1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Metropcs 4g LTE seems slow. Is it throttled?

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by Phoneguru11, Mar 11, 2016.

  1. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    I have metropcs and I just switched from the $60 unlimited plan to the $40 3gb plan.

    I noticed that when I had the unlimited plan things would download a 2-3 MB a second.

    Now on the $40 plan things are downloading at 300 KB a second.

    I have about 4/5 bars on 4g. I'm in a different town now. Could that cause the data to be that slow? From 3mb a sec to 300 KB a sec?

    Ive only used 76mb so far. Could metro be throttling my service? I called metropcs tech support and they didn't say anything about it being throttled. I'm just wondering because I've downloaded a couple torrents.
     

    Advertisement

  2. WeeWilly

    WeeWilly Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #128
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015

    Oct 14, 2015
    377
    298
    108
    Male
    Retired
    Rescue, California
    I have the $40 3 GB plan and I get 17.37 Mbps down with my LG G Stylo. That's almost as good as I get with my wi-fi (21.91 Mbps). I don't think Metro throttles you until you reach your limit.
     
  3. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,702
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    You shouldn't be throttled until you reach your limit, it's possible the tower you're using has high traffic or the reception isn't that great even though it's showing 4/5 bars.

    I'm not sure of their torrenting policy though.
     
    tube517 likes this.
  4. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    They are correct that metro doesn't throttle you in the different plans (until you reach the LTE data limit). I'm on the $40 plan and generally get around 30 Meg down load speeds. But, there are some areas that my speeds are less than a Meg.
     
  5. Sept1967

    Sept1967 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015

    Mar 28, 2015
    484
    258
    108
    Male
    I can agree with the OPs original post. I had a Metro $50 promo Unlimited plan. Great for 8 months. Then the last 2 I had it, at home it would get 3G speeds, 1.2mbps - while showing 4G Lte logo. I could toggle airplane mode, it would start up on band 12 for about 3 mins, being fast. Then it switched to band 4 and be crap speeds. Metro has it on their webpage. Metro users are prioritized behind all T-Mobile users. Its not a throttle. Probably depends on your areas, and users.

    It was hard to let that plan go, but happier now on Sprint for half the price for 2 years. Faster speeds in my area.
     
  6. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    Hi, I have a Kyocera hydro wave on metropcs. I get about 4/5 bars on 4g LTE. Ive only used 500mb / 3gb.

    Everything I download goes at about 300 kbps. In other ateas ive noticed downliads around 3mb a senond. Is there any reason for the data to go this slow or is there something wrong with my phone?
     
  7. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,317
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,317
    2,392
    693
    Male
    USA
    Are you downloading during peak hours?

    What hours are you experiencing this slowness?

    Have you contacted MetroPCS (I know their CS isn't that great but they can be helpful sometimes) to see if any tower issues in your area?

    What speeds do you usually see?
     
  8. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    I called metropcs the other day and they did say there was any problems with their network.

    I get an average of about 300 kbps all the time. Same speeds day or night.
     
  9. Phoneguru11

    Phoneguru11 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2015

    Jan 25, 2015
    45
    4
    26
    Male
    Before I moved I was getting about 4 MB a second
     
  10. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,317
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,317
    2,392
    693
    Male
    USA
    So, you live in a different area now and the speeds are slower? Have you asked any friends or anyone you know who has Metro in your new area if their speeds are just as bad?
     
  11. xyourxhighnessx

    xyourxhighnessx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015

    Apr 28, 2015
    328
    108
    78
    I get usually anywhere from at least a couple MB down (2 to 3) with bursts up to 20 at the very highest

    But it's cell service. It's great when it's fast and sucks when it's not.

    Usually I have problems though when I try to use Chromecast to mirror my screen while using mobile data.
    That's disappointing because I'm on the unlimited plan and I found that if I turn on Mobile hotspot to tether to a Chromecast (2nd gen) using the Chromecast app and use the screen cast option....

    I can watch anything on a tv instead of a 5.5 inch screen.

    It doesn't make sense why anything live stutters while using tethering/screen mirroring.

