1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS/CDMA] Contacts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by monica12, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. monica12

    monica12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    158
    8
    36
    Anyone know how I can put all my contacts on my SD card I wanna get a new rom but don't wanna lose my contacts
     

    Advertisement

  2. mike28

    mike28 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    4,065
    1,058
    513
    Male
    Tampa
    No need for that if you have them saved under Gmail which you should
     
    nuttmeg and monica12 like this.
  3. monica12

    monica12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    158
    8
    36
    Mike do you know where to find the latest drivers ?
     
  4. airtioteclint

    airtioteclint Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,909
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    1,909
    855
    213
    Mke is right syncing with your gmail is the best, you'll always have it. But if you still want a copy on your sdcard open up your contacts, hit the menu key, select import/export, export to storage. It will save to your internal sdcard you can make a copy from there to your exsdcard if you want.

    What drivers are you asking for?
     
    monica12 and mike28 like this.
  5. monica12

    monica12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    158
    8
    36
    Every time I plug my SG3 to my computer it says hardware id missing
     
  6. airtioteclint

    airtioteclint Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,909
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    1,909
    855
    213
    nuttmeg and monica12 like this.
  7. monica12

    monica12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    158
    8
    36
    Thanks airtioteclint!
     
  8. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    413
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    What you DONT want to do and a lot of people will do this and then complain about it, is import your contacts from your sd card. Then as soon as your gmail contacts sync under the google accounts tab in settings, you will see multiple contacts of the same person. AND what gmail will do is sync AGAIN because you imported your contacts from SD and save the imported contacts to your gmail account. Thus giving you 3 sets of the same contact.

    You DONT need to import or export your contacts to your SD card. You are essentially doing it twice because they will sync if they are saved to your gmail account. Go to your gmail account and choose contacts under the gmail tab. Check to see that all your contacts are there and simply go into settings, google account under the accounts tab and then go into sync. Make sure contacts is checked and hit the settings key to sync automatically. Sync will run and apply the contacts that are missing.

    Note- If you enter a new contact into your phone, it will only save to your gmail contacts list if the phone syncs it, so if you have sync turned off those new contacts will never save. So make sure you never turn off sync contacts.


    Hope this helps ;)


    Happy New Year
     
    nuttmeg and monica12 like this.
  9. monica12

    monica12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    158
    8
    36
  10. confed

    confed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,076
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    1,076
    377
    183
    Male
    Philly
    try different USB ports. Make sure you are using the original cable also.
     
    monica12 likes this.
  11. monica12

    monica12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    158
    8
    36
    I did, and I am :/ idk sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't.
     
  12. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Better yet make sure to use a good cable, samsung has some of the worse usb cables I have ever seen. lol

    I usually use a moto or lg cable and never have any issues with them.
     
    monica12 likes this.
  13. monica12

    monica12 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    158
    8
    36
    Okay i'll try that now :p

    Ok even with LG Esteem cord it doesn't work saying same thing
     
  14. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    I took the liberty of researching your problem and this is what i found.

    Credits: gibbsrob

    XDA

    Source: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1997915
     
    nuttmeg and mike28 like this.
  15. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    Alot of HP machines hate the s3, and after a reboot of the pc and phone, it will connect like normal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...