1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS/CDMA] Can we do this?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by monica12, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. monica12

    monica12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    158
    8
    36

    Advertisement

  2. Get@Me

    Get@Me Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    259
    93
    53
    Male
    Saint Pete, FL
  3. monica12

    monica12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    158
    8
    36
    I seen some people talking about restoring apns or something like that i just dont want to mess up my network or anything idk.
     
  4. Get@Me

    Get@Me Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    259
    93
    53
    Male
    Saint Pete, FL

    You'll have to change the apn-Conf.xml to get 4g to work but 3g work if you change network mode to cdma everything else work.
     
  5. monica12

    monica12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    158
    8
    36
    Do you know how to do that?
     
  6. airtioteclint

    airtioteclint Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,909
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    1,909
    855
    213
    http://db.tt/IbzLH9Iu

    Put the apn in the system/etc folder. It will be replacing an existing file so when it ask to overwrite tap yes. Reboot. Done.
     
  7. Get@Me

    Get@Me Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    259
    93
    53
    Male
    Saint Pete, FL

    Yes the apn-Conf.xml is in system/etc grab it from one of the roms made for our s3 and copy it to this rom and set permissions to rw -r--r and reboot
     
    divagirl, monica12 and mike28 like this.
  8. monica12

    monica12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    158
    8
    36
    Thank you, both of you :)
     
  9. Guevage

    Guevage Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012

    Oct 28, 2012
    100
    14
    38
    Thank all of you who participated on this thread, you guys are all awesome and its great that we can work with us cell too. Ahh, s3 rocks
     
    mike28 likes this.
  10. edgeez25

    edgeez25 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    473
    329
    88
    Have any of u guys tried it its pretty cool ... But my MMS wouldn't send I'm trying to figure out if maybe I got a bad download...
     
  11. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Have u tried to reset the mms app
     
  12. edgeez25

    edgeez25 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    473
    329
    88
    I've tried just about everything... I'm trying to find someone who used it... My number comes up as unknown on about phone.. I just want to know if anybody flashed and had no issues then I'll know its a bad download on my part
     
  13. airtioteclint

    airtioteclint Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,909
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    1,909
    855
    213
    I just responded to you over there. Does the number thing show up if you restore a different rom?
     
  14. edgeez25

    edgeez25 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    473
    329
    88
    Yea I'm on the prior version of morphed and all is good... Its funny cause status bar says no service but I have calls text and 4g working just no MMS .. Theirs no number and network is unknown...
     
  15. Guevage

    Guevage Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012

    Oct 28, 2012
    100
    14
    38
    I got the same "no service" on the pulldown.
    Wonder how to change that, I'm not too sure but I'm looking it up.

    Did you take the APN file from a metro ROM and push it onto morph ROM?
     
  16. edgeez25

    edgeez25 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    473
    329
    88
    Yea... Can u send mms
     
  17. firenemesis7

    firenemesis7 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    281
    127
    68
    Male
    Machinist
    Melvindale, Michigan
    Did you guys try *228 and see if the number would come back
     
  18. Guevage

    Guevage Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012

    Oct 28, 2012
    100
    14
    38
    My MMS does work man, I'm sorry about your problems, I feel you.
    Try the suggestion before mine though and reflashing the ROM aswell
     
  19. flakito97

    flakito97 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011

    Sep 25, 2011
    1,029
    178
    143
    Nv restore is your best bet with your number not showing.
     
  20. Guevage

    Guevage Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012

    Oct 28, 2012
    100
    14
    38
    I think restoring nv without reason might be bad, I'm not sure but some research and reading the sticky will give answers
     
  21. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    After i flash earlier everything was working fine, i even sent some mms/sms to a few peoples.
     
  22. blasdomin

    blasdomin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    38
    4
    16
    Great rom , smooth, fast, no issues until now I used for 18 hours no problems I send messages , made some calls, the only issue is no sent large mms but that is our regular issue in all the custom roms until now, even I watch a soccer game in dolphin browser and no overheating like in cm10.1, ok the battery is discharging a little faster but no too drastic something like 10% every 25 minutes of watching video thats is good for me

    Try it yourself and I sure you loved
     
  23. Martin714

    Martin714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    920
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011

    Jul 13, 2011
    920
    148
    93
    Male
    Santa Ana, CA
    sso as of now what are the known issues/bugs in this rom?
     
  24. katracho

    katracho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012

    May 9, 2012
    187
    159
    68
    This rom is amazing ...the only problem I found is when u enable voice commands the camera stop working I get force close ..any one else?
     
  25. Pappy62

    Pappy62 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    763
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011

    Sep 21, 2011
    763
    202
    103
    Male
    I get a bit of delay sometimes when using the flash on the camera... but that's about it. (so far) Sweet ROM. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...