer here, I just would like a sanity check from yall. ;)

    I have BYOD, $60 unlimited on Metro with a Nexus 4. It's battery is 3 years old now and hanging on to life by a thread. It's replacement, a nearly new Nexus 6, should be here tomorrow.

    Don't ask me how, it IS Completely unlike me, but I checked the other day and I DO have the Nano sized sim card that came on the same card 2.5 years ago from Metro with the larger, Mini sized sim that is in my N4 now.

    Yes, I realize I can't have BOTH phones with their respective sized copies of the Same card in them and powered up at the same time. At Least one of them won't work.

    Here is what I think. Correct if necessary please.

    Power down the N4, remove the larger size Mini Sim. Power down the N6, install the Nano size of the same card that was in the N4. Power up the N6. The APN should reset but check it. I think I may have to go from ipv6 to ipv 4 to enable tethering, I had to do that on my N4 I think, but other than that, I should be good to go, correct?

    And if you are wondering, this Sim was the first Sim I ever bought/used.

    Thanks in advance,
    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     

    Advertisement

  2. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,758
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,758
    1,313
    393
    NYC
    Pretty sure you'll have to call Metro to register the ESN of the new phone even if you're re-using that SIM.
     
    horsecharles, tube517 and OcalaFlGuy like this.
  3. jcrt2000

    jcrt2000 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    23
    5
    26
    You would be correct.
     
  4. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,974
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Thanks guys (and HidyHo! Fox!) I was hoping to avoid the Metro phone Chimps.

    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  5. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    Metro seemingly the only major carrier that needs to give permission for this, I'd love to be able to swap / try other models on the spot.
     

Share This Page

Loading...