1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS] 4.4.4 update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dcap0187, Oct 8, 2014.

  1. dcap0187

    dcap0187 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    239
    83
    53
    indentured servant
    miami

    Advertisement

    ARocker likes this.
  2. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    NI3 hu? Wonder if its worth flashing the new modems? Im already on 4.4.4 thanks to Tmobile.

    Thanks for posting though!
     
    anarchem69 likes this.
  3. Vasolini

    Vasolini Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012

    Jan 18, 2012
    27
    0
    15
    Male
    Systems Admin.
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Anyone brave enough to try this one yet? Any issues?
     
  4. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    If its anything like the tmobile 4.4.4 firmware (its probably very similar), then it should be good.
     
  5. Vasolini

    Vasolini Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012

    Jan 18, 2012
    27
    0
    15
    Male
    Systems Admin.
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Well, I started to download it yesterday and chickened out. Then this morning I am getting OTA update that is 587.42MB. It's about 68% done. Could this finally be KitKat? I will let you know....


    Update: Yep, it is KitKat!!! :D
     
  6. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    The S5 has yet to get 4.4.4. Makes me feel special :)
     
  7. dcap0187

    dcap0187 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    239
    83
    53
    indentured servant
    miami
    i hope my s5 just gets android L and skips 4.4.4. it takes so long for metro phones to get an update that if we get 4.4.4 it will take forever to get L.
     
  8. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    Well, as you know, Metro skipped 4.4.2 altogether and went to 4.4.4. Which is okay, just wish they announced that they were gonna do that.

    Seems that when metro decides to release an update, they release it before a lot of the big carriers. I can't complain about that. Wish they kept us informed a bit. Im sure they feel that most users aren't usually concerned about updates like we are.
     
  9. Rickinfl

    Rickinfl Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012

    Jan 21, 2012
    58
    3
    16
    Male
    Computer Network
    Brooksville Florida
    How can we get it if we can't do OTA update? I've been looking around for it to see if anyone posted the ROM.
     
  10. dcap0187

    dcap0187 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    239
    83
    53
    indentured servant
    miami
  11. Rickinfl

    Rickinfl Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012

    Jan 21, 2012
    58
    3
    16
    Male
    Computer Network
    Brooksville Florida
    Thanks! That was pretty easy! It just updated the phone came back to the way I had it like nothing happened, but shows 4.4.4 now. I might do a factory reset now I hoped it would of done that during the upgrade. I wanted to clean out the phone and be fresh.

    Thanks,
    Rick
     
  12. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,157
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    Showing as t mobile on download page. Just wondering if its actually metro branded
     
  13. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    Yep, the firmware at the link in the first post is for the M919N S4 which is the MetroPCS variant model for sure, complete with MetroPCS branding and bloatware..

    The phone uses the Tmobile network and is virtually identical to the Tmobile S4 so technically, they are right.
     
  14. michel5891

    michel5891 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    101
    4
    36
    Male
    After flashing via Odin, I cannot connect wifi nor mobile network. What's this about?
     
  15. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    Not sure. What firmware did you come from? Have you tried flashing it again? Have you tried the pull battery method?
     
  16. PollosLocos

    PollosLocos Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014

    Oct 27, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Hey , i flashed the stock via odin and everything seems to be going fine other than the fact that i didnt know i would lose my root access... Does anyone know how to root sgh-m919n stock 4.4.4 ?
    I tried kingoRoot,mashupRoot,towelroot,king root and none of them worked ��. Please help me find a solution to getting this device rooted !!
     
  17. PollosLocos

    PollosLocos Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014

    Oct 27, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Hey , i flashed the stock via odin and everything seems to be going fine other than the fact that i didnt know i would lose my root access... Does anyone know how to root sgh-m919n stock 4.4.4 ?
    I tried kingoRoot,mashupRoot,towelroot,king root and none of them worked 😰. Please help me find a solution to getting this device rooted !!
     
  18. Caloba

    Caloba Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013

    Jul 18, 2013
    8
    2
    6
  19. PollosLocos

    PollosLocos Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014

    Oct 27, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Really? When i have time ill look into it. I was nervous of trying this method since its for tmobile but both devices are almost the same...
    Just to make sure, you used a metropcs S4 on 4.4.4 stock?
    Any issues with it so far?
     
  20. PollosLocos

    PollosLocos Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014

    Oct 27, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Please reply back to my questions ... Thankyou
     
  21. dcap0187

    dcap0187 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    239
    83
    53
    indentured servant
    miami
    cf auto root will work fine. the t mobile one will be fine.
     
  22. Caloba

    Caloba Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013

    Jul 18, 2013
    8
    2
    6
    Yes, I have the MetroPCS (SGH-M919N) S4 and that root method worked perfectly, no issues whatsoever.
     
  23. zipred

    zipred Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    970
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013

    Oct 8, 2013
    970
    419
    133
    California USA
    4.4.4 is a terrific update, I've been using it on my Nexus 5 since Google pushed it out....

    In fact I'm going to stay with 4.4.4 for some time since its meeting my needs ideally.

    I'm loving pure Android :)
     
  24. AndruTheAndroid

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014

    Nov 2, 2014
    6
    0
    25
  25. ARocker

    ARocker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,274
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    1,274
    764
    233
    Male
    Jersey City, NJ
    If your M919N is version 4.4.4 then it will work. The guide is for the Tmobile variant but most things for the Tmobile S4 will work for the MetroPCS S4. Theres a short list at post 1 of this thread.
     

Share This Page

Loading...