    And yes I'm certain it doesn't count against the 8gb tether limit) but sadly that 1+GB ROM i downloaded last night did -_-
     
  12. chrisjdurden

    chrisjdurden Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012

    Aug 13, 2012
    49
    16
    58
    Male
    Bar Manager
    Atlanta GA
    So, here's the deal with Metro PCS. Regardless of the amount of data you've used, you are de-prioritized below anyone with a T-Mobile phone. What that means, is if you go to or live in a highly populated area, your phone is "less important" to the cell towers. I have the unlimited plan and I'm totally unable to stream music anywhere there is traffic (I use my phone for my radio in my car). I'm pulling up to 70mbps at home, but the moment I hit the roads or go to walmart or anywhere there are lots of people, it drop to less than 1mbps. It sucks, bad. I pay almost as much as a T-Mobile customer and my service is absolute crap when people are near me.
     
    Sept1967 and tube517 like this.
  13. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    I find that really interesting. I live in the Dallas area, and it's a pretty big area for both T-Mobile and MetroPCS (this is where Metro's corporate offices are) and I almost always get great services and speeds on LTE. Sometimes it's down around 1 to 2 Meg download speeds. But most often it's around 25 to 30. I've even topped out around 60 one time. I know we are prioritized lower, but I've enjoyed pretty consistent good speeds down here. I guess it does just depend on location.
     
  14. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,317
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,317
    2,392
    693
    Male
    USA
    I've had T-Mobile (Prepaid) and now MetroPCS since leaving Sprint in 2012.

    It all depends on location and what hrisjdurden and alfick are saying is corret.


    I can tell you I had Sprint "3G" before I left and it dropped from 3 MB/s to about 160 kb/s. (Before Sprint had WiMax and LTE was just being implemented)

    Now, I get nearly 40 mbps at home and similar at work. I have wifi at both so I don't use data as much. But, I'm glad I switched.
     
    alfick3 likes this.
  15. hiwatt

    hiwatt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    323
    48
    43
    N Side of Chicago
    I'm near Wrigley in Chicago. Needless to say it's always congested here, and all over the city. I've never had a single issue with my service.
     
  16. jackroo

    jackroo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    716
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012

    Aug 5, 2012
    716
    159
    103
    Male
    My wife got a text today from Metro saying she's used 25gb of her monthly data and that it may be slowed/optimized or whatever. She's on the 60 unlimited like me. The rep that sold us the plans never said speeds would be slowed down. We pay for unlimited, not "unlimited to a certain limit".
     
    PRS likes this.
  17. hiwatt

    hiwatt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    323
    48
    43
    N Side of Chicago
    Jack, my buddy and I have the unlimited and he always uses over 100gb each month, no slow down at all. I don't use anything close to that, but never a problem.
     
  18. Sept1967

    Sept1967 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015

    Mar 28, 2015
    484
    258
    108
    Male
    Metro.JPG

    Its on the Metro page,
    Everyone is prioritized below Tmobile, use over 25 GB a month on busy towers, get de-prioritized even below other Metro users.

    Depends on how many people are on your tower.
     
  19. coair73x

    coair73x Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016

    Jul 24, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    I can tell at certain times of day there is a slowdown from the prioritization below T-Mobile lines. I really notice it at the Airport. Most Airports are super busy when everyone arrives at the same time. Last week data was almost unusable. I came from AT&T and T-Mobile to save on all the fees plus get a real unlimited plan from Metro. Happy so far but disappointed when data is slower then 56k modem during busy airport times.
     
  20. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    Airport areas adjacent to the airplanes kill cellular reception. Two solutions:
    1. Move further away and to higher ground. When I do this I can stream whatever without a hiccup at all times.
    2. Download Amazon Underground App and search for Boingo App from within it. You will get FREE 6 months unlimited North America wifi to multiple devices. It's a lifesaver.
     
  21. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    I use 40-90 every month for a year,... never a throttle, never any warning message... NYC... original stock, unrooted, no tricks.
     
  22. coair73x

    coair73x Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016

    Jul 24, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    Male


    That is a good option in some airports. I do have my company wifi portal to use in most airports free but some stuff is blocked.
     
  23. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    Sorry to hear that.
    I find the WiFi absolutely necessary at airports, to the point I was about to subscribe.
    Sure I can get normal cell performance by moving around, but might have to be to outside or other inconvenient area without seats, tables... or enough people wise to this crowd the area.
     
  24. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,232
    315
    173
    NYC
    NYC on zmax pro... Have never seen faster speeds... I'm at way over unofficial cap n way over tether limit.
     
  25. greenghost2212

    greenghost2212 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    282
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012

    Jun 20, 2012
    282
    43
    43
    Yeah I'm on the west side and I also never have an issue with speeds.
     

Share This Page

Loading...