1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[MetroPCS/CDMA] Brand new MetroPCS Galaxy S3, first things to do

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tastytoast, Dec 18, 2012.

1. tastytoast

tastytoast Newbie

This thread is to start us off with some key elements the brand new S3 user can immediately do to their phones to help with bloatware / clutter, and is basically a list of safe apps to remove.

I'm new to the MetroPCS scene, and to Samsung phones, so please update me with your findings on what apps are key and what they do.

Keeping this in the MetroPCS root forums may not be ok to the mod, but to appease the mod and to help with future MetroPCS S3 users who come on board, I will add that adding root to your phone to enable Titanium backup will help make the process of deleting/freezing your programs easier. Some apps are locked so you must root to completely delete them.

To delete/disable applications without an app: go into Settings -> Application Manager -> All, your apps will be listed here. Select an app and uninstall. Careful, only delete apps that are safe! You have some power here to delete very important apps, only delete the ones that are listed as safe to delete/disable.

So, here are metroPCS apps you can delete:

• @metro App Store - has a bunch of metroPCS apps
    • mStudio - basically a video/audio player
    • myMetro - simple app to pay / change plan stuff
    • MetroPCS Easy WiFi - shows you where accessible wifi is located
    Samsung apps (I'm unsure about many of these apps, please provide feedback!)

• Rhapsody

I will edit this if you guys run some tests as to which apps are unnecessary. One's I'm looking at are: Kies air, Kies via Wi-Fi, Allshare cast, allshare controller, allshare play, all share service, flipboard, game hub, S Memo, S Suggest, Samsung account, Samsung apps, Trim, Yahoo finance / news. any feedback go for it!

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. n4zty